We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Catamaran Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Catamaran Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Catamaran Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Greetham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We loved this little hotel right on the beach. If you are looking for a resort atmosphere with facilities, restaurants, activities and anonymous glossy bedrooms, go elsewhere.

However if you are looking for warm Caribbean hospitality, spacious, spotlessly clean, comfortable bedrooms with kitchens, a beach yards from your bedroom and a fabulous location, you will love the Catamaran Hotel. The only problem was the erratic hot water, which we usually managed to get eventually when we wanted a shower. However our plumbing issue was sorted quickly by the management, which improved matters.

Apart from that, this hotel was perfect and we would definitley go back! We loved eating breakfast on our private terrace, watching the birds beg bits of melon. We loved sitting on the tiny private beach, watching the gorgeous boats sail in and out of the marina. We loved searching out provisions in the local supermarket (it was not like Sainsburys!) to make our own breakfasts and snacks. We loved listening to the tree frogs while sipping home made rum punches on our own terrace. We loved Feona's helpful advice and constant presence in reception, a font of all knowledge, whatever we were planning to do.

This hotel epitomised all that is good about the Caribbean, friendly, small, comfortable, laid back and very local. You could not have been anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't let the unassuming drive in fool you - this place is fantastic! Charming rooms (all of which have a fabulous view of Falmouth Harbor), the Catamaran is simply terrific. Scrupulously clean, it is a relaxing haven minutes away from classic English Harbor and its excellent restaurants. The staff is exceptionally friendly and Cambusa, the affiliated restaurant, is really great. We barbecued on the beach, enjoyed Shirley Heights, visited the island (def rent a car). This location is NOT for the resort/all-inclusive crowd. This IS for those who want beach-side comfort and leisure in a relaxing and welcoming setting.

Room Tip: Antigua is a small Caribbean country - its not Disney. Keep an open mind and you will enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorks, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A wonderful warm welcome on arrival & exceptional hospitality throughout the whole of my stay. The owner, lovely Feona & Family, Eric, Robert & all the team went out of their way to ensure I had an enjoyable stay at the Catamaran. Nothing was too much trouble and everything came with a friendly smile! My room was spacious, very clean & tidy, having everything one needed including a fridge. The room was cleaned & the beach & gardens were tended to every day. The view from my room was stunning & I could step straight out from my verandah onto the beautiful beach with sun beds provided, it was paradise! The restaurant was closed during my stay but Sweet T's ice cream parlour & snack bar, 2 minutes up the road, served very tasty dishes with Bailey's supermarket next door to there selling everthing one needs. The Catamaran is also a good location for getting around the Island. Feona was wonderful & organised any transport needed from happily obliging Eric & taxis, but there is also a bus service which operates clean mini type buses at cheap prices & the bus stop is almost outside the hotel. English Harbour is a only short bus / taxi ride away & whilst there Trappas Bar & Restaurant is a great place to eat, although it's best to book. My second week on the island was at an expensive all inclusive hotel, where my Son was getting married & although very nice, the service & hospitality just didn't compare with the Catamaran. Feona Is an amazing lady & along with her team, it's their warmth & willingness to please that makes this hotel so very special.I will certainly choose the Catamaran again when returning to Antigua.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We identified this hotel as the place to spend some few nights after returning “on shore” from a yachting vacation, and we were happy with the choice in all respects.

“Old” classic style (which we like). Not newly renovated but clean and pleasant. Antigua is not cheap (no reason it should be), and in this context the rates at The Catamaran are fair indeed.
We had a beautiful view from the (superior) room.
Nice little beach with sun beds, kayaks and dinghies for the guests. The pool is small but a delight.
The hotel does not have any restaurant bar, but it is walking distance from a nice Italian restaurant, from a local taka-away, and from a well stocked supermarket [I would perhaps still recommend the management to keep some bottles of drinking water and other “necessities” for sales to its guests].
It is only a short/inexpensive taxi ride from English Harbor with its numerous restaurants, shops etc.
The most impressive with The Catamaran is the outstanding helpfulness and flexibility of the lady owners/managers. They are happy to answer ANY question (and if they don’t know the answer, they will phone around till they have one), and they will assist with ANYTHING you might require.
We had a late flight to Europe and requested to keep the room till 8PM (instead of noon). No problem at all (at zero charge).
As the electricity disappeared for some minutes during lunch (we didn’t even notice) the staff ran around with a wine cooler with a bottle of wine for every room.
Some 5 star hotels I have visited could learn something from these ladies.

Room Tip: PS I: For the personal service I recommend to book DIRECTLY via email (and pose any question, reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just had a week's stay at this charming place. It is quiet, relaxed and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned and there is nothing nicer than to sit on the verandah with a glass of wine at sunset. This charming colonial-style property is literally on the beach and within a 2 minute walk of Cambusa, a very good Italian restaurant and the marina.This is NOT a five star, all inclusive hotel, but this is a place that allows you to feel instantly at home. There are little things that aren't perfect about the place but considering its excellent quiet location, quaint style and great staff, this place is extremely good value for money on many levels and we would happily return.

Room Tip: loved being in the beach front, but everyroom at this hotel has a great view and is steps from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonab, Owner at The Catamaran Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for positive remarks and kind words and for choosing The Catamaran Hotel and we are happy hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure ensuring that you stay was filled with relaxation and comfort.

We do hope you visit again soon.

Do stay connected with us.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First off this is not a 5 star luxury hotel and the pool is smaller than Sandals but if you want to avoid the crowds and the kind of plastic hospitality-school welcomes offered by many “top” hotel, this is the place. You will receive a truly warm welcome, from the entire team, who will go out of their way to help with anything you need.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and immaculately serviced every day.

All the staff, lead by their incomparable boss Fiona, are truly helpful and the chap who grooms the beach each morning will also climb up and get you a fresh coconut from a beach side palm.

The beach is small but with only 14 rooms in the hotel it is never crowded, it is also kept very clean and there are kayaks and sailing boats free to use.

Unless you want to totally chill you will need a car for trips around the island and to visit the bars and restaurants at the English harbour, but there is a breakfast to dinner restaurant, a good little grocery store and a roadside ice cream parlour that sells fastfood and cold beer all within 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ocean front at this hotel means just that, but there is still a 2 metre trudge to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonab, Owner at The Catamaran Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Catamaran Hotel. Our goal at Catamaran is to ensure that each guest is treated like you are the only ones staying with us. Every experience and stay with us is personalize.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sun and sea wishes from The Catamaran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a part of real Antigua and was a return visit after 6 years. Little has changed thankfully. The Catamaran enjoys a beautiful setting on the calm waters of Falmouth Harbour, close to south coast attractions of Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour and Pigeon Beach: hiring a car is almost essential. Available is sailing and kayaking right on the sandy beach in front though cloudy water means little snorkelling. Groceries and restaurants (including the modestly named Cambusa right on the waterfront) are close by. Feona runs a good ship at the Catamaran, even apologising for the mosquitoes about which one can hardly grumble (but I do recommend keeping the screen door closed as much as possible) and she looked after us on our last day with a late departure beautifully.

Room Tip: The first floor has higher ocean views but the ground floor leads from the verandah straight onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonab, Owner at The Catamaran Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Our team here at Catamaran Hotel thanks you taking time to write this positive review. We are always ready to ensure that your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing and exotic. We want you think Catamaran as your exotic home away from home when staying with us.

We do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Catamaran Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Catamaran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catamaran Hotel

Also Known As:
The Catamaran Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish
Address: Falmouth Harbour, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Catamaran Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your The Catamaran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Catamaran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.