We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Beach Club to your Saves list
Coconut Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Spent 2 weeks there 24 Nov to 8 Dec 2010 via Virgin. Surpassed expectations. All staff were friendly, helpful and good humoured. Amazing food for an all-inclusive - a la carte in evening. Would do special requests even at breakfast. Cocktails included.
Only 38 rooms in hotel so quiet, especially as not all rooms occupied.
Guests had lovely beach to ourselves. If you want crowds and traditional beach vendors etc go to Dickenson Bay/Sandals.
Staff cleared and tidied beach and garden every day - even refreshed foot bath water on veranda.
Brochure said entertainment 3 nights per week but we only had a steel band for one night each week.
Great place for a quiet, relaxing and romantic break.
Easy access to St Johns via taxi. We preferred to use buses to get around but most people hired a car - very easy via hotel reception or Virgin rep.
And while you are in Antigua make sure you get in a visit to Montserrat! We sailed with OnDeck.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    278
    67
    37
    23
See reviews for
56
506
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This is our third visit to Coconut Beach Club, which we find is perfect for a relaxing break. They have made some changes since our last visit. Our opinion of the changes: Restaurant upstairs much cooler than the old restauant, although this also means that the food in the tureens is more difficult to keep hot. New bar area very convenient but could possibly do with more designated bar seating. New swimming pool nice but needs handrails (especially as a lot of the guests are of an age where this would be helpful). Also lacks designated poolside loungers. Wellness cottage was out of action but I understand this is being refurbished. In the meantime, treatments are done in the rooms.
Food is good but need to return to the live cooking station (egg lady) at breakfast. You can still get fried eggs, boiled eggs, omlettes, etc, by asking a member of staff but there is no notice that this faciity is available and scrambled eggs every day can be a bit boring. Also coffee and especially tea in thermos flasks does not stay hot - used to be tea bags, coffee, etc on the table and pots of hot water delivered as required - much better system.
Dinner was great, as always. I especially recommend the soups at lunch and dinner which were superb.
Finally, the staff are wonderful, extremely friendly and obliging, nothing is too much trouble. Already looking foward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

First of all the coconut beach club would not suit anyone wanting a loud holiday with plenty of entertainment and shops clubs and bars everywhere. However it would suit anyone who wants a get away from it all break on its own beach where you are not set upon by beach vendors or pestered by anyone. The location directly on Yepton beach is Idylic No other properties on Yepton Beach, a small amount of holiday homes at Piller Rock nearby and nothing else around but the caribbean sea and the beach.The beach is about 300 metres from end to end and apart from the guests from the 38 rooms at Coconut beach club no one else comes by so extremely peaceful. You will see the odd cruise ship come by very close to the beach as the navigation lane to St Johns runs very close by.
As you approach the coconut beach club via its pretty drive off a country lane from St Johns, you arrive at a very small reception area. we were quickly processed and handed a potent rum punch, the manager Renato then showed us to our room via the bar and TV room and restuarant, apart from the rooms the TV room and restuarant are the only buildings which constitute this hotel, and to be honest they are shelters rather than buildings. The rooms are in four blocks 3 storeys high We were in room 204B on the first floor. typical caribbean standard hotel room large bed fridge coffee machine kettle tea and coffee hairdryer clean and tidy bathroom and toilet air conditioning which worked although a bit noisy ceiling fan which was very quiet, nice balcony of wooden construction overlooking the beach and sea very nice views, yes of course you are in the caribbean expect lizards on the balcony along with the many yellow weavers birds that fly in the room and steal the suger sachets!!. The room was always kept extremely clean by very friendly house keepers.
The bar by the pool was staffed by some of the friendliest staff you will meet in the Caribbean, Jahilda, shenis shawna and of Course Cotten who if he read this would deny all knowledge of being there!!! he is great fun. The drinks were of good quality and plentiful. bar open 10am to 11pm however most nights we were last to leave at 1030PM as everyone else had gone to bed
The pool is new and looks like a laboratory testing tank. I believe they have made a big mistake with this it doesn't suit the setting.
The food, well breakfast is repetative either sausage with scrambled egg or bacon with scrambled egg, you can ask for fried poached eggs or omlette
Lunches were very varied and quite interesting, the only disappointment was the food was in heated containers which did not keep the food any warmer than luke warm
Dinners, whilst at breakfast guests have to sign in for the time they wanted dinner on a register not a problem. The A La Carte menus were varied and very good the food was always hot and served on hot plates we were there for two weeks and a different menu each evening fantastic plenty of unusual fish dishes using all types of fish meat dishes and pasta I was very impressed with the evening meals, some people indicated the portions were a bit small they were fine for me.
forgot to mention there is a beach towel issued which you can change as much as you want.
Antigua is an expensive island we visited most places hiring a car, the standard of car wasn't very good and after I complained an acceptable vehilce was delivered.
As far as the Coconut beach club goes it is very laid back very friendly the manager and his staff listen and act on your comments there is no attitude at this hotel and I would recommend it to any one who wants a quiet unhindered laid back holiday in Antigua with good food drinks and an enviable location.
A couple of things. The sea is a bit rough no good for snorkelers, it tends to be windy as is on a north facing coast the sun is always on the property side of the beach and as a result after 4pm can only be seen over the trees but that is it really you can walk via the Royal Antiguan hotel grounds to Deep bay which is not rough nor windy but still no good for snorkelers

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

A warm friendly welcome awaits. The Manager, Renato, personally escorted us to our room and showed us around.
The room was excellent, a good size, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.
All rooms have a private balcony AND a hammock. All of the rooms are sea facing and are only a stone's throw from the beach. Our room was on the ground floor with a spectacular view of the beach. There are plenty of sun loungers available and beach towels are supplied.

The food...wow! Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were excellent, with a varied selection, Dinner was more like 5 Star than 3.

The staff were all wonderful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They were all pretty good at mixing cocktails too!

We would definitely return

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We have never been to the Carribean so were a little apprehensive, no need to be. The complex is small and met our requirements. It is not 5 star but it is clean, comfortable, the food is good and the service is excellent. All the staff are friendly and everybody speaks to you. The Manager (Renato) goes out of his way to make sure you are enjoying yourself. We have just come back and Virgin did a great job getting us back only a couple of hours late (shame we wanted to stay) but the hotel said relax, enjoy yourselves and keep the room until you leave, so we did.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

The Coconut Beach Club has just been extensively refurbished and is not a true reflection on the description in brochures which we chose the holiday from, but saying that we still had an excellent time at the Club, The food on the whole was very good, breakfast was adequate for choice, evening meals were excellent with a good and varied choice and as someone who adores fish I was more than adequately treated every day. The rooms were kept very clean and tidy.All of the staff we felt could not do enough for you to make the holiday really relaxing.
As an all inclusive which was our first experience the choice of drinks were varied and were freely offered.The Club is right on the beach which was more or less exclusive to the guests.
The only small downside was, when we were at the Club there was no shop or Wellness Centre but I believe that is being dealt with.
I would thoroughly recommend the Extreme circumnavigation of Antigua, a fantastic day out sailing around the island on a catamaran named Excellence, the crew are absoluteley brilliant with drinks flowing all day, Cmon Captain Mango and the fabulous crew..
If you enjoy a relaxing hoilday, being well looked after, then we would thoroughly recommend The Coconut Beach Club

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

There had been a few 'teething troubles' before we arrived at this hotel as it had opened too early, but they were sorted out by the excellent young manager who came everyday to check for problems and that everyone was comfortable. The location was perfect for us - our room which was spacious was situated a few feet from the beach. The staff were nearly all very friendly and helpful. This hotel is quite isolated and you would need either to hire a car or book one of the many trips on offer to see the Island or walk to Five Island Village (15 minutes) and take a bus to St. Johns.
My main complaint was that the food was sometimes cold and the breakfasts were unimaginative. However the dinner menus were attractively served and delicious and the staff more than happy to put things right. Only once a week was there entertainment so it is a very quiet hotel but this suited us. All drinks were included and we made many friends around the bar area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#9 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.