We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous relaxed place on a lovely beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Save Saved
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Pineapple Sale!
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxed place on a lovely beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just returned from 17 fabulous nights at the Grand Pineapple. We had read many reviews & went because of the rustic/plantation like ambience so well documented on Trip Advisor. We were aware that it was owned by Sandals & that it wasn't likely to be like many of their other resorts.
Happily, it was exactly as expected. A great welcome (although the reception could do with air con after an 8 hour flight from chilly England!) & the room was exact;y as requested. We decided on ocean view rooms (one for my wife & I & one for our two sons aged 20 & 17). They were on the 2nd floor (as high as it goes) & had terrific views. The rooms are very large with an enormous & high bed in our room & an identical bed plus another good sized double fold away bed in the boys room, which still left plenty of room. The view was fantastic.
The good thing is that even up on the hill, the whole resort is very close & the walk down to the beach & restaurant took no more than a couple of minutes. We arrived mid-afternoon in time for a shower & a bit of an explore before dinner.
The food was largely very good but after 17 nights it did become a little repetitive but no problem if you vary the venue. The Italian is good as is the Pineapple Grill (Air con a bit chilly in there) &, on the whole, the selection in the Topaz was always just enough. The ribs & chicken at the Outhouse were always excellent in my experience & this must be the mos relaxed, lovely place to chill out with an ice cold beer. There are rumours that Sandals want to close this place (I assume due to health & safety & it not suiting the Sandals brand), but this would be a big mistake. I admit that sometimes I couldn't be bothered to make the walk up the hill (it is the furthest flung part of the resort) but people must keep visiting Mary because this is a unique & special place. Make the effort, it's worth it.
The weather was reliable for the first 2 weeks with the exception of a couple of days where we had the swift 15 minute downpour & then back to normal.
It's not fair to single out specific staff so I won't but I have to say that almost all the bar staff were helpful, topped up your drinks without being asked if we were at the bar & happily provided branded drinks (which did occasionally run out but were replaced pretty quickly). The staff were fun & interested in the guests & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel just because of the staff.
I did a number of the water sports & we got involved with the volleyball daily, it was all so easy & relaxed, no pressure to join in but great fun when we did.
Some have said that it isn't much of a place for the young but our 2 befriended others & after a very short time we hardly saw them! There isn't much civilisation locally but that didn't seem to matter to them because they were so laid back but it didn't stop them having a great time either.
A couple of things needed attention while we were there, we didn't have a fridge & we didn't always get the coffee in the room replenished enough but, I called reception & in both cases these things were sorted out pretty much immediately.
Credit to the on site nurses too. I got a nasty sand fly bite that made my hand swell up like a boxing glove but the nurses helped me, got a doctor in & got me the correct drugs straight away & my hand was fine in a couple of days. Make sure you are insured though because the Doctor's call out fee alone is US$200!
We all felt that we were properly relaxed by the end of day one, something I've never experienced before, & we certainly want to return.
As long as you don't expect the last word in luxury (after all the restaurant is open to the beach & birds do fly in, expertly shooed away by guys with canes) & generally, even at the Pineapple Grill, it isn't exactly fine dining but it really is a fabulous place to relax.
I would suggest that Sandals carry out a few repairs & a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss especially on the beach side of the restaurant but we just loved the old world charm & wouldn't want it changed. The shop is a little expensive (US $7.50 for a large packet of crisps!) & is normally charged to your room so watch out!
Trips? I would suggest the circumnavigation catamaran trip & the swimming with Stingrays but beware the Shirley Heights hype, if you want to see a sunset & steel band, get a taxi to St Johns. The big party is OK but pricey (US $10 for a burger on its own) & booze equally so. That might be my age though!!
Don't worry about booking trips through the guys on the beach, they are usually cheaper. We used the legendary Marvellous Marv for a couple & Wesle for another & all trips delivered what they had said.
We made good friends & had a very sociable time. Everyone is so polite &, believe me, get up early & walk the beach before 7am. I'm amazed but we did every day & it's great meeting the locals in the sea having a pre-breakfast swim. Fabulous.
Well done GPB, a great stay & we will be back.

Room Tip: Ocean view are excellent & large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and sharing your fabulous experience at Grand Pineapple Antigua. We always want to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and satisfying stay with us and I'm glad we accomplished that goal during your stay. We appreciate your feedback. It's always very important to know what our guests think. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    907
    998
    342
    140
    104
See reviews for
489
1315
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Writtle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is clean, tidy , very quaint, staff extreamly friendly and helpful.
Food was lovely always hot and fresh.
would recomend this hotel.
it is out of the way though - nowhere to walk to. as it is in a quiet cove.
we hired a car from the hotel and drove round the whole island in 5 hours!.. very easy, petrol is so cheap!. they drive on the same side of the road as us in England so made it easy. but watch out for the pot holes!.
Shirley Heights Trip on a Sunday evening is a Must!.
Mary's lunch in the shack up the hill is lovely,the ribs and chicken are lush!. and the Mongoose are all over waiting to share your lunch!.
we had a fab 2 week stay here and have no complaints at all.

Room Tip: we had a garden veiw room 217. - looked right out onto the beach and volley ball net. excellent spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Antigua! I'm glad to read that you had such a fabulous holiday at the resort. We always want to ensure that our guests are comfortable and entertained during their entire stay. We hope to see you both again in the future.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

we have just arrived back from a fantastic 10 days at the Grand pineapple. the staff were amazing and very friendly .our room 510 overlooked the ocean and was clean and beautifully prepared with flower petals when we arrived , if we needed anything the staff were happy to help , we took our 12 year old daughter, in the day she was happy in the pool or in the sea but at night there wasn,t much for her to do .The one thing i would recommend that at night they could provide some entertainment for the older children , such as a disco just for a couple of hour somewhere away from the bar area . so that adults can speak with other grown ups while the kids let off some steam . we would recommend the hotel to family and friends and looking forward to going back .

Room Tip: tropical view rooms , overlooks the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. I'm glad you and your family had such a fantastic holiday and that we were able to share that experience with you. We appreciate your feedback. It's always very important to know what our guests think. We hope to see you all again.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked last minute for half term with another family, It was cheaper than going to Canaries! Wasn't expecting too much due to price we had paid. Cannot fault the resort, we upgrading our rooms to Ocean view. The resort was clean , the staff were exceptional ,beach amazing only complaint it rained one day !

Room Tip: Upgrade room if possible as standard rooms are basic, get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We're happy that you had a wonderful last minute getaway to Grand Pineapple Antigua. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just got back from a fantastic week at Grand Pineapple. The location of the hotel from the airport was brilliant, only 25 minutes away. The service was the definition of excellence, the best and a little bit more. Such friendly helpful staff that made you feel like a valued member of the community. A superb room with a beautifully prepared bed and cool air conditioning on arrival. White sandy beaches and beautiful warm blue sea, even when it rained. We stayed in the beach front rooms, even though we didn't get a fridge we called room service and within the hour was delivered to our room at no additional charge. We even got a courtesy call on the first night to make sure we had settled in comfortably and if we needed anything. The food offered in the hotel was reasonable for the amount we paid to stay, but was not amazing, however we found it great value for money considering the prices of other hotels in the area for just bed and breakfast. The outhouse was lovely and had a great bbq make sure you go at the beginning of the week. There are vendors who come up and down the beach but are all friendly and polite even after declining there goods.

Room Tip: Call and ask for a fridge as soon as you arrive and get up early to secure a parasol. Beach front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. We're delighted to read that you had such an amazing stay at our resort. You enjoyed every moment of your stay and it seems we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I knew before visiting this resort not to expect a 5* sandals hotel so was not surprised that the hotel was fairly average and there are a lot of good and not so good points.
We had a beachfront room which was perfect as our terrace was directly on the beach and we had gorgeous views of the ocean. The room was spacious and the bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom area was dated and should be replaced but overall I was pleased with the room.
The beach was beautiful and the sea was crystal clear so we spent most of our time here but I was also pleasantly surprised at how lovely the pool area was after reading some of the reviews.
The food was the biggest disappointment, I am quite a fussy eater but found it very difficult to find anything that I liked the sound most evenings when looking at the menu. A lot of time time I ended up choosing from the children's menu but anything I did choose from the main menu was a bit of disappointment. However, the snack bar on a lunch time was very handy if you just wanted a quick fix whilst sunbathing at the pool. The worst thing about the dining experience was the cats. They would walk around the dining area and even under your tables. This didn't bother a lot of people but I hated it and it made my feel very uncomfortable and couldn't bare to be in the restaurant whilst there were cats rubbing against my leg!! Ew!
The drinks menu was average and the cocktail menu was quite small. Also, if you asked the bar tenders to make you up something that wasn't on the menu they weren't very helpful.
The evening entertainment was hit and miss. There was a lot of music and general knowledge quizzes which I wasn't too interested in but when the hotel had hired local dancers and live bands it was fab. Most nights we were back in the room early evening as there wasn't a lot to do.
Mary's outhouse is brilliant and definitely worth a visit. The staff here are lovely and so welcoming and the food was one of the best we had all week but again there were a lot of cats and other creatures which just made me not want to be there.
Majority of the staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you especially the sales manager who took really good care of you. However, some of the bar staff were a little less friendly.
Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel during the day but as of an evening there was not a lot going on and the food was a real let down.
I would be reluctant to go back to this hotel but would recommend it for older couples who are looking for a quiet, relaxing break.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are worth upgrading to and a ground floor is good to have direct access on to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Katie.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Pineapple Antigua and the beautiful island scenery.

We regret to hear that there were a few areas that did not meet your standards.
We are surprised to note that you did not enjoy the dining options on some of our menus and found that some nights lacked sufficient entertainment on resort. We are respectful of the opinions you have expressed and recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual. We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret if we did not live up to your expectations.

As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back on a future stay to enjoy the changes made in your absence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Pineapple Beach resort from 15th to 25th October 2013 and were abit apprehensive because of some of the reviews, especially the food, but do not know what people have to moan about, this is not a 5 star Sandals resort if this is what you expect then you will be disapointed, the food was adequate and plentiful, the Pineapple Grill was amazing. All the staff here are fantastic so happy and always smiling.We had beachfront room 227 which was spotless and had lovely clean white fluffy towels every day. The resort is isolated and nothing really outside the resort but the location is to die for if you want a chilled out relaxing holiday then this is it. If you want to go on any tours then speak to Marvin on the Beach he is wonderful and so helpful. We met some lovely people whilst we were there, hello if you are reading this Michael and Maria try and call us again we only got half your message on the phone and cannot contact you. Also hello to Michelle and Gary do hope you were able to enjoy the last few days you were there especially as Michelle was not at all well for 3 or 4 days.
But all in all a good relaxing holiday for us just what we wanted.

Room Tip: Probaly waterfront rooms would be best if you can afford it if not Beachfront are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
Free internet...
Show More
10.7 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#4 of 20 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
11.1 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Verandah Resort & Spa
Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
13.4 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#3 of 20 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,863 reviews
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
6.5 mi away
St. James's Club
St. James's Club
#1 of 1 in Mamora Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
12.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.