We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Little Honeymoon Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Save Saved
You added Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Air Credit Offer!
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Barrowford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Honeymoon Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are not pretentious people nor did we expect a 5 star sandals resort as we knew that while sandals own this resort it does not claim to be a sandals resort, what this place is, is a relaxing, unpretentious (apart from some of the guests) traditional small caribbean resort and i would definitely return. We spent two weeks here from the middle to the end of May and we had the most relaxing and enjoyable time. For those people who say the food not very good - i think its a joke - no one is going to like all the food a restaurant serves all the time, sometimes you do have to wait for things and things can be missed but your in the caribbean - chill out, whats the rush?! The food was always top quality, the buffet breakfast and lunches were superb, they let you choose your food in your own time, there was always plenty of selection and everything was always cooked just right. The staff are wonderful people, extremely polite always saying hello and couldn't do enough for you. The resort is always being cleaned, lawns mowed, pathways swept, pools cleaned!! (I did infact see the pool being cleaned on numerous occasions on our 2 week stay.) The restaurants - there are 3, 2 of them are in one restaurant on different nights and the other is a wonderful little restaurant next to reception, go there as much as you can they change the menu every week. The beach is beautiful and not too overcrowded, the sea is clear and the bedrooms are spacious and cleaned every day! For those stating that its dated, yes in places it is but your in the caribbean its not the richest of countries and its a traditional hotel, not a plastic sandals resort and if you want that - pay more money out!! We paid £3k for 2 weeks in bliss in the caribbean and we got exactly what we wanted and expected. For anyone who paid that and wasn't happy well you should have paid the extortionate prices to go to a 5 star resort you knew where you were going when you booked it! I would definitely recommend the Grand Pineapple Beach Resort, Antigua to anyone, it was our perfect little honeymoon paradise.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are on the quieter side of the hotel and have the most comfy beds. Bathrooms are sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and great review. We are very happy you had the most relaxing and enjoyable time.

We can't wait to have you visit us again in the future! Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    904
    992
    341
    139
    104
See reviews for
486
1312
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed 8 June - 23June 2 weeks. -Cheshire England
We have been all over the Caribbean islands and it was a special birthday (my 60th) so I wanted to go somewhere different. this was the smallest place we have very stayed in. If you want to relax and chill out and want to a small lovely beach then you might like this resort. The most positive thing is that the beach front room we had was lovely & large, very clean, you walk straight out on to the beach, we did request a double bed & a fridge which we got. The sea was good for me as it was calm no big waves and crystal clear. Hobby cat was good they take you for a sail was great, my hubby went snorkelling he saw some great colourfull fish at the right hand end of the beach near the rocks.
The bar area was run down not enough chairs entertainment was not very good most people went to bed early as they were bored, take casual clothes with you as it is not a place to put your posh dresses on. Now I know what colonial means!
Now the FOOD, in the main restraunt the food was bland and only luke warm especially on the nights they had barbecues around the pool & beach I was fed up of eating cold food so I complained to the Director (Barbara) she looked at me didn't say alot said she would look into it but never heard from her again I also told her about the adult pool which was always dirty on the top, they did seem to clean it after that but still not with filter equipment which other hotels use.
The best meal was breakfast as the eggs are cooked to order & the bacon was nice & crispy at least they got that rigtht!
Go to the Pineapple Grill have to book this the day before but get there early as the places soon get snapped up as guess what! the food here was lovely and HOT so we went here all the time when it was open. Mar'ys Outshouse is a shack up the hill but the food was excellent and hot here jerk chicken, ribs, hot dogs and salad plenty of lager help yourself, the views up here are great.
This resort is not what we have been used to before but it is colonial so if you like this sort of thing then you may like it hear, the only other good thing was because it was small you got to meet lots of people we met some great people.
We hired a car for 2 days with another couple so we did get to see all of Antigua not much to see but driving through the rain forest was interesting and worth the trip, Shirley heights was stunning, Nelsons harbour was interesting & Jolly beach was great but this was on the Caribbean side so the beach & sea was magnificant.
The staff on the whole were nicen& friendly some were a bit miserable but thats life!
This is not a cheap holiday it is cheaper to stay at other Caribbean's resorts(Cuba, Dominican Republic,Mexico & Barbados) which are 4/5* and have nicer restraunts, bars, pools etc, so we will not be returning to this resort.
As Virigin don't fly direct from Manchester we took the BA shuttle to Gatwick the night before & stayed in a hotel overnight & this worked well. well done to BA & Virgin. Unfortunatley our return journey from Antigua to Manchester was fraught with problems due to Virgins flight being delayed hence we missed our connecting flight to Manchester, fortunatley as we had booked the connecting flight direct with Virgin we did not have to pay for the later flight. Something to watch if you are returning to Manchester via Gatwick you have to pass through Gatwicks security checks and any alcohol or liquids bought in Antigua or on the flight from Antigua that are not in a sealed package at the point of sale will be taken off you, so be ware.
Hi to Ian, Natalie, Michele, Paul & Barnaby lovely to have spent most of our hols with you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for posting about your stay at Grand Pineapple Antigua. It was an honor for us to have you for your 60th birthday and I am so sorry that your experience at with us did not meet your expectations.

The highlights of your stay are very encouraging. We always want to provide a relaxing, friendly environment for all of our guests. We've followed-up with the staff as well as the General Manager regarding your dissatisfaction with a number of amenities and we are working with the departments involved to ensure future guests don't have a similar experience.

Again, thank you for your review. We are always appreciative of any client feedback received. Please feel free to contact us at 1-888-SANDALS if you have any questions or concerns.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Review Coordinator
Sandals and Beaches Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just spent 12 nights at the Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel in Antigua and we had a great holiday, relaxing and meeting new people. Many of the people who go here are from the South of England or the USA. We only met a couple of other Scottish people and one Welsh couple.

It is not a big resort, one of the reasons we picked it, and the other was the fact that all the buildings are built in Caribbean style. We didn’t want to wake up in a modern sterilised hotel that could be anywhere in the world. We wanted a real Caribbean experience and that’s what we got. The hotel is set in lovely grounds which are beautifully kept and regularly tended. Don’t miss the giant tortoises outside reception and the nursery area with little babies. They are lovely.

The check-in experience was great, don’t worry about rushing to get in first ahead of the queue. Instead of standing in a huge queue at reception waiting your turn, you are welcomed with cold towels and rum punch and everyone’s keys and relevant info are handed round while you are sitting relaxing. You are then shown to your room when ready and a porter takes your bags – very civilised.

We stayed in a Tropical Waterfront Room and we were very pleased with it. A nice big room with a beautiful view of the beach. You could lie in bed at night at hear the waves wooshing onto the shore. The air conditioning was very efficient and I couldn’t believe how quiet it was - you really couldn’t hear it. The ceiling fan was the same. There is a coffee machine in the room to make proper coffee but no kettle. I asked for one at reception and it appeared a couple of hours later. So if you are a tea drinker in the morning like me just ask for a kettle, it’s no problem. There is one British 240V plug in these rooms so you can use any electrical appliances you take with you. Don’t do what I did and buy straighteners for worldwide use, its just not necessary. Can’t speak for the other rooms. We also had a fridge but speaking to other people I think these are the only rooms that do.

Take a bottle of water or some sort of water holder with you as there is no bottled water in the resort. There is a soft drinks machine at the snack bar where you can refill your bottles. The bar staff will also happily refill your bottles and so will the restaurant staff. The water from these sources is filtered and is safe to drink. Occasionally you do get some at Mary’s but was available on only one occasion when we were there so you can’t rely on it. Alternatively, you can buy a bottle in the shop and refill that.

The food in the restaurant is not cordon bleu cooking but it really is pretty good. They have different themes for their buffet nights e.g. chinese, mexican as well as caribbean, so even being there for 12 nights we did not get bored. I felt the breakfast selection wasn’t huge although what there was was good. Wine is served with lunch and dinner and they are very good at refilling your glass. The Pineapple Grill is really nice so make sure you book to go there. You can do this from 8.30 a.m. the morning before you want to go. We went three times during our stay and it was good every time, including the service. Mary’s Outhouse – you will either love it or hate it. Either way the ribs and chicken are good. The climb isn’t as bad as people say I’m not that fit and found it pretty easy. The views from the top are well worth it. Although we only used it a couple of times, preferring the dining room or Mary,s the burgers from the snack bar were very good.

We booked a trip on the Catamaran Excellence and although expensive it was a good day out. Beware the rum punch tho! As many of the tours on offer didn’t really suit us, we booked Marvin to take us on a tour of the island which was tailored to our requirements. As well as taking us on a very informative trip, local knowledge is invaluable, he took us to St John’s and waited a couple of hours for us. Don’t be worried about booking any trips through him, he is very professional and reliable and, more importantly, licensed to work on that beach. He is also cheaper than the hotel. It charges $35 to take you to Shirley Heights on a Sunday night and Marvin is $25. It costs $8 each to get in but if you travel with Virgin and decide to go to make sure you get a voucher from the rep in the resort which gets you in free. It also includes a free drink when you get there.

On the negative side, I do agree that the bar area could do with a facelift, but this did not spoil our holiday in the slightest. One thing I will say, please do something about the horrible plastic wine glasses that are used during the day. I understand the practicalities of using plastic but really you could renew them a bit more often. The dishwasher had left its toll on many and they were awful!!

The evening entertainment was not great but we usually met someone to chat to and this suited us fine. It was nice to take a glass of wine back to our room later on and sit on the balcony just chilling.

The most important thing about a resort though is the people who work there. The staff are lovely and do their best to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a good holiday.

If you want a relaxing beach holiday in a great little resort then I can recommend the GPB, don’t expect Sandals but then they don’t charge Sandals prices. All in all I think it was great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. It's great to hear what our guest think. Also, thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate it. Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We visited the Gran Pineapple on a last-minute holiday through Hayes & Jarvis. It was without doubt a complete bargain considering the location, length of flight (on Virgin) and all inclusive package.

We paid the small upgrade for a sea-front room, which was well worth it. The room was simple, but spacious, clean and regularly serviced. The roof (we were on the first floor) was made of metal (not uncommon in Antigua) and as a result did occasionally make quite a din' if the rain was heavy at night.

The hotel is situated in a fantastic secluded little bay. With private beach and access to hotel residents only - except for the few local sellers that security seem to allow access to the beach.

There's a small reef along the south of the bay. Unfortunately it's been damaged over the years by, I presume, ignorant tourists standing on it. So the reef isn't what it once was, but the fauna is still a great sight to see.

The reception and gardens of the hotel we're in fantastic order, and very well tended to. The main restaurants and bar we're however a little worn, and could do with a splash of paint here and there.

We we're unfortunate in that it rained for 5 of the 7 days we were there. So we spent more time than we would have liked in the bar and restaurants, and whilst the decor, food quality and service weren't of the highest standard, they certainly weren't bad. But being quite a small hotel, after 5 days of rain we we're quite tired of the same scenery!

Whilst I doubt I would return to the Grand Pineapple, I would recommend it for anyone who is looking for an affordable trip to the Caribbean. The staff are very friendly, and it's a wonderful location to enjoy - if the weather is good

Room Tip: Upgrade to the sea-view rooms. It's worth it for the view every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate it. Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Came back just over a week ago and still thinking how pleasant everybody was. A very relaxing holiday and felt well looked after by the staff. Stayed in an Ocean View room (i.e. up the hill in one of the blocks) - absolutely fine. Clean and with good air-conditioning. The beach is beautiful and the the snorkelling pretty good - saw a stingray and a barracuda plus a host of other fish out by the coral. The coral is a long way from the OMG rating at the Red Sea, but good enough to keep me interested for an hour or so each day. Only real downside was the pricing of trips from the hotel through the hotel - not quite sure why they set this so high. If you really want too see the island and don't want to pay an arm and a leg I recommend that you walk to Willikies from the hotel (about 25 minutes) and then get one of the regular (and frequent) buses into St John's - only costs US$1.50 per person and you get to meet people. And everybody is really helpful and really friendly (on the return the bus driver dropped us back at the hotel - that never happens in London). There are two bus stations in St John's - make sure you've checked out your route beforehand - it isn't hard, Antigua is pretty small after all.

Highlight of the hotel has to be the outhouse where Mary and her companion endlessly cook spare ribs and jerk chicken - two wonderful people spreading much joy - just watch your head by the washbasin if you are tall - there's a rather nasty piece of wood at head height around there - you'll know if you find it.
My thanks to all the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. It's great to hear what our guests think! Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the pineapple for 13 nights in a 2nd floor beach front room which was actually very nice with excellent views of the beach.

We got married on the hill top gazebo which was also excellent thanks again Novella, Jules our photographer was great & made our day a lot of fun, thanks again Jules.

However that aside after the wedding we were left with one bar, one restaurant even though it's advertised as having 3. The adult pool was very dirty & wasn't cleaned at all during our stay.

The food was always cooked nice but choice was very minimal & the a'la carte menu only had 4 choices on the menu, the buffet also only had 4 or 5 choices. Breakfast was always the same no variation at all. The pineapple grill was very nice but also only had 4 menu choices.

Entertainment was almost non existent. The only bar closes as early as 11pm some nights then the disco starts (if you can call it that)...... The only fun night was the beach party & BBQ on a Monday. If staying for 2 weeks be aware that the meals & entertainment just repeat themselves it's a bit like your own groundhog day.

If traveling to the grand pineapple I would recommend no longer than a 7-10day stay as every day being the same can get very repetitive.

However the beach is beautiful & out of all our previous holiday destinations is probably one of the best we've ever been to.

Snorkelling at the end of beach is excellent if brave enough to swim out 15meters or so & the water is lovely & warm even though it's the Atlantic side & slightly rougher.

Our main problem was on paying our bill on last day we were charged two diffrent amounts which left us with no money for the 32hr travel home which dampened our experience even further.

Also if traveling with children beware the "party guys" selling their "products" on the beach during the day.

If your after a moderately priced carribean holiday with a perfect beach & plenty of sun then the grand pineapple is a good resort but we won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

have just come back from this resort and have to say we loved it.! it does need a few tweeks here and there but this is not a sandels 5star.! beach is to die for if you get the weather. ( we did ) food was good. staff pleasant.( especially " really" ) mary,s outhouse is great. terrific views. marvin on the beach for the stingray trip ( 2hrs from beach ).good value. plenty of beachbeds if you can be bothered to get up early rather than steal other peoples!you know who you are! better service in restaurants and maybe the bar would do wonders but as said " 3star heaven ".

Room Tip: beachfront . no question.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us. We appreciate it. Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua

Address: PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on Long Bay – the best secluded white sand beach on the north-eastern coast in Antigua•Thirty minutes away from the V.C. Bird International Airport and from St. John’s, Antigua’s capital city•An all-inclusive resort that caters to everyone…singles, couples, families and groups•Houses 180 deluxe rooms with bright and colorful buildings and perfectly manicured gardens •Interactive and family oriented…where warm and friendly staff refers to guests by name ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Grand Pineapple Beach Hotel
Grand Pineapple Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Club
Pineapple Beach Antigua
Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pineapple Beach Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.