We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Beach Club to your Saves list
Coconut Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A truly special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a wonderful hotel right on a lovely beach. Yes it could do with a lick of paint but it's a very well maintained and very clean hotel with excellent staff all the way down the line. You are instantly made to feel welcome and feel perfectly at ease. It's the first time we have ever gone 'all inclusive' and we had concerns about the food but because it's such a small intimate hotel the food was excellent as were the rum punches! When we received some terrible news from back home and needed to leave early the staff couldn't have been more helpful or supportive and I am exceptionally grateful to the warmth and sympathy from the hotel and fellow guests. This is a little piece of paradise and I highly recommend it for it's friendliness and comfort and for the great bird life in the gardens and sea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    300
    80
    45
    24
See reviews for
63
553
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Coconut beach for three weeks from 9th to 31st of November

This was our twelfth holiday in the Caribbean and having travelled the world extensively staying in budget and five star hotels we were aware this was a budget hotel

The positive points

Transfer time is only twenty minutes

The hotel is situated in an ideal location our room was fifteen steps to the sea

The air con in the room was excellent

The negative points

No bottled water in the room this had to be purchased from the onsite shop although this could then be re-filled at the bar free of charge it became a chore each day to ensure the water bottle was filled

Regarding the restaurant this was far too small and cramped the only ones that ate well were the birds which were the worst we have ever encountered and there seems to be no effort made to deter them from feasting on unattended food.

The standard of food was deplorable there was no fear of contracting food poisoning from the sausages at breakfast which were undercooked as they contained 99% bread

There was no egg station which you will always find no matter where you visit, however you could request a fried egg to be cooked fresh, we attempted this and encountered a fifteen minute wait to be served two rubber eggs this was on two separate occasions.

The scrambled egg was a packet mix

The food at lunch time was basically the left overs from the night / day before the lack of basic fresh salad was evident every meal time, in the Caribbean you come to expect chicken, pork and rice and peas at lunch time not turkey korma which was served

At four o’clock afternoon tea is served in the bar area the problem is if you were attempt to obtain a sandwich at ten past four you were to late as it had all been consumed and is was not replenished

The evening meal was “fine dining” whilst the presentation was acceptable the standard of the food was not, basically it consisted of poor quality food disguised with poor quality sauce, the alternative to this was to order steak or lobster at a cost of $25 each, we paid the extra on the third night for the steak whilst the steak was acceptable the only accompaniment was “McDonalds” fries

Eventually after a few nights we did not eat this “fine dining” and as the cost would have been $50 a night for the steak we went without


The cleanliness of this hotel leaves a lot to be desired, in the three weeks we stayed our decking outside the room was not swept, the patio window was not cleaned.

This lack of hygiene also continued throughout the whole hotel which included a dirty pink tablecloth which was used for drying glasses at the bar which was kept in cupboard throughout our stay and never changed, this was used extensively as there was an acute shortage of glasses, the bar staff having an injured humming bird in a box, stroking and feeding it then serving drinks!!!

The configuration of the bar being a square is not condusive for conversation and also when smoking has been banned in the UK, USA & Canada in public places for some years now and whilst seated at a bar for some years before that do all nationalities persist in smoking whilst seated at this bar???

The staff seemed more concerned with chatting to their fellow staff members than serving guests this was particularly prevalent during the day at the bar when you could wait for ten minutes for someone to appear from the kitchen where they had been chatting, I resorted to refilling my own water bottle from the mixer gun which was filthy, sticky and a hygiene risk.

The drinks themselves were all non-premium drinks all locally produced which we found to be really inexpensive when we visited a supermarket, the local rum, gin, vodka, etc could be bought for around £8 for 1.5 litres and these were the same drinks being served at the hotel bar

Regarding the pool, what a complete white elephant, the most people that used it at anyone time would have been five and these were those from the cruise ships that had paid for a $50 day pass, it was if it had been dropped a space that was available with no afterthought for sun beds to be placed around it

The beach whilst being only steps from the room was unusable for fifteen of the twenty one days we stayed unless you wanted to get swamped by the waves every few minutes.

When it could be used large amounts of rubbish were often washed up on the beach and while the hotel management deployed a member of staff to clean up the waste a large number of guests joined in with this task which resulted in the member of staff leaning on his rake watching them!!

The mosquitoes are without doubt the most fearsome we have ever encountered, although the grounds are “fogged” allegedly every couple of days this did not deter them, unless you sprayed up after dusk you would get bitten

The free Wi-Fi which was available in the bar / restaurant area was very hit and miss particularly in the morning, in room Wi-Fi could be purchased at $10 a day which is very extortionate, this would add an extra $210 (£127) to the cost of our holiday

If you were to venture out of the hotel it was so isolated the only form of transport were taxis which were very expensive, a ten minute trip to St.Johns would be $30 for the round trip for the car not per person

The hotel could arrange for a taxi for only $10 each round trip but this required four people to book this or it would not run, so $30 for four persons in a taxi or let the hotel arrange one and it costs $40 do the maths!!!

if you want to book a trip do not use the Virgin rep, use Frenchie you will see him every morning, his trips are far cheaper and perfectly reliable, we used him for a private day tour around the island in a 4x4 and also for a trip to the races.

As for St. John’s this is a typical Caribbean city although with the massive amount of revenue generated from virtually daily cruise ships docking with around 2,000 people on board bringing a sizable revenue to the island we felt it could have been smartened up somewhat.

To basically summarise the Coconut Beach IS a budget hotel however it is run on a shoestring for maximum profit when you consider this holiday cost £5,000 a far more satisfying holiday experience was expected

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile


I recently got married at this hotel although we stayed another, which was a first for them but they orchestrated everything wonderfully for us! The site is beautiful! They coordinated everything for us once we arrived so I had nothing to worry about other than arrive and walk down the beach! Everything was reasonably priced and even with add ons we spent less and got better service than cocobay resort would have offered! Thanks so much to coconut beach!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Absolute relaxation such a cool little hotel the staff are brilliant and very very friendly from front line to back room. It's not Sandles but This hotel would be spoilt by all that false glitz. Yes the place is tired but that is part of its charm, we found everything was clean the food was great, close to fine dinning and there was a good variety. We enjoyed this place and we will be back this year.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, United States
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We bought the day pass for $50 which included lounge chairs, towels, all beverages, and a buffet lunch.

The property is a bit run down but it served our needs quite well, we moved the lounges to a quiet part of the beach and just relaxed. The pool was wonderful also, and lunch was surprisingly good.

The most negative issue is that the cove is a haven for the island's trash, this is where it all makes landfall! They need to have staff clean the beach regularly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Initially I was hesitant to go to Antigua as I thought there was not a lot to explore. I also wasn't excited about this value resort. I was happy to be proven wrong!!!
The resort itself is a little dated, but everything was clean and we had everything we needed. There was a bit of a mix up with the room but the manager set things right. In any case, we were shown to a room immediately upon arrival.

There was never a problem getting a beach towel, or a lounge chair on the beach. It is quite a large beach for the size of the resort. We took a kayak out one day and on another walked to a nearby beach where the water was calmer. We did not encounter jellyfish in the water or debris on the beach while we were there. We did, however, meet the mosquitos and sandflies. Thanks to some suggestions from a previous poster we went well prepared. The evenings are quite cool so long pants or skirts help and a little bug spray on the ankles went a long way. We didn't have problems with insects during the day at all. We did spend five minutes each night before bed looking for and killing any mosquitos in the room. They were usually on the ceiling.


As stated in earlier reviews, the food is excellent. The buffets had more than enough to choose from, and the food was very tasty. There was a good selection of fruit at breakfast, and fruit and salads at lunch. The hot food was tasty. There was often something being grilled at lunch which was a treat.

Dinner is outstanding. We felt like we had 5 anniversary dinners in our five night stay. I wish I had time to try every offering. On our last evening we met the chef and he took the time to tell us about his training and history. It was much appreciated. The house wine was fine. The sparkling wine was French and surprisingly dry and delicious.


Each member of the staff went out of their way to be helpful and ensure we were having a great time. Renee is so cheerful it is contagious and Karl certainly made you feel secure.

The one and only suggestion I would have for management would be to try to find a way to seal the sliding doors in the room as the gap in ours seemed to be the source of mosquitos.


We spent a day exploring the island, a day out on a charter and the other 3 on the resort. It was exactly what we needed. We actually were totally relaxed by the time we left. The other guests were friendly and there was always someone to chat with around the bar. The sound of the ocean waves were constant which was fabulous.

While I would usually prefer to go somewhere I've never been for our next trip, I suspect we will be back.

Room Tip: The ground floor was perfect for just being able to walk out of the room and onto the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in Dec '13 and had a great time. First time on Antigua, a beautiful island and CBC is paradise personified, palm trees, blue sea and white sand, very quiet, less than 40 rooms, so easy to talk to everyone.
Pros: staff are great, Renee, Jahilda, and Cotton, the food is excellent, quality and presentation.
Beach is empty, grounds are very well kept, our Virgin rep was great, superb day out on the Excellence Cat.
Cons: rooms are a little tired, fairly standard for the Caribbean, cleaning of the rooms could be better. No egg chef in the morning. Pool is good but could be bigger. Isolated position and taxis are v expensive on the island.
All in all, great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.