We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility on a lovely beach on a perfect caribbean island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Beach Club to your Saves list
Coconut Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility on a lovely beach on a perfect caribbean island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I suppose that my memories of Coconut Beach are all the more poignant as I have just come in, back in Derbyshire, from 3c.whereas last week was 30c. I was last in Antigua 30 years ago, I loved it then and I loved my most recent visit. Coconut Beach Club is a bit special, just 38 rooms fronting a lovely and sheltered curving beach bordered by palm trees and leading to beautiful clear sea. The whole atmosphere is relaxed and informal with the simple and perfectly reasonable request that men wear collared shirts and long trousers for dinner. Having mentioned Dinner - the food at Coconut Beach is 4*, varied, nourishing and tasty and, at dinner, particularly well presented. Be warned, it is very easy to overeat! The dining room is simple but perfect for the tropics and within a few feet of the Bar and Terrace. Coconut Beach is 3* but its staff are 5*, lovely, friendly, caring and great fun. I can pay them no greater compliment than to say that it would be unfair to pick anyone out for special mention, nothing is too much trouble, I miss them.
The hotel grounds are well tended and lush. The rooms are fine if a little dated. Each has, at ground floor, a terrace or a veranda at first or second floor levels, each with a hammock and a couple of comfortable chairs, lovely places to be, to look at or to just listen to the sea. The whole place is just great and I would go back tomorrow with no hesitation. The island of Antigua is known for its beautiful beaches, 365 in total! Do see as much as you can - can I plug two full day trips. The Treasure Island Cruises circumnavigation of the island is memorable in so many ways, from the tiny island swimming or snorkelling, to sailing into English Harbour, a great and fun crew. The other is the Jeep Safari, an opportunity to see so many of the islands beautiful features during a fascinating glimpse of its past and present, don't miss Devils Bridge and Shirley Heights.

Room Tip: No need, they all overlook the beach and sea - perfectly positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    278
    67
    37
    23
See reviews for
56
506
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Martin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. We were in the spacious room at last floor, with sea view.
Service was good.
All inclusive formula.
Very quiet, with tropical garden.
No wifi in the rooms, only common parts, too bad.
Food was good.
Good animation

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just back from two weeks at this hotel and for once can honestly say I would definately go back one day. I was not sure what to expect having never been to such a small hotel before but having now experienced same I can only say how wonderful it is. With no TVs in the rooms the only thing to do in the evening (other than plenty of early nights) is to sit in the bar and chat! Staff were on the whole brilliant can could not fault any of the evening staff in the restaurant. Some of the breakfast staff could certainly take a tip or two from the evening brigade and learn how to smile a bit!

Food was lovely for what they offered although don't get fooled by the eating a la carte. It is a basic table d'hote menu with two choices plus veggie option along with a special "pasta" every night. What they did do though they did amazingly well.

Sea was perfect for us although there were a lot of jelly fish on the odd day. On a good dat there were only one or two. Although the beaches are all public in Antigua they are all pretty difficult to get to and this one was no exception. Good thing was that there were no hawkers going up and down the beach all day trying to sell you things. Loungers all looked as if they were 10+ years old and really could do with replacing although they were perfectly comfortable.

We took one of the Junior Suites and had no issues with the room at all. Clean and comfy all round!!

All in all a great vacation and as mentioned at the begining we will almost certainly return one day. I reckon that a good 40% of people I spoke to there had been to the hotel at least once before their current visit. This speaks volumes for the place.

Oh and did I mention they don't take kids? Bliss!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanford le hope
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

just returned from coconut beach and its a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of this place,the birdlife is great having the added bonus of a lake on your doorstep,the sea is warm the beach is great never busy,our room was superb with great views,and the food in the hotel is superb,dont forget to take a snorkel and please don't take a fishing rod this hotel has fish on the menu every day no need to catch fish its a pleasure for most people just to watch them in there natural environment,the staff are brilliant my only complaint would be the litter in the ocean and surrounding areas outside the hotel as the island is beautiful and needs to sort this problem,cant say enough good things about this holiday,thanks coconut beach see you again one day xx

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having had a pretty horrendous experience in Greece in August (Red Tower Hotel, Lefkas, if you are wondering) it was lovely to be reminded of what a small, relatively cheap hotel can achieve when its staff care about what they are doing.
One doesn't expect luxury from a hotel like this but with food, for example, you do expect some care, some love, fresh ingredients etc. you do expect the hotel to take some pride in its appearance, you expect the hotel management to participate in the concept that their guests are paying them handsomely to be there, unlike Thomson Holidays and aforementioned hotel in
Greece.

The hotel is a lovely spot, great staff, clean, bit tired in places yes, but that's not a bar to enjoyment. What tends to happen in "budget" hotels is that the whole edifice of the place degenerates into an attitude that the customer doesn't deserve much and shouldn't expect it. Well not here and the idea of value for money is fully realised. Well done all. My son and I enjoyed it greatly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is perfect for couples like us, who want a small, simple hotel with excellent service. If you want night life and entertainment, book something else. If you want to relax, chill out and enjoy beautiful beaches, warm sea, lovely food and cocktails, this is for you.

The hotel rooms are a bit tired but immaculately clean, and situated right on the beach.
The Staff are just wonderful, they are the best we have encountered, they cannot do enough for you, they really are a credit to the hotel and the management.

We loved it and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A great little hotel only 38 rooms so you all get to know each other. The hotel is right on the beach, which can be a little choppy sometimes, but just walk through the hotel next door and you will find a fantastic little bay,beautiful in all ways.
We met some great people especially Susan and Simon,who we spent a great day out on a tour of the island. All in all a great holiday and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#9 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.