We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antigua Village to your Saves list
Antigua Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Beautiful and relaxing resort at the amazing Dickinson bay. We exchanged through RCI. We had a studio. Everything in room was great. Nice sized balcony with ocean view. Beware of mosquitoes and spray yourself with Off if you don't want to get bit. The bed was a bit on the harder side and wasn't very comfortable. There is a managers Rum punch party every Monday. There are not a lot of activities itself at the resort. So if you are looking for night life then I suggest opting the neighboring Sandals. There are two restaurants withing 2 minutes walk. Coconut grove and Pepperz'n'Lime. Food was good. We also went in town and ate at roti king, a local cuisine food place serving a fresh made chicken or beef of conch curry wrapped in a freshly made tortilla.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    60
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
50
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently returned from a week at Antigua Village using an RCI exchange. We enjoyed the small resort atmosphere. We found our studio accommodations very comfortable and conveniently located to the beach and only steps from the pool. We found the units a little outdated, but adequate. We had issues with water pressure and not getting hot water on the first day, but both were quickly restored when we reported the problems. We were met at the airport by Roger, a local taxi driver who was very accommodating on our day of arrival as he took us to a local market to purchase food and snacks for the week. He was very accessible all week when we needed a ride or tour of the island. The RCI representatives were on site and very helpful to book tours and gave us great suggestions and information. The resort does not have a spa, but there is one located a short walk from the resort at a neighboring resort. However, we chose to have our massage treatments in our own room with local Massage Therapist, Barbara Bishop. She is a delightful lady who is absolutely fabulous at what she does. The RCI on site office can make reservations with her. Our visit was during the off season for Antigua, so many of the local restaurants and businesses were closed. Only one open restaurant is within walking distance. We found most things to be more expensive than other islands, but we know that tourism is the main source of income for the people who live there. Everyone was friendly and we felt safe the entire time. If relaxation is your primary goal, this is the perfect place. The island is small and most of the sightseeing can be accomplished in 2-3 days. It was a great little spot to become a beach bum or just lie under a shade tree!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Esther, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We just finished a 9 day stay at Antigua Village resort located in beautiful Dickinson Bay. We exchanged through RCI and were able to add on two additional days. We loved that Antigua Village is a smaller time share resort and that all units have less than a minute walk to the beach. One of the best things about the resort is the lovely white beach with warm, turquoise blue waters -- this is where we spent almost all of our time! So easy to run to the room to get drink refills, grab lunch, etc and be back on the beach! We also met so many wonderful people on the beach who were staying at Antigua Village. The gardens were lovely and well maintained. We had a large studio unit which had a queen size bed, love seat, two chairs, and a small dining room table w/ chairs. The kitchen has a full size fridge, stove, oven, microwave, and plenty of accessories. The balcony was large. Rooms are basic decor, no granite, marble, etc, but very clean. Antigua Village also has privately owned units available for rent which have different decors and updates. We had a strong wifi signal. We had two maintenance requests, and both were resolved in less than an hour. Staff was wonderful and friendly -- Andrea, Candace, and Mr. Stephens in particular made our vacation special! Taxi ride from the airport was $16. We were there in Sept, the low season, so many restaurants were closed for the month. There are 4-5 restaurants in easy walking distance. Sandals resort shares the beach, and sometime music at night can get loud. Most evenings the music was turned off by 10:30 and we could barely hear it with the A/C & fan running. One evening their was loud music until 1:00am and it was necessary to put in ear plugs. This was the only negative we experienced all week. Too bad Sandals is not a better neighbor! There were local people selling trinkets and catamaran cruises on the beach, but once you told them no, they left you alone. We did Miguel's excursion to Prickly Pear Island and enjoyed it. Everyone RAVED about the circumnavigation sail thru Wadaldi Cats while we were there (recommend booking thru Andrea or Candy vs random guys on the beach). We plan to do that excursion on our next visit to Antigua Village!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 day stay at Antigua Village. We used our RCI exchange at this location and were pleased with our accomodations. As others have said, each room is different and probably vary in comfort and decor. Great view of the ocean from our upstairs balcony. Free Wi-Fi was a nice bonus. The staff was exceptionally helpful. We love to walk and were disapointed there was no place to go within a few blocks. Taxis are expensive; next time we will consider renting a car. Please note that this resort is close to "Sandals" and the music is loud in certain areas of Antigua Village.

We plan to go back to Antgua Village in 2015.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Antigua Village. The staff was very nice, the grounds were clean and well maintained. The room decor was a bit dated but who wants to spend time in their room when you're in the Caribbean! We enjoyed the location, close to St. John's and a good spot to start our adventures.

Rent a car if you can stand driving on the wrong side of the road, the island has a lot to offer!

Tip: try La Bussola just down the road, it's a hidden gem! Look for the small white sign.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a studio apartment.Fully equipped kitchen with oven for baking if you wanted to. So equipped was this unit that we were able to invite friends over so I cooked and had a breakfast party for about 8 persons. Swimming pool is steps from my room and ocean a few feet away. Place is clean and gardens well kept. Staff was nice, the housekeeper I had was Quteylyn. When ever we had to call the front desk, the response was pleasant and pleasant.
Location was perfect, quite close to the city with a big supermarket, First choice close by so you could get your groceries.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but there are some with direct view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Each room is unique. All kitchens are fully equipped from oven, dishwasher to kitchen utensils. Nice plates and wine glasses. Air-con in all rooms which is a must and decent internet access. Very clean and garden well entertained. On the Dickenson Bay which is one of the most beautiful on the island. Little bars on the beach where you can have dinner, nice cocktails and dance on live music. Everyone is so sympathetic. There are transport facilities to and from the hotel. But better have your own :).

Room Tip: Better find a room around the pool. You have a better view than the other rooms. :). Umm ensure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antigua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Village

Address: PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Village 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antigua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Village Hotel St. John`s
Antigua Village St Johns
Antigua Village Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.