We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and no facilities!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trade Winds Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trade Winds Hotel to your Saves list
Trade Winds Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dickenson Bay | P.O. Box 1390, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Run in Paradise Rate
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average and no facilities!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

The rooms look great from the outside as the views of the ocean are amazing and there are beautiful colourful flowers everywhere, however....... the rooms are extremely basic! My air conditioning wasn't working, and it took me telling the hotel reception 4 times before anyone came to fix it! The showers aren't very powerful at all and the bathroom felt very dirty. The lighting in the room was horrendous, just a couple of white light lamps so it was impossible to see yourself when getting ready in the evening!!!
The restaurant and bar staff are friendly enough, but they didn't seem too impressed when I sent my fried eggs back as they were undercooked.
There is a very small swimming pool, but its not big enough to swim in, just to take a dip in. There is a beach nearby (approx 10 minute walk) but its quite a hike on the way back as its up a steep hill! The road is also completely unlit at night so quite scary walking back in the dark! There are lots of stairs and uneven concrete linking reception to the rooms so no good for anyone with walking difficulties. The concrete stairs also get very slippery in the rain.
There are far better hotels in Antigua than this one! However, the cocktails in the bar are good!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    48
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
42
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The Trade Winds sits atop a hill overlooking Dickenson Bay on Antigua's north end. Getting down to the beach requires a ten-minute walk, maybe fifteen. Add five minutes to the return because of the steepness of the hill. A shuttle is available but didn't appear to run according to the published schedule. Like everything else, the busses run on island time, so leave the big-city, rush-rush attitude behind. Relax and enjoy the slow pace. Don't come here for a business-type function and expect to keep a tight schedule. If you need a ride somewhere, the staff will call you a taxi. A ride into the actual town/port of St. John's, about four miles west/southwest cost $12 US, which seemed very reasonable.

The hotel grounds are beautiful. Gardeners work all day (quietly, by the way) to keep things looking great. Hummingbirds and yellow-bellied sapsuckers (yes, they really do exist) flit around the colorful hedges and flowers. The pool and deck are kind of small, but you don't want to spend much time there anyway. Too much to see on the island.

Next to the pool is the outdoor restaurant/bar. The food is great. Other reviewers have commented on slow service, but, as stated earlier, relax and enjoy the setting and the view. Leave the stateside rush behind. The food is worth the wait. Cruise ship customers take taxis from St. John's just to visit the restaurant. Enjoy the sunrise or the sunset. Have a cocktail or two or an Antiguan Wadadli beer. When your meal arrives, savor it. You'll love it. The menu has something for everyone.

I wondered a little bit when I walked into the room and saw a big can of bug spray sitting on the dresser, but I didn't see anything frightening other than mosquitoes, which ate me alive after dark. The rooms are very clean, as is most everything else that the typical tourist will see on the island.

The hotel staff all go above and beyond to make your experience enjoyable. If and when you go, say "hello" to Milton the security guard, Stephen the bartender, and Kim at the front desk, along with everybody else. They are all friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We were very happy to find a small, cozy and personal hotel in all aspects: Friendly receptionists, security people and waiters and waitresses. By the time we left we almost knew them and they us by name, particularly the restaurant staff where we spent most of our time. We spent so much time there that we definitely put on weight. The food, was very good and the chef was even happy to accommodate specific requests even for “astakomakaronada”, lobster and shrimp spaghetti in tomato, garlic and parsley sauce.

The whole property was well kept: nicely groomed gardens, clean pool and restaurant, and a very clean room. And our room was very big ( thanks), comfortable and quiet, with a great view. And the hotel is located at a great spot with fantastic views and easy access to most places. And all people in Antigua are so friendly and keen to help with directions.

A great experience we would recommend the hotel and island to all, and definitely candidate for repeat as soon as we can make it again!

Again, thanks so much for arranging everything for us!

Warmest regards from both of us.
Harris and Christiana.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I stayed in this hotel a few times with work colleagues and these are the pros and cons.
Pros: beautiful hilltop view over the stunning caribbean sea, all balconies give lovely views.
The food is tasty and always well cooked even if its on the pricey side!
Staff are friendly
Security at the entrance to the hotel
Cons: The rooms do not have double locks or chains on the doors or balconies so can feel slightly unsafe for lone travellers. I worried that someone could easily get onto the balcony and break in as all the balconies are very low level.
The service at the bar is very slow
The pool is clean but very small as is the sunbathing space, so not great when lots of people are staying.
It is a long walk to the beach and back up the hill
The bathrooms are basic and quite tired ie. cracked tiles and old shower curtains.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatang, Managing Director at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
We thank you for your positive coments and wish to allay your security concerns as our electronic entry door locks also have a deadbolt as do our patio doors. We also have a Security Team who constantly patrol the grounds and room blocks. The property Security is audited by the Companies who hold contracts with us with the most recent being carried out on November 16th of this year with very pleasing results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I, two teenage children and young daughter stayed here with friends...We had the ebst room, facing the sea (many rooms do, but this one has an extremely large balcony, large enough to have a small party on it)...The large rooms were very bright and airy, clean and very comfortable.
The restaurant, lovely food, beautiful view and again extremely comfortable. My only negative here is that some of the staff are not terribly friendly, depending on who was on shilft as to whether you had a smile and a chat...
Great choice of drinks..wine very nice (I do like a good bottle of wine). Children are very welcome and are made to feel wanted (staff always nice with the children).
We made friends with the staff who maintain the gardens.etc..vry very nice at all times, same with security....For those with very young children or perhaps the elderly may find it a bit of a job to walk down to the beach from this hotel..so a taxi I think would be advisable...We often got a taxi on the return as quite steep to walk up for the younger child (and me if she fell asleep)...I would certainly return to the hotel, as very well located and a very relaxing break...The swimming pool is small,m but at the time suited us, as our daughter was just learing to swim and couldn't be out of our reach. There were very little people staying there at the time and we often had the pool to ourselves which was actually far better than a large one with too many people in it....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I needed a good hotel to put some co-workers that are use to great service and high class hotels, in st. john its hard to find great hotel on a budget, ontill this gem came up. great everything just needs a gym and better parking area. But the view is worth a million dollars. the lobby is not all that but the rooms make up for it, upgrade!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatang, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
We thank you for taking the time to write these positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Service poor. 45 minute wait for breakfast...which arrived wrong. The wrong bits of the order were removed from the plate and the correct bits added. By the time the plate returned, half the food was cold and half was hot. 1 hour wait for lunch. Always felt that everthing was a hassle for the staff, like they didn't want to be there or do anything. I felt like I was inconveniencing them by just staying there.

Room was of reasonable quality. Spacous and clean, but major insect issues (presumably invading my room through the 1/2 inch gap between the balcony doors) and not sure how secure. There was a thunderstorm and the front door allowed most of the rain in under it, entirely flooding the hallway. A/C workied but ceiling fan did not. Hot water through the sink tap but none through the trickle of a shower. Yellow pillows.

Location is high on the side of a hill. Beach 10-15 min walk. Couple of shuttle buses (2 outbound mid morning, 2 returns mi-late afternoon) from hotel per day which is and the hotel refused to pop down at any other times. They are completely inflexible.

The hotel has an apparently award winning restaurant. The food, when it eventually did arrive, was tasty and of a good quality, but it is expensive, service is deplorable and I preferred the little Italian restaurant "Opus" <5minutes walk away. The pool area is small and the swimming pool is more like a large hot tub. It measures about 15ft X 25ft.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, not even my enemies. It is poor 3 star hotel at best. Interestingly, the hotel owners mansion house, complete with electric gates, flash cars and 20ft speedboat, is next door to the hotel. I wonder if he gets hot water in his shower?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trade Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Hotel

Address: Dickenson Bay | P.O. Box 1390, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trade Winds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trade Winds Hotel is located in the St. John's Antigua neighborhood, close to Dickenson Bay Beach, Fort James and Runaway Bay Beach. Nearby points of interest also include Cedar Valley Golf Club, and we are 15 minutes from V.C. Bird International Airport. Resort Features. Trade Winds Hotel's Restaurant; the Bay House serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A poolside bar and a bar/lounge are open for drinks. Room Service is available during limited hours. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This 4.0-star property has a business center and offers small meeting rooms audio-visual equipment, and business services. Complimentary Hi Speed WiFi Internet access is available throughout the property. This St. John's property has event spaces consisting of banquet facilities and conference/meeting rooms. Wedding services,Cocktail Receptions, concierge services and tour assistance are available. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include laundry facilities. Guest Rooms. 50 air conditioned guestrooms at Trade Winds Hotel feature CD Players and Coffee/Tea making facilities. All accommodations have balconies. Bathroom feature shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, hair dryers. Rooms also include safes, mini fridge, Iron and Board and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and guests may request wake-up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Trade Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds St Johns
Hotel Trade Winds
Trade Winds Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trade Winds Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.