We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVED IT!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrymore Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Barrymore Beach Club
Save Saved
You added Barrymore Beach Club to your Saves list
Runaway Bay | PO Box 1774, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
STT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVED IT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My friends and family visited Barrymore Beach club for 8 days and we did not want to leave. At first driving there, we thought we wouldn't like it but as soon as we parked and met Jeremiah and he helped us to our room we got more and more excited. The view is breathtaking. The drive to town was not long so we were still able to enjoy and take part in carnival activities. It was so relaxing to come back from hanging out and just chillin on the beach. The store was right around the corner so there was no problems shopping. Barrymore Beach Club was the best and we will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Perfect for relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I spent several days on the top floor apartment. It is literally right on the beach with a magnificent view of the beautiful ocean. You can hear the constant sound of the surf but there is no other noise as the location is somewhat secluded. The furnishings are clean and neat but not elegant.

The room was spacious and clean and contained everything we needed. There are two separate bedrooms, bathroom, and the kitchen/living area. The bed was very comfortable and there was air conditioning in the bedroom! There was almost no one around but we did meet the groundskeeper, Jeremiah, who was most helpful. Brian was out of the country during our visit, but Christian at LaBusolla gave us the key when we arrived. We had rented through VRBO and the price was very reasonable. We went to the grocery store and bought the comfort items we needed and some fresh mangos from a street vendor. Ymmmm.

Speaking of LaBussola -- what a treasure it was to have it within a few feet from our door. We could actually see it and smell the food from our balcony. The food there was splendid. They were only open for dinner during the off season, and it was a bit pricey, but worth it.

The photographs on line are very accurate. The beach and water are lovely there, and we spent hours sunning and swimming with virtually no one around. We never missed not having a pool. We did have a rental car and it would be needed if you wanted to go anywhere except Dickinson Beach, which would be about a 5-10 minute walkon the road. We enjoyed the restaurant at Siboney which was right on the beach.

We also had an awesome excursion with Eli Fuller of Adventure Antigua. We would highly recommend it and would do it again.

The island's petroleum docking station is directly in front of this beach, but it is far enough out that it doesn't spoil the view too much. Actually watching the big ships come and go was interesting.

My only complaint was that there was only air conditioning in the bedroom. While the breeze flows through the apartment nicely, sometimes it was just hot and I had difficulty getting cooled off. I am used to living in a hot climate but with A/C so that was a little challenging for me, but not enough to keep me from staying there. I could always step outside and catch a good breeze. There were a few mosquitos around but we are used to that and I don't remember even using spray for them.

Antigua is a lovely country with undoubtedly some of the most beautiful beaches and water I've seen in the Caribbean. We toured the island and enjoyed it immensely. Barrymore would not be the perfect spot if one was looking for action and excitement, and in the off season, we didn't really find that anywhere. It was perfect for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Unit 7A on the upper floor has high ceilings and a deck looking right out on to the Caribbean Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Hello, My wife and I spent one week in early April and this place is beatuful, quiet, staff is very friendly and we enjoyed dealing with Brian (the owner). The on property restaurant is very good and is also very friendly. The beach is beautiful and if you want more activity, you can walk 5 minutes to Dickenson Beach and hang out next to the Sandals Resort. We would have breakfast at Coconut Grove Restaurant every morning. We would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Both beach front condos are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you are visiting St. John's, Antigua I would highly recommend staying at Barrymore Beach Club in Unit 7A. You are right on the beach and I mean right on the beach! You have a completely unobstructed view of the ocean which is 50 feet in front of you. It's a bit older place but very clean and has all the amenities you need. The unit we were in was a 2 bedroom lockoff but we only took the 1 bedroom/bath of it. We rented it through VRBO and it was very inexpensive. The staff is fabulous. They are so friendly. This beach is a private beach. Usually it was just my husband and myself on this white sand beach and a few times one other couple would be there. If you want peace and quiet, this is the place to go. You do need a car here though as it's not right by public transportation. It's about a 10 minute drive into the city of St. John's. (They drive on the other side of the road there...so that took a bit of getting used too....but we managed.) There is a very large, modern grocery store close by and several restaurants. The owner, Brian, was very nice and even lent us a couple of big beach towels to use while we were there. There is wifi but it was a bit of a weak signal unless we went out on the balcony. There is a fabulous Italian restaurant right in this complex.

Room Tip: There are two units right on the beach - one upper where we were and one lower - either of these wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We found BBC at Runaway Bay through our guidebook and booked directly. We stayed a week and were delighted - lucky enough to get a room right on the beach, though it's a small establishment and even the ones at the rear are only 30 seconds from the sand.

The view is spectacular - turquoise sea, blue skies and white sand with few if any other people on it (Dickenson Bay just north was busy by comparison.) It's west facing so great for the stunning sunsets.
Runaway Bay - the beach right outside BBC is small, but just south it stretches out in a long long beautiful curve. It's very peaceful and relaxing - perfect for unwinding with a few books.

If you want more action Dickenson Bay nearby has jetskis, parasailing etc. There is also a fort to explore at the south of Runaway Bay.
The apartment/rooms are lovely - spacious, clean and comfortable - fully fitted kitchens with oven/stove, fridge, freezer, microwave, 2 dining table (inside and on balcony), lounge has satellite tv , and comfy sofa and chairs, shower room and 1 or 2 bedrooms.

We saved a lot of money by self catering. There's large supermarket 10 mins by car, (Epicurean at Wood's Centre, Friars Hill Road) and a little shop 5 mins walk away (at south end of Dickenson Bay) for basics - bread, cereals, biscuits, drinks, canned food etc. No fresh fruit or veg in there but there's a lady who sells this from her car in the carpark outside.

Owner (Scottish guy - Brian Gordon) and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room cleaned 3 times during the week. There is a very good up market Italian restaurant on the plot which is independently run by an Italian family.
There are laundry facilities (which take tokens) near reception.
Some rooms at the back are let on long term basis to uni students, but we didn't meet/hear any of them.
Lots of birds and little lizards hop around the garden. Pelicans, egrets, and herons swoop around the estuary behind the beach. There are lots of mossies about - bring good repellant. Could have been be the time of year (January).


We got a good deal on the room, and were very happy. We'd definitely stay again on another visit to Antigua.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2004

i love this place! the little cottages are so fun. its great to have a kitchen in your room. the cottage is so open and spacious also. the beach right in front of it isnt the best, but it only takes a few seconds to get to the rest of the beach which is of course beautiful. there are so many restaurants around it too, its great. i would recommend this place to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2001

Came to this part of the Island from Deep Bay and Five Islands village.
Found the area to be quieter.
Nice relaxing private beach.
Beach club serves snacks and evening meals, for breakfast, need to walk down to one of the ohr hotels.
Beautiful waters to swim. Shallow for a long way out.
Not far from St Johns. Easy access via taxi.
You can chill out as much as you want, or party till the early morning. (perhaps up at shirley heights, or the ribbit club)
Sister bar to Lashings in Maidstone, Kent, is within walking distance, maybe staggering distance.
Be aware that the Rum punch is more potent then having straight Rum.
All the locals I met were extremley friendly and helpful.
Tourism is everyones business on the Island.
Liked the place so much, went twice and planning to go again shortly.
People running the beach club were also very helpful and pleasent. If they didnt have what you wanted, they would try to endevour to get it for you.
All in all, splendid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrymore Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrymore Beach Club

Address: Runaway Bay | PO Box 1774, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Barrymore Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Barrymore Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrymore Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.