We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trade Winds Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Trade Winds Hotel to your Saves list
Trade Winds Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF FALL SALE
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Wonderful place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful : I had a room change without delay since the air conditioning in my room wasn't working properly.

The breakfast was served at our convenience, i.e. any time we wanted, and was excellent : I had two smoked salmon bagels with cream chease, capers and lime, plus a plate of tropical fruits all very fresh and tasty.

The beach is only 15 minutes away by foot.

I hope to go back soon !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that all your needs were met and that you enjoyed our ALL DAY BREAKFAST option.

See you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
37
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent service - Breakfast arranged and served by the fantastic Leona Piggott - wonderful breakfast views over Dickenson bay. Fantastic evening dinners, as ever in the Bay restaurant - led by the charismatic and wonderful Michelle Thomas.
Glad the rooms are being upgraded - a most wonderful tranquil spot - just the place to chill.
Its not business 5 star - it is a wonderful place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review of your stay with us. Leona and Michelle sends their thank yous as well about your wonderful comments. We are all very appreciative as our staff is the driving force behind our successes. Thank you for your patience as well as we undergo our room upgrades.


Thank you for choosing the Trade Winds Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My room was on the last block of buildings on property. Offered great views ☆☆☆ and close to restaurant which served large portions ☆☆☆. But not sure I loved the loft styled bedroom upstairs while Tv was downstairs ☆☆. Would be good for more than 1 person sharing the room if the sofa was a futon. No writing desk in the room ☆

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review of your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was relaxing and comfortable. Our guests' comfort is very important to our success and we will take all your suggestions under consideration.

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at Trade Winds Hotel, see you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George's, Saint George, Grenada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a 2-day workshop my organisation hosted there last week. The service from the staff was excellent. Nothing was a bother for them to do to assist in making sure the event was a success. Nice, clean, spacious rooms. Satellite TV had a wealth of channel choices.

Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. It is very important that all our guests are always comfortable and relaxed when staying with us and your review is evidence that we are accomplishing these goals. Many thanks as well for your wonderful comments about our staff as they are the driving force behind our successes.

Thank you for choosing the Trade Winds Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Let me start by saying that a business colleague who stayed in this hotel recommended it to me. I was simply in transit for half a day waiting for a night flight back to the UK. I emailed these guys and asked whether i could take a lunch and swim in their hotel. When I arrived i was treated like royalty - basically the hotel was at my disposal. I had a great seafood lunch in their deck restaurant with sensational views out onto Nevis & St Kitts... took a dip in their pool and caught up with some work via their wifi. They even offered me a shower in a vacant room at no charge. The reception staff and concierge couldn't do enough. Next time I will stay for a night or two.
Oh yeas, while you are there don't forget to partake in a Hurricane cocktail...
Thanks Trade Winds!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review on your experience at our hotel. We do understand how frustrating layovers can be and we are happy that we were able to provide you with a relaxing and comfortable space to rejuvenate before the next leg of your travel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, best wishes from Our Team...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Let it be said, don't choose this hotel for the rooms.
They are not worth more than a 3 star hotel, small, tv from the 80'ies (although good chain selection), and bad lighting. Bathrooms worn down also.

When that is said, you encounter extremely friendly staff. Staid here 4 times and no matter who is there, they are always super helpful.

The Bayhouse restaurant in connection with the hotel, has breathtaking views. Take time to enjoy your breakfast here (also if not a staying at the hotel!).

The Internet is free and works perfectly every time, with decent speed rates.
No fitness center and small pool.
Worth recommending, but definitely a little overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you found the amenities in our rooms under par. Many thanks for your wonderful comments about our staff as they are the driving force behind our successes.

Thank you for choosing the Trade Winds Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was not totally impressed with the Trade Winds Hotel. There are both positives and negatives to this hotel. I understand that peoples opinions will vary with their various experiences. The views are breath taking, the staff was lovely, the food was nice, but for my liking, I find that the rooms were small, the bed was not comfortable at all, and it was quite costly for what I felt I got.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Many thanks for your review of Trade Winds Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't all comfortable, please accept our sincerest apologies. We are very appreciative of the kind compliments of our staff and service received, thank you!

HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trade Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Hotel

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trade Winds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trade Winds Hotel is located in the St. John's Antigua neighborhood, close to Dickenson Bay Beach, Fort James and Runaway Bay Beach. Nearby points of interest also include Cedar Valley Golf Club, and we are 15 minutes from V.C. Bird International Airport. Resort Features. Trade Winds Hotel's Restaurant; the Bay House serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A poolside bar and a bar/lounge are open for drinks. Room Service is available during limited hours. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This 4.0-star property has a business center and offers small meeting rooms audio-visual equipment, and business services. Complimentary Hi Speed WiFi Internet access is available throughout the property. This St. John's property has event spaces consisting of banquet facilities and conference/meeting rooms. Wedding services,Cocktail Receptions, concierge services and tour assistance are available. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include laundry facilities. Guest Rooms. 50 air conditioned guestrooms at Trade Winds Hotel feature CD Players and Coffee/Tea making facilities. All accommodations have balconies. Bathroom feature shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, hair dryers. Rooms also include safes, mini fridge, Iron and Board and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and guests may request wake-up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trade Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds St Johns
Hotel Trade Winds
Trade Winds Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trade Winds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.