We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personality Plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Catamaran Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Catamaran Hotel to your Saves list
The Catamaran Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Personality Plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

This is a lovely small hotel in a quiet harbor. The staff were wonderful with our children (ages 12 to 17) and were very helpful wih any requests to help find restaurants, shops, and tours. It was absolutely perfect for our needs as we prefer to meet local people and their culture and don't care for large resorts. We felt as though we were saying goodbye to our family when we left and had to promise to come back soon!

  • Liked — Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

The Catamaran Hotel is a small family-owned hotel located in Falmouth Harbor. It is about a 5 minute drive, or 20 minute walk from English Harbor, the hub of activity on that side of the island.

We stayed at the hotel for several days in mid-April while our sailboat was undergoing some repairs at the local marina. The staff could not be more friendly or welcoming - front desk as well as housekeeping. We stayed in both an "Oceanfront" as well as "Beachfront" room. The 2nd floor Oceanfront rooms are slightly more spacious than the Beachfront rooms and have nice balconies with views of the harbor. The 1st floor rooms are slightly smaller but equally comfortable. The beach in front of the hotel is small but clean. There is also a very small pool. We chose to drive to other larger beaches on the island, but for a day or two of just relaxing the beach by the hotel is perfectly adquate.

Rooms were clean, bathrooms small but adequate. Bath towels were a bit worn, but the beach towels were thick and wonderful. The rooms have small kitchenettes which are nice and well enough equipped for preparing a small breakfast or lunches for the beach. We actually had a bbq using a grill provided by the hotel and prepared side dishes in our ktichenettes before having a cocktail hour and dinner by the pool.

If you're less ambitious, nearby is Ricarts, a restaurant owned by a french couple and not related to the hotel. It is typical "island service" - translation SLOW and fair value, but if you're not in a hurry and want to take advantage of free WIFI, it's an OK place to grab breakfast or dinner. Good fresh seafood. Over in English Harbor there are LOTS of options. We liked Mad Mongoose, Life, Le Cap Horn (pricey but GOOD) and don't miss the espresso martinis at Skullduggery. To eat where the locals eat - good inexpensive rotis - try Grace Before Meals. Also the jump up in Shirley Heights on Sundays is good fun.

We'd recommend this hotel to people looking for a quiet and relatively inexpensive hotel in Antigua a bit "away from it all."

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Catamaran Club Hotel in Falmouth Harbor on the island of Antigua. It is located on the harbor with a nice beach. The hotel has available free kayaks and small sailboats. There is a nice pool. The personnel were very friendly and helpful. They even had a free afternoon barbecue for all of the guests.

On the downside--there is only one restaurant within walking distance and it was very expensive. We stayed in a studio apt. Twice within two days we had no cold running water for long periods of time (8 hrs.) had to flush the toilet with hot water from the shower in a cooking pot. The television set was mounted up high on the wall so that the only comfortable way to watch it was to lie in bed crossways. If we should ever return to Antigua we would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

we had a fantastic stay,so much so that we are going back in march, the rooms are a good size and clean, if not a little basic.
this hotel is great for those looking to explore the island,right next to a marina and restaurant serving great french/european food. very short walk to the supermarket, and 5 mins drive to a large choice of restarants and bars. the hotel has its own small private beach and pool.all the staff are very friendly.the hotel does not have all the faciliy's of the big brand name hotels, but if you want a nice quite break away from it all, but still in easy access to everything.we cant wait to get back

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

My wife and I had planned to stay at the Catamaran for 4 nights on our honeymoon, but after the first night we left and went to an all inclusive. Being young people (21 and 22), we were looking for a relaxing place that offered a few activities. I thought that was what we would find. We were disappointed that there was only one "resteraunt" with in walking distance. I hesitate to call it a resteraunt because it offered 6 different dishes that were all either burgers or hot dogs. I really wasn't looking foreward to having hot dogs 3 meals a day. The pamphlets we recieved for the hotel claimed they had all kinds of activities. Come to find out, they only had 1 working canoe oar for the 3 canoes and 2 broken paddle boats. It was a nice little place if you plan to just sit. The staff was wonderful and helped us find another hotel for the remainder of our stay. IF YOU WANT TO ENJOY A STAY HERE RENT A CAR!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2005

We stayed at Catamaran Hotel from 15th Feb for 2 weeks and had the most wonderful time. The Hotel is right on a small beach with lovely views. The staff are very friendly and they and the owner Feona can't do enough for you. The Hotel is very comfortable and clean. It is close to restaurants, shops etc and is definetely in the best part of the island. Having hired a vehicle for a week we know that we were in the best place to stay. They also have kayaks and sunsails for guest use. The kayaks were very popular with members of our family and we had great fun paddling across the harbour to other small beaches. Feona's complimentary Tuesday barbecue lunch is also not to be missed. Tasty barbecued chicken and fish with lots of side dishes and drinks. The restaurant nearby was also great for breakfast and snacks or dinner etc or good to just hang out for a drink. The personal service we received was really good and the cost of staying there was not expensive. We would stay here again if we return to Antigua, we wish we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2005

Well our initial plans were to stay at The Catamaran Hotel for 3 nights. That turned into a week, then flowed into 2 weeks and then into 3 wonderful weeks. One of the first things the Hotel Manager said to me was that they treat their guests like family. Well that certainly was the case. We thoroughly enjoyed Antigua. The location of our hotel is definitely located in the best part of the island, close to fabulous restaurants and beaches. We recommend renting a car from Bigs Rental and explore the island. Both my husband and I said we could have easily stayed another week. We can't say enough about the island and the people. Also something worth noting, we looked into the other hotels/resorts on the island and knew we definitely made the right choice.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Catamaran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catamaran Hotel

Address: Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Catamaran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your The Catamaran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catamaran Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Catamaran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.