We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trade Winds Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trade Winds Hotel to your Saves list
Trade Winds Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE NIGHTS & UPGRADES
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

On a recent holiday in Antigua, we visited Trade Winds and stayed for breakfast. Welcome was amazing and food fantastic.
The view from the restaurant were wonderful. If you are looking for peace and quiet, luxury and a little bitt of paradise, this is it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
37
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Lovely views from some rooms and the restaurant. The pool is quite small so ideal to cool off in but not good for swimming. Most of the rooms are in desperate need of updating and feel dirty, there were constantly insects all over the floor and we had to spray our room with cockroach killer whenever we went in or out. Some rooms above reception have been refitted but still not to an amazingly good standard.The bathrooms are old and tatty and quite often with insufficient hot water for a shower. There was internet in the room but it did not work too well, but you get a far better connection when sat by reception, and after all if your on holiday leave the Internet at home and relax.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I liked the hotel - the staff were helpful, rooms were clean and it was within 10 mins of Dickenson Bay beach. Rooms have irons and ironing boards, a safe key and kettle is available from reception.
The onsite restaurant, Bay House, was great - clearly popular with guests and visitors to the hotel. My only complaint about the food was that occasionally it wouldn't be hot (warm) enough - I suspect where they aimed to bring both plates out together however one may have been ready before the other...
Good value for money and an excellent base. Not a fancy place, but better than the average good deal, thats for sure.
Sammy, a taxi driver who is regular at the TW hotel is an absolute gem, and is incredibly professional and punctual.

Room Tip: Junior suite has a better balcony, and is worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

A relatively small hotel with only 50 rooms and half of those are always sold to the airlines. This is not your big corporate place like a Sandals and is somewhat remote so amenities are limited. They have a pool and a restaurant and a bar (all small) but that's about it. The restaurant is raved about but I found better elsewhere on island. The rooms were neat and tidy but perhaps not the cleanest per se. I had hundreds of tiny bugs all over the floor and counter tops. Upon complaint, I was given a can of bug spray. Not sure that was the best solution to the problem but was a band-aid. The bed might have been the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on in the entire world. Also, upon reading past reviews, I learned that there were no coffee pots in the rooms so I packed my own along with some coffee and bought bottled water on arrival. That's my only vice int he morning and I am glad I did it. Because of the bug situation, I always wrapped my coffee filter packs in a plastic bag and brought it out with me when I left for the day in the morning and never left any food in the room. The vies can be really good depending on the room and especially from the pool/restaurant area. It is walking distance from a great public beach next to Sandals but I recommend using your car or getting the hotel shuttle to take you down the twisty hill. There is a great grocery store just passed Sandals.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

The rooms look great from the outside as the views of the ocean are amazing and there are beautiful colourful flowers everywhere, however....... the rooms are extremely basic! My air conditioning wasn't working, and it took me telling the hotel reception 4 times before anyone came to fix it! The showers aren't very powerful at all and the bathroom felt very dirty. The lighting in the room was horrendous, just a couple of white light lamps so it was impossible to see yourself when getting ready in the evening!!!
The restaurant and bar staff are friendly enough, but they didn't seem too impressed when I sent my fried eggs back as they were undercooked.
There is a very small swimming pool, but its not big enough to swim in, just to take a dip in. There is a beach nearby (approx 10 minute walk) but its quite a hike on the way back as its up a steep hill! The road is also completely unlit at night so quite scary walking back in the dark! There are lots of stairs and uneven concrete linking reception to the rooms so no good for anyone with walking difficulties. The concrete stairs also get very slippery in the rain.
There are far better hotels in Antigua than this one! However, the cocktails in the bar are good!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The Trade Winds sits atop a hill overlooking Dickenson Bay on Antigua's north end. Getting down to the beach requires a ten-minute walk, maybe fifteen. Add five minutes to the return because of the steepness of the hill. A shuttle is available but didn't appear to run according to the published schedule. Like everything else, the busses run on island time, so leave the big-city, rush-rush attitude behind. Relax and enjoy the slow pace. Don't come here for a business-type function and expect to keep a tight schedule. If you need a ride somewhere, the staff will call you a taxi. A ride into the actual town/port of St. John's, about four miles west/southwest cost $12 US, which seemed very reasonable.

The hotel grounds are beautiful. Gardeners work all day (quietly, by the way) to keep things looking great. Hummingbirds and yellow-bellied sapsuckers (yes, they really do exist) flit around the colorful hedges and flowers. The pool and deck are kind of small, but you don't want to spend much time there anyway. Too much to see on the island.

Next to the pool is the outdoor restaurant/bar. The food is great. Other reviewers have commented on slow service, but, as stated earlier, relax and enjoy the setting and the view. Leave the stateside rush behind. The food is worth the wait. Cruise ship customers take taxis from St. John's just to visit the restaurant. Enjoy the sunrise or the sunset. Have a cocktail or two or an Antiguan Wadadli beer. When your meal arrives, savor it. You'll love it. The menu has something for everyone.

I wondered a little bit when I walked into the room and saw a big can of bug spray sitting on the dresser, but I didn't see anything frightening other than mosquitoes, which ate me alive after dark. The rooms are very clean, as is most everything else that the typical tourist will see on the island.

The hotel staff all go above and beyond to make your experience enjoyable. If and when you go, say "hello" to Milton the security guard, Stephen the bartender, and Kim at the front desk, along with everybody else. They are all friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We were very happy to find a small, cozy and personal hotel in all aspects: Friendly receptionists, security people and waiters and waitresses. By the time we left we almost knew them and they us by name, particularly the restaurant staff where we spent most of our time. We spent so much time there that we definitely put on weight. The food, was very good and the chef was even happy to accommodate specific requests even for “astakomakaronada”, lobster and shrimp spaghetti in tomato, garlic and parsley sauce.

The whole property was well kept: nicely groomed gardens, clean pool and restaurant, and a very clean room. And our room was very big ( thanks), comfortable and quiet, with a great view. And the hotel is located at a great spot with fantastic views and easy access to most places. And all people in Antigua are so friendly and keen to help with directions.

A great experience we would recommend the hotel and island to all, and definitely candidate for repeat as soon as we can make it again!

Again, thanks so much for arranging everything for us!

Warmest regards from both of us.
Harris and Christiana.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trade Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Hotel

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trade Winds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trade Winds Hotel is located in the St. John's Antigua neighborhood, close to Dickenson Bay Beach, Fort James and Runaway Bay Beach. Nearby points of interest also include Cedar Valley Golf Club, and we are 15 minutes from V.C. Bird International Airport. Resort Features. Trade Winds Hotel's Restaurant; the Bay House serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A poolside bar and a bar/lounge are open for drinks. Room Service is available during limited hours. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This 4.0-star property has a business center and offers small meeting rooms audio-visual equipment, and business services. Complimentary Hi Speed WiFi Internet access is available throughout the property. This St. John's property has event spaces consisting of banquet facilities and conference/meeting rooms. Wedding services,Cocktail Receptions, concierge services and tour assistance are available. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include laundry facilities. Guest Rooms. 50 air conditioned guestrooms at Trade Winds Hotel feature CD Players and Coffee/Tea making facilities. All accommodations have balconies. Bathroom feature shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, hair dryers. Rooms also include safes, mini fridge, Iron and Board and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and guests may request wake-up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Trade Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds St Johns
Hotel Trade Winds
Trade Winds Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trade Winds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.