We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Beach Club to your Saves list
Coconut Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Cocoonut Beach Club to celebrate our honeymoon and only have praise for this amazing hotel. The hotel is situated on a stunning private beach which was fantastic during the day and night.
The rooms are spacious and have the biggest bed we have ever seen, all rooms have their own private balcony complete with chairs and a hammock which we loved sittng in and watching the many boats cruise past. All rooms have a sea view and are cleaned every day along with the staff bringing you new towels each morning.
The pool area was brilliant there were always enough sun loungers to go around and a nice shady area for when it got too hot. The bar and lounge area was also brilliant and we often spent a few hours sipping the fabulous cocktails made by the legendary Zauda and chatting to everyone.
The all inclusive is the best deal, the food is amazing and myself and my husband have eaten the best food we have ever had, for dinner there is always a choice of 3 different starters, mains and deserts along with the daily specials. We loved all the fish dishes such as red snapper, mahi, and wahoo. The flavours in all the dishes are incredible and have to be tasted to believe how good they are.
Whilst we were in Antigua we visited the capital St Johns and used the shuttle bus provided by the hotel, this was a good way of exploring the capital and even though we only had 3 hours there in the heat it was enough to see the main sights and to do some shopping in the duty free area. We also booked ourselves on the jeep safari trip which was brilliant, the tour took us all over the island on roads and off road. Along with this we also booked a catamaran trip to the sister island of Barbuda which has to be seen to be believed, its an idyllic tropical paradise with 17 miles of pristine sand and sea. All of these trips can be booked through your tour rep (ours was virgin) or by the staff at the hotels tour desk.
Everyone is so friendly and willing to help in any way possible at the Coconut Beach club and we have praise for Zauda, Jahilda and Nicolai which all made our honeymoon so memorable.
All in all we had the best time ever and have already got next years brochure ready to book again!
I would strongly recommend this hotel to couples young or old who want rest, relaxation, brilliant food and drink and a fantastic time. Definatly worth every penny!!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    300
    80
    45
    24
See reviews for
63
553
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

The flight from St Martin to Antigua was short with a small propeller plane that made us a bit nervous. We went to the Transport Board at the airport and there was a fixed price of 20 USD from the airport to our hotel.

The smiling staff welcoming us to the Coconut Beach Club (hence CCB) and offering rum or fruit punch made us feel instantly happy and comfortable. Our room was cool and clean and did not look worn at all. We stayed on the first floor with the ocean only metres away from our small porch.

The CCB was brilliant in many was.

The best thing with breakfast was the lady making your eggs just the way you wanted them á la minute. Some days there were pancakes. There were always bagels, juice and great pineapple. Lunch was buffet style and so-so. They had wonderful creamed potatoes and all fish served was delicious but since they quickly ran out of it you had to hurry to have some.
They also had some great dessert and my favourite was the coconut pie.

Dinner was served á la carte with three options for starters, main courses and desserts. They also had the pasta of the day. The food was mostly good. Sometimes the staff seemed a bit disorganised and rushed. When we ordered a different wine from the one offered in the all-inclusive package it took them about 20 minutes to serve it and they seemed confused that we did not start our main course before we had it. Otherwise the service was brilliant and the staff friendly.

The bar was also great. We loved sitting there, listening to the ocean just outside, sipping our Piña coladas, talking and joking with other guests. Being honeymooners, we were particularly celebrated. The best bartender was a lady named Zauda Browne. She kept us happy by always singing, dancing and making us new wonderful drinks. Besides she was very quick and attentive. A young man named Nicolai was not so good. He had the bad habit of sometimes leaving the bar and being away for quite some time, leaving newly arrived guests to wait before they could have their soft drinks our cocktails.

The hotel had a small beach and we loved to go swimming. There was a lot of fish in the water. It was also wonderful to walk along the beach in the sunset.

The worst thing with the hotel was the drinking water. It tasted far too much like pool water for us. Admittedly we Swedes are spoiled with excellent tap water but we could not understand how the other guests could actually drink the water served. Thus we ordered bottled water. After one day the staff had the habit of fetching bottled water when we arrived for dinner, which was much appreciated. It was not that expensive either.

As for excursions we went on four of them. The first one was to St John. There is a shuttle from the hotel to St John that you can take which is the cheapest option. Since it only leaves in the morning and we missed it, we took a taxi which was about 3 USD more. St John was a great disappointment. It was very hot, crowded with a lot of noisy traffic. There was not that much to shop either, mostly souvenirs.

The second excursion was also the best. It was the circumnavigation. We had a brilliant day at sea getting a good look at the island, including for instance the Devil’s Bridge and Eric Clapton’s estate. On board they offered bear, soft drinks and rum punch. We do not believe in drinking at sea but those who did claimed that they made the rum punch very, very strong, so be careful if you are having that. Also wear a lot of sun screen and have some water too. We got to swim and sail some too. Captain Bob was a jolly chap and people were having a great time.

The third excursion was to the market and barbeque at the Shirley Heights, which also was a bit of a disappointment. We went there to see the sunset, but it was a cloudy day. Still we took some great pictures. Also the market place was quite small and very crowded.

The final excursion was a jeep safari around the island. We got to visit the Nelson’s Dockyard and the rainforest. It was a good tour, but bumpy, so don’t go there if you got a back problem. Also watch out because the seat belts were not that clean and stained our clothes.

All in all we would therefore mostly recommend the circumnavigation, but also the jeep safari. When booking these excursions there is a lady named Jennifer who is not that nice since she is very eager to sell excursions, saying things like “don’t you want your honeymoon to be memorable”. We wish to decide for ourselves what will make our particular honeymoon memorable.

Helena had a massage and a pedicure which was 100 USD in all. It was very relaxing in a hut by the sea and the lady was very good.

In sum we loved the CCB and we would very much like to go back there. We highly recommend it to honeymooners and people who are looking for some peaceful and quiet luxury.

As for Antigua, the island seemed more rural and a lot less commercial than St Martin. The communications were however not that great and the best way to travel seemed to be either by boat or taxi, unless you want to rent a car of course. Our hotel did not have that service though. Nelsons Dockyard was a good and beautiful place to see. When we go back, we intend to stay longer there than the jeep safari allowed.

We felt very safe and happy on Antigua – the land of sea and sun, and we are most definitely going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

The main point of the resort is it is for adults only and that was a real plus for me. It gave everybody the chance to relax and unwind which was great by me. After the bar shut at 23h00 the resort went into sleep mode. The construction of the room building was good as it damped out virtually all noise from other rooms.
The staff in general ws found to be somewhat surly and in-different at times but certain staff were absolutely outstanding and made you feel really welcome. Note Bernardette, Bonnie, Zouda and Steven are the absolute standouts on customer service.
The rooms are a reasonable size and kept clean (except maybe around the edges) and have enough furniture and storage space. All linen and towelling was spotless. I had read in previous reports that the towels were substandard but the resort must have changed them because they were fine - always clean and soft.
I was able to sleep with the sliding door part open and hear the waves breaking due to the nice touch of mosquito netting half covering the sliding door access. Sitting outside your bedroom on the patio was not particularly private but caused me no problem.
The decking round the pool and in fact most of the wood around the property was looking slightly neglected and in need of maintenance. The pool was always kept clean and a nice size for the hotel.
Breakfasts were good and plenty of food varieties available. The lunches were below standard with only salads and cooked food available. For me it would have been better to have a selection of breads, cold meats and cheeses available as well. The evening meal once you managed to get a table was to very good standard. It seemed that all the resort staff worked in the evening so service was good. The bar was always a buzz and the barstaff very generous with the drink measures which was great.
The beach was fine but watch the sand flies! The beach was carefully cleaned every morning and for me the shading and availability of sun beds was fine for me.
Somewhat surprising was the friendliness of a large percentage of the guests. I was on my own and found a warm friendliness from most and always had companionship at my evening meal.
Overall, even though some of the staff tried hard to please the guests and the resort was acceptable overall I doubt if I would want to go again

  • Liked — Peaceful and relaxing
  • Disliked — At times some of the staff were surly and indifferent
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

Had a holiday in May and had a really good time.

The hotel satff were very helpful and we met some lovely guests from America, England and Sweden.

The food was very good and we particularly enjoyed the local dishes. The room had good views and we had a relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

The Coconut Beach Club is, by and large, a good little all-inclusive resort, although I'm left with a couple of major reservations about it.

The resort facilities are well laid out, with the bar and two dining areas surrounding the central pool area and a quiet beach just beyond that, overlooked by the bar and 'day' dining area. Due to the aforementioned communal areas having an attractive open-sided (i.e. un-walled) beach hut look, the resort has an open, airy feel; you soon get used to small, colourful birds perching on the end of your dining table at breakfast/lunch!

The guest rooms are in a long 3-storey building running alongside the beach, all of about 30-seconds walk from the sea/bar/dining areas. Our 1st floor room was quite big, accommodating a kitchen, king bed, sofa and arm chairs, dining table, walk-in wardrobe and reasonable size bathroom, with large patio doors leading to a balcony (with hammock) overlooking the beach. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day, and although it showed a few signs of wear it was generally in good condition. That said, the air conditioning unit, ceiling fan and shower tended to be rather noisy/squeaky, and the room's safe was a bit temperamental (sometimes taking up to 10 attempts to open!), but overall it was a nice room.

The soft sandy beach was quite small but a good length for a leisurely stroll along. The parasols and sun loungers provided were much in demand, so if we wanted to secure a spot for a day of beach-dwelling we had to get out there by 10am at the latest! Although all beaches in Antigua are open to the public, we only ever saw resort guests and the occasional souvenir/excursion seller there (boat excursions usually leave from/return to the beach!). During the latter part of our week there, quite large (dinner plate size) jellyfish were a bit of a problem, with a fair few in the shallows and washing up on the beach; hotel staff assured us their sting was no worse than a nettle, but we were sure to watch out for them all the same!

Although the resort is small (50-ish guest rooms I'd say), this works to its advantage, as it has a peaceful, laid-back vibe, rarely feeling crowded (although the bar can fill-up at night). Be warned though: it's in a very isolated part of the island - nothing of interest is within easy walking distance. The capital St John's is only a 15-minute cab ride away though.

The staff are, for the most part, friendly, chatty and incredibly attentive, especially those in the restaurants - take a sip of your drink at breakfast/lunch/dinner and it gets refilled almost instantly! In fact the food and service in the restaurants was a definite highlight for me. Despite being a particularly fussy vegetarian, I never struggled to find anything to eat and there was usually plenty of it. There was always a veggie option on the lunch/dinner menu, and my daily omelette at breakfast became something of an addiction! We did notice a couple of shortcuts being taken towards the end of our stay (the Irish stew at lunch one day looked remarkably similar to the St Lucian hotpot served that night at dinner...), and my wife found that most meat dishes were usually on the spicy side, but when food is served in this quantity and in this friendly a manner you overlook any such qualms.

Despite these largely positive comments, my wife and I did experience one major problem with the resort which ruined our enjoyment of the first couple of days stay: we didn't get our room until 24 hours after we checked in! We'd travelled from the UK to Antigua for a week-long honeymoon, our reward to ourselves after a frantic, stressful and problematic year of wedding planning. I'd emailed the resort directly a week before we were due to arrive to confirm our booking and received a reassuringly prompt reply from their Reservations Manager confirming there were "holding accommodations" for us. On arrival at the resort we were therefore surprised and upset to be told by the very same Reservations Manager (who now denied knowledge of our email correspondence) that an error with our booking (blamed on both their staff and their "system" at different times) meant that our room was double-booked and would not be available until lunchtime the following day. Apparently this problem had come to light 2 days beforehand, yet this was the first we’d heard of it. As we had nowhere else to go at that late stage, the resort provided us with accommodation for that night in a small chalet at Yepton Cottages, a small development on the same estate but a full 5-minute walk away from the actual resort complex, down an unlit track. (Incidentally, the lake at Yepton Cottages backs onto the main 'guest room' building, and appears to be the source of some rather unpleasant odours that occasionally waft in the rooms at the Coconut resort.)

Knowing that we'd be moving rooms again the following day, we were unable to unpack, settle into our room and generally relax as expected/needed. We had to trek back and forth between the chalet and the resort for dinner and the following day's breakfast and lunch, as well as to use the hotel's beach, pool, bar, etc; facilities which we had paid a lot of money for easy access to. Without access to the usual resort information held in the guest rooms, we had to repeatedly return to Reception to ask about meal times, facilities and the like, only to receive information that wasn't always correct (e.g. we missed breakfast being served the next day as a result, although the restaurant staff were still kind enough to rustle us up a little grub). The fact that it rained torrentially at various points on our first 2 days there only made matters worse; we had to get accustomed to getting soaked through on our frequent journeys between the chalet and the resort.

We checked out of the chalet at Yepton Cottages just after 12 noon the following day (we'd been assured our room in the actual resort complex should be ready by around 1pm). Due to the aforementioned heavy rain and the fact that the resort is in the middle of nowhere, we had no choice but to seek shelter in the resort's communal bar area, without our luggage, unable to change our clothes, use the bathroom, and so on. We finally received the key to our room at 3pm, a full 24 hours after we’d first arrived.

In fairness to the resort’s Reception staff, in recognition of their error in mishandling of our booking they did offer us compensation of a sort: 2 free bottles of drinking water on arrival as well as a free massage in their spa. On our third day they also offered us a boat trip around the island for the following week, but unfortunately by that time we'd already booked the very same cruise through the resort's own excursions booking agent, and the Reception staff were apparently unable or unwilling to refund us for this and come good on their offer.

Having been looking forward to a relaxing honeymoon for many months, unfortunately we started it feeling disappointed, angry, upset, cheated and confused at how this double-booking could have happened to us (it appeared other couples who arrived the same day as us had no problem booking in). This could have so easily been the perfect ‘once in a lifetime’ honeymoon we'd been hoping for (the actual resort facilities and majority of the staff were great, and Antigua is a fun place), but that was not to be due to this upsetting and unfair start to our holiday, which really did taint the rest of our time there, leaving us feeling that we effectively lost one whole day of a honeymoon that was short enough to begin with. Needless to say, we are currently in the process of pursuing a claim for compensation through our booking agent.

As a result of these difficulties I'm afraid I'm unable to recommend the resort, despite it's many plus points.

  • Liked — The meals and restaurant staff
  • Disliked — The double-booking/unavailability of our room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaengwynfi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

This holiday and hotel was fantastic. This was our first visit to a
Carribean destination and we are hooked!! The hotel was outstanding,
everything you could ask for and more!! The rooms were clean, towels
changed every day and smelt clean!! What people have said about them not
looking clean is wrong, they could have choosen a nicer colour but who
really cares about that when they are CLEAN!!!!

The staff at this hotel were out of this world, they really made the
holiday, Sonia at breakfast was such a lovely lady who really brightened
the place up and made beautiful omlettes!! Just one note, don't take you
own dishes back cause Bernadette will give you a row because its her job.

Zauda was incredible, she was determined to get my husband drunk all
holiday so I could have the upper hand with him. She was a scream!! Also
Nik was a gentleman!!

All the girls and Clifton in the evening were amazing, honestly the
staff there make the holiday so memorable!! I am a fussy eater but I put
weight on while on this holiday because the choice of food was
brilliant, something for every taste bud!!

Last but not least, you have got to have a taxi ride with Sonny, he is
an amazing gentleman who I would have loved to bring home with me!! He
told us things about the island that the organised tours don't.

Well we have been home one day and are already planning our return
holiday!!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south of england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

Have just returned from Coconut Beach Club today and am missing the place already. We found all the staff were very friendly and fun apart from one surly young girl who kept snorting all the time, which was not very pleasant when having a drink or eating breakfast. As for the hotel itself ,it was great and whoever complained about the colour of the bath towels must need their eyes testing they were whiter than white not that we cared so long as they were clean, bathroom could have had a little bit of updating and cleaned better but nothing to make a big deal over.
The only downside was very little seating or entertainment in the bar area at night but we had been warned about this so again not too much problem and the manager told us he was addressing this as other guests had told him the same. But as its such a small hotel you soon get chatting to the other guests . All in all a wonderful holiday and would certainly recommend it to people who just want to relax.

  • Liked — Wonderful staff and food
  • Disliked — Not very much entertainment in the evening
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.