We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Pineapple Antigua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
London, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Grand Pineapple Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A great resort beach is fab and the staff do all they can to make your holiday a good experience Am fed up with people trashing this resort - it is not 5 star but for what you pay it is very good If you want 5 star go somewhere else This was our 4th visit and we will be returning next year in November

Room Tip: Ocean view with a sea view are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are so excited to hear that you had an amazing time at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua!
It's wonderful to hear that on each visit, you have always thoroughly enjoyed the resort, the gorgeous surroundings and our friendly staff!
We look forward to welcoming you back next year! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,047
    364
    146
    108
See reviews for
536
1,424
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our first time in Antigua and it wont be the last! We had a really lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Grand Pineapple. The customer service was brilliant and we felt that the staff genuinely wanted us to have a memorable holiday. It was like landing in the middle of a very happy family. There was a good choice of food and snacks. Some of the meals were better than others and there is room for improvement but there was always something we liked to eat.
We did some of the trips and can particularly recommend the Extreme Trip around the island which we loved, a really excellent day. We also did Shirley heights and wished we had got there a bit earlier to enjoy the sunset.
The beach is beautiful and the sea equally lovely.
We have no complaints about our holiday and intend to go back next year.

Room Tip: We had a waterfront room which was very well located and lovely to hear the sea at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Jackie!
We are thrilled to hear of your fantastic experience at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua!
We always strive to provide our guests with the best vacation experience and it is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate all of your feedback and we will continue to make improvements so that you will have an even better vacation in the future!
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Returned last week from 10 days at The Grand Pineapple. We had a really lovely, chilled out, much needed holiday experiencing NONE of the points raised by the negative reviews prior to our departure which appeared on TA. The hotel was spotlessly clean - accommodation, public areas and the lovely gardens, the beach is beautiful, staff very friendly and kind, food superlative to what we would expect at a (overseas) four star grading and beautifully presented on the a la carte evenings. Plenty of sunbeds with more than adequate shade - please no more sun umbrellas as suggested in some of the previous reviews - it would totally spoil the natural beauty of the beach. All I can suggest is you do your homework before you go and decide what exactly you are looking for from your holiday. I can understand perhaps the hotel is not for everyone but if you want somewhere smallish, unpretentious, have a feel of the Caribbean relaxed atmosphere, fantastic beach, lovely staff who just cannot do enough for you, all-inclusive then go for it - we felt it really was good value for money. If you like the chain plastic hotel format where they are the same wherever you go in the world then please do not book. If you sway more towards staying at an individual hotel and be treated as a guest rather than a number then The Grand Pineapple is for you. Would we go back - probably not only because there are so many other places we want to visit but certainly would recommend it on the basis of our stay there. Almost forgot, the wine both red and white are well worth drinking - very, very good!

Room Tip: Beachfront room 103 - very well appointed for all aspects of the hotel. Lovely to go to sleep and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your amazing experience at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua!
We are truly excited to hear that you had a fantastic time and that our staff took excellent care of you! We take great pride in providing the best Caribbean experience to our guest.
We appreciate your feedback and certainly do hope that your travels will bring you back to Antigua one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited GPB for the second time in 2013, this time in November. It's still a lovely, friendly resort with a perfect white sandy beach. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. We noticed it was very much busier this time than our last stay in January and almost impossible to get a table in the bar at night. The entertainment is still quite limited with a predominance of reggae and steel drums. Our comments regarding the entertainment last time have made no difference it seems. I guess the Sandals resort on the island may get the first choice of what's available although we'd like to see a broader variety on offer. Only two small criticisms: Firstly, the dress code seems to have been relaxed somewhat as several men in particular seem to think that shorts, vests and flip flops/trainers are suitable attire for the evening meal in Topaz restaurant and the bar area. Secondly, the drinks service in Topaz was, on occasion very slow or non-existent. I understand that this may have been due to how busy it was at the time but there should have been extra staff to manage this. Also, it would be nice to be offered after dinner coffee.

Room Tip: Oceanview every time. Spectactular views and a bit quieter in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, Donna.
It is lovely to hear that your return trip was such a pleasant one and that you had such a fantastic time exploring this beautiful location again. We appreciate all of your feedback and will be sending your concerns to the resort management team for further review.
We hope to welcome you back again soon for an even more enjoyable visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Grand Pinapple 15-22 October and having read the negative reviews were very concerned and seriously considered changing hotels but a friend was in resort at the time and following contact with her decided to give it a go. Thank goodness we did. On arrival we were met with cold towels and rum or fruit punch which was lovely. Checking was pretty smooth and soon we were on our way to our GARDEN VIEW ROOM - now I was a little disappointed as we had 2 beds and neither was really big enough for two adults so one bed each it was. The air conditioning was great and worked well. The rooms definitely need upgrading as do the bathrooms we were unfortunate to discover the previous tenants sun cream in our cleaned bathroom. The outside space in front the room aka" the balcony" is on a communual walkway so don't open your curtains unless dressed!!! Which is a great shame as the views across the gardens out to sea are beautiful We used our "balcony" most nights to sit out for a while as the weather was glorious and warm. In room safe was good size and free too. TV in room big and very old fashioned but reception not great BBC world and that's about it who goes to Antigua to watch tv anyway. The room roofs look like corrugated metal but this is very in keeping with the surroundings I though my husband was gonna have a hissy fit when he saw it but they are totally quiet we never heard any overnight rain. Tea and coffee making and iron and board in room too. I saw the OCEAN VIEW rooms which are up loads of steps but worth the climb if you are able the views are stunning the higher the room the more stunning the view! Balconies are private here But my favourite was definitely the TROPICAL WATERFRONT rooms they are worth the extra and private but close to everything with beautiful views these rooms have fridges which would be a good idea for all rooms but they are more modern with lovely furnishings and upgraded bathrooms flat screen tv and all the other bits that other room grades have. These rooms are only on two floor which is great too.
The staff are very proud of the hotel and have every right to be as it is very well presented.
The beach- WOW what a stunning beach this is. It shelves gently is crystal clear and sooooo warm!! Water sports are available all day weather permitting ,snorkelling is lovely at the far end of the beach angel fish,pipe fish , snappers small rays etc can be seen really clearly take some bread from breakfast and go early or around 4pm for the best snorkelling. We booked our Swim with the rays through Marvellous Marvin on the beach and was very happy with the trip we also used his driver to take us around the island Danil was a lovely young man who knew the island and took us to all the usual tourist areas I would use Marvin again for trips !
Restaurants - There are three to choose from the Pinapple grill is the only one that needs to be booked. It's the only air conditioned one but the food is lovely and the service good . The Italian (only open on certain nights) is ok my experience was not great but other reviews have been good. The main restaurant was good my favourite mealtime was breakfast and Joanne's omelettes are superb. The reviews about the food variety on certain days are somewhat justified but you can usually find something to satisfy you and if all else fails speak to someone and see if it can be sorted the staff are wonderful and always happy to help. The birds are an added attraction at breakfast and lunch but they are part of the island and were here before us ! They have a couple of chaps who go around with canes to scare them which seems to do the trick and we had no problems with them.The snack bar is good to have as backup , also Mary's Outhouse what a place !!! The food is lovely and the atmosphere and views Amazing. Mary greeted us like long lost family allow yourself time to read the messages left by happy holidaymakers - long May Mary's remain.
The grounds are beautiful and very we'll kept they are FOGGED regularly for bugs but they leave a note to tell you in advance.
All in all a real gem of a place don't expect Sandals standard if you don't pay Sandals prices but we would go back in a heartbeat but for longer next time and in a Tropical Waterfront room.

Room Tip: Tropical waterfronts are beautiful but if on budget garden views still get to see sea views so best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, Rhona!
We are thrilled that you loved Antigua and had a wonderful time at Grand Pineapple Beach. Our staff will be excited to hear that they were able to make your stay such a pleasant one and we will be sure to forward your kind comments to them!
We appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here from 29th Oct - 12th Nov 2013 and had a great relaxing holiday. It is a great location on one of the best beaches on Antigua and we recommend it to everybody. It has a colonial rustic feel to it. The staff are exceptional, always smiling and always willing to help.
We stayed in a beachfront room (101) which met our needs completely, in fact, I would say they are as good as the Tropical waterfront rooms which are more expensive! The rooms were cleaned daily and the linen changed on request, there is coffee (filter) and tea making facilities and plenty of channels to watch on the TV.
The food is very 'samey' but well cooked and presented so you always found something to your taste but the menu needs to be revamped so there is much more frequent choice. Chef Pietro's unfortunately is alongside the main walkway to the social areas so as you are eating people are walking past and having a look at what you are consuming. The menu is very restricted with 4 main dishes which didn't change whilst we were there. Whilst there you must make the climb to the 'Outhouse' and taste the jerk chicken and ribs - exceptional and an experience watching the mongoose competing with the cats over the scraps!
The bar area needs a complete revamp. At the moment it has the look and atmosphere of a pub back home. There are hardly any soft seating areas and it is all hard chairs around square tables whilst the smoking area is very much like a pub garden back home with wooden tressle tables and benches. Because of this there is no Caribbean atmosphere where you can come from eating, get a drink and relax in the surroundings. Then other thing we picked up on is the hotel does not enforce the dress code laid down in their brochure so you would see some of the men still in shorts and open sandals whilst the ladies had made an effort at the evening meal.
We had 2 trips whilst we were there. The 'swim with the stingrays' is a must, my partner was very wary of getting in the water with them but after 2 mins was totally hooked. they are such gracious creatures and there is no danger at all. Beware the rum punch when you go to look at the photos as it is lethal! The other trip we took was the round island catamaran trip which again we thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend it. We booked both trips with 'marvellous Marvin' on the beach and was cheaper than the hotel!
All in all we had a great holiday and chilled out, I believe the complex has been taken over by Sandels, hopefully they will retain the rustic charm but improve some of the areas mentioned above

Room Tip: If you book a standard room you will have quite a climb to get to them. However the view is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Pineapple Antigua. Your holiday seemed to be an amazing one and I'm glad we were able to be a part of your experience. We appreciate your feedback. It's always very important to know our guests opinion. I will be sure to forward your review to the managers.
We hope to see you again.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having read some of the negative reviews on trip advisor we were a little worried about out trip but there was absolutely no need and with hindsight, i honestly can't see where some of the complaints come from!

firstly the not so good points.... there is a lack of variety in the food menu, the food is good but could do with a fee more options and maybe some theme nights. the food itself is good quality and well cooked!

Although we didn't experience it, we understood that the bar had run out of white wine one night,

On 2 of the days there were tour reps being shown around the resort, this was usually batches if 15 or 20 people at a time and maybe 5 batches per day. not a problem but was not that impressed at having my photo taken as i sat by the pool by some complete stranger.

The good points far out way the bad ones tho!

The Staff were fantastic without exception, EVERY single person we saw or spoke to was polite, helpful and nothing was too much trouble!

The Beach is beautiful! white sand, slight slope into the sea, lots of loungers and shade from trees or umbrellas.

The pool is a good size, cleaned daily, nice temperature, plenty of sun beds around and lots of shade, again from palm trees and umbrellas.

The rooms were very comfortable. we stayed in a tropical waterfront room and was everything we could have asked for! comfortable bed, good air conditioning big shower, fridge, safe. a short walk from the bar and restaurants. what more could you need?

On arrival (our flight was delayed so we were well into the evening) we were allocated a room with twin double beds. we were tired but went to reception to ask if there was any chance of a change. we were met by the Director of Guest Services who immediately checked and advised they would make a room available for us the following morning. true to their word, the porter was at the room on time to move our luggage to another room. we didn't need to lift a finger, everything they could do, was done with a smile and "Can we do anything else for you?"

This was the first holiday for some time we have come away from feeling really relaxed and refreshed. having stayed at the Sandals resort previously, without hesitation we would return to Grand Pineapple, but not to the Main Sandlals resort on the island! there is a MUCH more relaxed atmosphere here and if your looking for a genuine Caribbean holiday feel you can't go far wrong here for the money!

if your looking for sterile hotel with silver service this isn't for you. if your looking for a relaxing time with helpful, friendly staff, a great atmosphere and very comfortable surroundings, then get booked up! the number of returning gusts there can't be wrong! just about everyone we spoke to there were on return visits, some were well into double figures!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. I'm glad that we were able to provide excellent service and excitement. Our beach is one of a kind and I'm happy you enjoyed it so much. We are always delighted to know that we met our standard as well as your expectations by offering amazing customer service in a fun and relaxing environment. We hope to see you again.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.