We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Pineapple Antigua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Grand Pineapple Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from my daughter's wedding. My first all inclusive holiday and it was wonderful.
Staff couldnt be nicer and more helpful- always smiling
Wedding coordinator and photographer were absolutely superb. I have read other, critical reviews and think they must have been at a different resort to us.
We had beachfron rooms - they were great.
Food (throughout was very good and service beyond reproach.
Activities varied and fun.
Butlins for Americans? NO NO NO there were kids of all ages but plenty for them to do and they, like the birds in the restauraunt, were very well behaved and caused us grumpy old parents no problem - in fact it was a joy to watch the birds
We has 1 problem - the helicoper ride - we underestimated combines weight and had to leave 1 of our party. The trip, including Montserat was amazing and the resort staff sorted out refund efficiently and with mos hassle.
Other visits included Sting Ray City - A may zing!!! Hut for from the beach rather than the 4 hour crosst country tour.
Someone said "it's no Sandals" - it is part of the Sandals group - We wend to Sandals "proper" for our sunset cruise - it was cold and unwelcoming compared to Grand Pineapple where we felt welcome and "at home" from the second we entered reception.

Would I recommend this resort - Oh yesss and we intent to return for our 40th wedding aniversary in 2 years time.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront (Room 101) 30 steps from the beach and were not troubled at all by noise - peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We really appreciate you posting about your wonderful stay at Grand Pineapple Antigua! Providing excellent customer service is very important to us and it is always our pleasure to serve. We hope to see you for your 40th wedding anniversary. It will be a pleasure and honor to see you again and celebrate your anniversary.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,047
    364
    146
    108
See reviews for
536
1,424
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from Grand Pineapple having read a lot of bad reviews before we went we were a bit dubious but when we got there we were pleasently surprised we did pay a upgrade and stayed in a ocean view room which was very spacious and clean yes a little tired but the view was to die for, the staff was all very pleasant some more than others the food was good very good in the grill, Marys was amazing beach was good all in all a good holiday if you ignore the tired look of the place which in no way spoilt our holiday one little bit. We did here comments from other guests they were expecting more because it is a Sandles Hotel well yes it is but not a five star adult only, It is a basic Three Star catering for familys with children of all ages so you no that familys are going to be there we are of an age that we like a bit of quite on holiday but there is an adult only pool if you want to get away from the noise, and there is so much to do and see on the island you dont have to be stuck in the hotel 24/7. We booked all our trips with Marvin on the beach a great man who you can trust and looks after you very well. Would we go back? Maybe but we have planned to go to so many more places. Please give this place a chance and remember you are in the Carribean and to much starch would take away the feel of the local atmasphere if you want five star clinical then go and pay for it

Room Tip: We stayed in room 723 Ocean View Excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of Grand Pineapple Antigua! We appreciate it. I'm so glad that we were able to meet your expectations and make this a good holiday for you. It seems you had a great time visiting our resort. We hope to see you again.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this as a shore excursion independently while we were on a cruise. The beach and pool area are very nice and the drinks were good, but, we will never go there again because there were birds everywhere in the dining area. We had to put saucers over our water glasses while we ate lunch so the birds woundn't land on our glassess. If they screened the dining area, it would be a huge improvement. Next time, we'll spend the extra money to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I'm sorry that you did not quite enjoy your Day Pass visit with us because of the birds. On a tropical island it is difficult, at times, to keep the birds away as we are in their habitat but our staff monitors the grounds, especially the eating areas, carefully to ensure that we avoid any unsanitary occurrences with the birds. Along with diligent surveillance, we have other deterrents in place, such as: an ultra sonic bird away system, screens and nets around the buffet area and artificial predator birds. We are currently in the process of implementing new systems to safely resolve this matter so that future guests do not share this experience.

Thank you for your feedback.


Kind Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Travelled back after a previous amazing holiday to the Grand Pineapple , however it is no longer Grand more sorry for itself .
I paid to upgrade to the beachfront room which was very tired and had a chipped bath which was reported but obviously not fixed during my stay .
The food was disappointing except for in the Grill where Goldine and her team were amazing.
In the buffet we often had to wait for the inks service for water and wine, on 2 occasions I had to find the waiter and chase the order on another the drinks arrived after I had eaten my main course !!
Some changes have been made, not for the better the street party replaced with people selling goods from outside the hotel , my advise if you want gold etc hire a car and take a trip to St Johns, an easy drive and car hire from Al exceptional service and value.
The beach remained beautiful but due to storms there were lots of sand flies and Mosquitos so make sure you pack the relevant bite treatment as we were bitten quite badly , my 3 month old daughter on her face.
Location is everything here so if you don't mind poor service , rooms and food book it, otherwise think carefully.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We regret to hear that we did not meet quite your expectations during your return stay with us. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our accommodations, delicious dining options and stellar customer service. However, as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients. Since we are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities, I will be sure to send your feedback to the General Manager and relevant departments.


Kind Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Isle of Wight
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just recovered from the jet lag from our 14 night stay at the Grand Pineapple, our first taste of the Caribbean. travelled with Virgin, well worth the extra to upgrade to Premium Economy.
We were very pleased with this hotel, we had been deciding between this and the Jolly Beach. Quick transfer from the airport to hotel and straight away greeted with Fruit or Rum punch and a nice refreshing towel. Check in was quick and taken to our room. we opted for a Ocean view room (922). Yes it was up hill, but not as bad as suggested by other reviews, its a steady walk on shallow steps. Room was of a good size although when an onshore breeze blew the patio doors rattled, this was fixed by us with a couple of pages of the independent wedged into them. Found the hotel to be very clean and excellent room service by Kathleen. Pools were constantly being cleaned due to the foliage being brought down by the wind.
I would suggest if travelling without children avoid UK or US School holidays, as the children tended to take over, this happened the 2nd week for us, which also made the hotel a lot busier especially at meal times. Overall all restaurants were very good, essential that you cover your water, food etc. at breakfast especially, but this is common to a lot of hotels. Service and food was always good, the hotel was very busy. Good selection of different dishes most days. Pineapple Grill was excellent and the service we had on the 3 occasions we ate in there from Chervill was as good as any other restaurant. Lunch at the outhouse is a must and to just sit watching the Mongoose can while away a good few hours. We found the entertainment ok, but on to early in the evening. usually started about 7.30, we tended to be just going for dinner around this time. The bar lounge area could do with another area where you can sit and just relax away from the karaoke. Stingray city is a must trip we booked this from the beach (50USD each) with Wesley. We also did around the Island trip on the Excellence boat again a very good trip this was booked with the hotel (110 USD each) again a very good day, need plenty of sunscreen.
My biggest gripe with the hotel was the cost of changing money, I had a USD Cash Card which to get 100 USD from they charged 10 USD, very much over priced as you had no alternative other than to go into St John. Plenty of sunbeds both around the pools and on the beaches, but still people feel the need to get up at stupid o clock to claim there beds. We hired a car (organised in UK before leaving this was cheaper than the hotel) well worth doing to see many of the quite bays and beaches of the Island. We spent a couple of afternoons at Dickenson Bay, brought 2 beers in the bar and sunbeds and sunshades were free. Bar staff were very friendly and most drinks were branded.
Beach at long bay is lovely to walk along especially in the evening to the public beach to catch the last rays of sun, this area is very good for snorkelling. One of the best and relaxing holidays we have had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are so happy to read that you had a great holiday with us. Thank you so much for your review of Grand Pineapple Antigua. We always want to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and satisfying stay with us and I'm glad you had such a wonderful time visiting our resort. We hope that you return in near future!

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Room nice.

Food Luke warm even in pineapple grill. Most staff not friendly at all although their are a few exceptions.

Bad stomaches twice in two weeks. No water in room one day and could not have a shower or flush the toilet.

Very over rated and over priced.

Heard lots of other people complaining about bad stomaches as well.

Service very poor. Sandals name everywhere but seriously needs upgrading.

If I ever went back to antuiga would have to be sandals resort or nothing.

Think they are trying to be something they are not and failing miserably.

Room Tip: Tropical waterfront rooms are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our luxurious accommodations. Therefore, we're sorry to hear that you were not as impressed. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities so I will be sure to send your feedback to the relevant departments.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back for a much better stay in the future.


Kind Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Overall we had an extremely relaxing 2 weeks at the Grand Pineapple Beach Resort. If you have booked then you will have a lovely time…

The grounds are lush and the beach is spectacular. The all inclusive water sports were great and we took full advantage of the snorkelling, kayaks and aqua cycle.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food – our meal in the Pineapple Grill on our last night was very nice however some of the al a carte evenings in the Topaz restaurant were just as good, so if you do have trouble booking the PG (usually fully booked by 8.30am!!!) then don’t despair as the Topaz or Italian (no bookings required) will suffice.

The entertainment was not our cup of tea and it definitely took a downhill turn on our second week when more families with children arrived. The hotel catered for them more, so with hindsight I wish I had booked an adults only hotel. It started to feel a little bit like ‘Butlins for Americans’ (thanks for that quote Martin!!! And ‘Hi’ Valerie, hope you are well! X) so we tended to be back in our room by 10.30pm!

There are just few niggles that start to grate a little and could so easily be fixed!

As mentioned in practically every other review, the staff are very friendly and welcoming… this is great, it is nice to be offered a drink with a smile…the novelty soon wears off though if the drink never turns up! We would order a drink at dinner and we would finish our meal…wait a little….wait a bit more and go to the bar ourselves!

On occasion, at dinner, the offer of wine would be so late we would be on our desserts! In fairness, after mentioning this to the excellent waitress Arleen, the situation was remedied and we always had our wine promptly. But it is disappointing that it had to be addressed in the first place.

We were in an ocean view room which did have a lovely view. The room was old but charming, but I was disappointed that we didn’t have a private balcony, instead a veranda which was part of the steps to and from other rooms. The bathroom was in need of a total refurbishment and I do think the hotel should address this urgently as it seems to be pot luck as to where you are put, some other Virgin guests with ocean view rooms were in a completely newly refurbished block – whilst they enjoyed brand new fixtures and fittings, we had peeling paint and a sink that was hanging onto the wall by a wing and a prayer!

As I said, minor niggles, which did not detract from a fabulous 2 weeks. But I confess I would not recommend the Grand Pineapple Beach and I would not return, as I am confident for the money we paid we could have had a much better quality accommodation elsewhere on Antigua.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and avoid the 600's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeticiaA17, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Pineapple Antigua. Your vacation seemed to be an amazing one and I'm glad we were able to be a part of your experience. We are very happy to read that you had a fabulous and relaxing vacations in your 2 weeks stay at the resort. We are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities so I will be sure to send your feedback to the relevant departments. Thank you for your feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back for a much better stay in the future.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.