We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach setting,excellent customer service, a good holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely beach setting,excellent customer service, a good holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

On arrival to pineapple beach we were greeted by friendly staff, shown to our room which was a beach front room, this was a perfect choice as the beach was about 5 steps away and the views outstanding. The room it's self could do with a bit of updating however all we needed was a room to sleep and shower so it was adequate. We found that all staff were customer focused and nothing was too much trouble. I did aquasize which was great fun with Devon & Kerry and my husband played a lot of table tennis with jules & sasha the photographers In between their photo shoots. The food was what you would expect at an all inclusive, lots of salads, meats and fish with deserts of cakes and pastries in the buffet restaurant. The pineapple grill was a nice restaurant with good food but the lighting is very dim, I did think that could be improved. The evening entertainment was ok, it usually finished before 11pm and there was disco a couple of nights a week in the pineapple grill from 11pm that was fun even though not many people go. Overall we had a memorable holiday in Antigua and grand pineapple beach was a good choice of hotel. The people there that helped make our holiday were Loreen at breakfast she was chatty and knowledgeable of the island when we asked questions, ocean the barman he was funny and helpful and Barbara in guest services who goes above and beyond always

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I’m happy that you were able to have an enjoyable stay and wonderful vacation spent with us. Our friendly staff on resort do their best to make everyone feel at home. It’s good to hear that they made your stay even better.Thank you for your great review and feedback. We hope to see you again.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,047
    364
    147
    110
See reviews for
538
1,425
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had to change our hotel at the last minute due to our booked hotel closing for a refurb. We are so so pleased that we did. Cant find anything negative to say about Grand pineapple. The staff are fantastic. rooms very comfortable. Greatselection of food at every meal. Delightful grounds. Our view was so pretty . The beach was gorgeous and very safe particularly for children.
Beach vendors just went away if you said no thank you. will definately return

Room Tip: We had a garden room and in our opinion a better view than a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of Grand Pineapple Antigua! I'm so glad that we were able to meet your expectation and make this an amazing experience for you. We hope that you return in near future!

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We first visited this hotel in 2010 and have just returned from a 2 week holiday there. The hotel is lovely and very clean, staff are very friendly.

There is an informal pool bar that serves light snacks which is nice if you don't want a formal meal at lunch time (however a full meal is on offer for those who want it). The pool bar is lovely and the food from there was great, the food in the Topaz restaurant was good but in all honestly there could of been a little more variety in the evenings.

The bar staff were so funny, they made our evenings. They would often break into a dance midway through pouring a pint!

Mary's Outhouse is another place to eat on top of the hill. The views are amazing and again the food was lovely. A very quiet, chilled atmosphere!

The rooms were kept clean and tidy throughout the stay, the entire resort is spotless and well looked after.

The beach is never over crowded, and there are always spare sunbeds.

Shirley Heights is a trip well worth doing if you love Steel pan bands and reggae groups, there are stunning views of the Island and a great party atmosphere to be had.

Half moon bay is supposedly the best beach on the island and is well worth a visit. There is a small shack/bar there where owner 'smiling Harry' is waiting to serve cold drinks and snacks. Again well worth a visit.

The best way to see Antigua is definitely by hiring a car, and with 365 beaches on the island you can take your pick of which to visit.

We read negative reviews prior to departing but for us it was a great holiday, we are returning next May for another two weeks.

We don't usually return to hotels we have previously stayed at as we like a change, however Antigua has so much to see and we feel that this hotel provides a good base at a reasonable price.

A good tip is don't book this hotel expecting a 5* Sandals resort like some of the guests we spoke to. This hotel does not claim to be 5* and should not be compared to Sandals, this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a great holiday with us. It's great that we were able to meet your expectations the second time around. It's very encouraging when guests post about how great our service was and how they enjoyed our comfortable, friendly environment. We always want to meet the expectations of all our guests and I'm happy we were able to accomplish that goal during your stay. We look forward to your third visit on May.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just arriving in Antigua set the scene for the entire visit. Friendly people who genuinely seemed happy to see, and serve, you. Easy journey from airport to this Hotel, which is situated in fantastic bay, with beautiful waters and even better gardens. We had ocean view rooms which were a bit of a walk with the luggage, but gave us a great view and well worth the extra effort. The room maid was superb, and looked after us very well. The resort staff would stop and ask you if you were enjoying yourself, and again seemed interested in your response. Beds were very comfortable, and the sun beds could be repositioned to anywhere that suited you. Beach reflexologist was polite, and well worth talking to. Sadly there was not much space for evening entertainment, especially if it were raining. Not the plushist place we have ever been, but certainly somewhere we would be happy to return to.

Room Tip: Ocean View - We had rooms 924 and 925 (the only room with views on two sides). Caught the sunrise ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. At Grand Pineapple Antigua, we take pride in providing a friendly and relaxing environment for all of our guests. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff did just that. We hope to see you again.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent two weeks in May. Check in very efficient and friendly. We had the beachfront room 224. Room good size and clean. Very comfortable. Bathroom need refurbishment but this did not affect our holiday.
The service in this hotel is exceptional, genuine and very friendly. Nothing is a problem to the staff. We like fruit with our breakfast, lunch and dinner this was arranged without any trouble.
Some people commented that there are no fridges in the rooms. We have asked for one and it was delivered.
Breakfast was ok. We are used to more choice but the essentials were there. The buffet lunch was ok. There is lots of variety. We prefer a good salad at lunch and salads were a bit restricted.
Dinners at the buffet were ok with lots of variety, meat, fish and vegetable and the occasional BBQ. The birds were fun and did not bother us.
Most nights (4 nights a week) we dined in the Pineapple grill. We had the same table for the two weeks. The menu was good. Some nights the quality was excellent and some just good. We did not understand why the variations but we have enjoyed all our dinners. The restaurant staff was excellent meeting all our requests all the time. We felt part of the family.
Kevin (responsible for all the restaurants) has arranged with the staff so we get fresh fruit after our desert every night. Thanks Kevin. You are a star. We have never met anybody so willing and efficient in providing superior customer service. Nothing was impossible for Kevin, extra honey, fruit or anything else.
We also need to mention Alvin at the service desk. He arranged for the fridge, repairs and everything else we wanted. He is efficient, friendly and really cares about customer service. Thanks Alvin.
The beach is excellent and snorkelling good. The beach equipment provided were very good with good service. There is no shortage of beach chairs or umbrellas.

We booked our excursions with the hotel. The round the island cruise price list for Sandal customers $110 was reduced to $98, less than what Marvin wanted on the beach - $105.
Night entertainment very low key.

Great holiday.

Room Tip: Beachfron room 222 to 230 excelent views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so happy to read that you had such a great time at Grand Pineapple Antigua. Our friendly staff on resort do their best to make everyone feel at home. It’s good to hear that they made your stay even better. I will be sure to share your mention to Kevin and Alvin, they will be very happy to read it. Be sure to visit us again. We look forward to your return.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Where do my wife and I begin to tell people how Fabulous our holiday at theGrand Pineapple and Spa was!! To say the
most relaxing, comfortable and welcoming place we have holidayed, is so true. The beach and sea to die for !! Everywhere
Kept very clean.The food very good,and a good choice. All inclusive it certainly was.We are very well travelled and loved
this place so much,we booked a holiday to return there next year before we left.We would like to thank Vacations Manager
Mr Alvin James for being so helpful during our holiday and booking our return trip.Such a very nice polite gentleman.
Many Thanks to you all at the Grand Pineapple

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I'm so happy that you had such a fabulous holiday at Grand Pineapple Antigua. Sounds like Alvin took good care of you during your stay. It's very encouraging when guests post about how excellent our service was and how they enjoyed our comfortable, friendly environment. We always want to meet the expectations of all our guests and I'm happy we were able to accomplish that goal during your stay. We look forward to your return next year. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Totally relaxing , everything about our stay was perfect ,
We got Married on the Hill Top Gazebo , thanks to Verene for making our day so special ,
Ocean view room was lovely , cleaned everyday thanks to Codine (lovely lady )
food & cocktails good , all staff are so friendly ,
Beach is gorgeous , plenty of beds , Shirley Heights is a must , lots of reggae dancing ,
, we will defiantly be going back .
Cath & eric

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I'm so happy that you and your husband had such an amazing wedding vacation with us. We want all our guests to have the experience of being in paradise and I am delighted to hear that we were able to create that experience for you. I'll be sure to send this post to our staff, they all will be happy to see your review. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you both again.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.