We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Antigua Village to your Saves list
Antigua Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Mary Esther, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We just finished a 9 day stay at Antigua Village resort located in beautiful Dickinson Bay. We exchanged through RCI and were able to add on two additional days. We loved that Antigua Village is a smaller time share resort and that all units have less than a minute walk to the beach. One of the best things about the resort is the lovely white beach with warm, turquoise blue waters -- this is where we spent almost all of our time! So easy to run to the room to get drink refills, grab lunch, etc and be back on the beach! We also met so many wonderful people on the beach who were staying at Antigua Village. The gardens were lovely and well maintained. We had a large studio unit which had a queen size bed, love seat, two chairs, and a small dining room table w/ chairs. The kitchen has a full size fridge, stove, oven, microwave, and plenty of accessories. The balcony was large. Rooms are basic decor, no granite, marble, etc, but very clean. Antigua Village also has privately owned units available for rent which have different decors and updates. We had a strong wifi signal. We had two maintenance requests, and both were resolved in less than an hour. Staff was wonderful and friendly -- Andrea, Candace, and Mr. Stephens in particular made our vacation special! Taxi ride from the airport was $16. We were there in Sept, the low season, so many restaurants were closed for the month. There are 4-5 restaurants in easy walking distance. Sandals resort shares the beach, and sometime music at night can get loud. Most evenings the music was turned off by 10:30 and we could barely hear it with the A/C & fan running. One evening their was loud music until 1:00am and it was necessary to put in ear plugs. This was the only negative we experienced all week. Too bad Sandals is not a better neighbor! There were local people selling trinkets and catamaran cruises on the beach, but once you told them no, they left you alone. We did Miguel's excursion to Prickly Pear Island and enjoyed it. Everyone RAVED about the circumnavigation sail thru Wadaldi Cats while we were there (recommend booking thru Andrea or Candy vs random guys on the beach). We plan to do that excursion on our next visit to Antigua Village!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    65
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
58
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 day stay at Antigua Village. We used our RCI exchange at this location and were pleased with our accomodations. As others have said, each room is different and probably vary in comfort and decor. Great view of the ocean from our upstairs balcony. Free Wi-Fi was a nice bonus. The staff was exceptionally helpful. We love to walk and were disapointed there was no place to go within a few blocks. Taxis are expensive; next time we will consider renting a car. Please note that this resort is close to "Sandals" and the music is loud in certain areas of Antigua Village.

We plan to go back to Antgua Village in 2015.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Antigua Village. The staff was very nice, the grounds were clean and well maintained. The room decor was a bit dated but who wants to spend time in their room when you're in the Caribbean! We enjoyed the location, close to St. John's and a good spot to start our adventures.

Rent a car if you can stand driving on the wrong side of the road, the island has a lot to offer!

Tip: try La Bussola just down the road, it's a hidden gem! Look for the small white sign.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a studio apartment.Fully equipped kitchen with oven for baking if you wanted to. So equipped was this unit that we were able to invite friends over so I cooked and had a breakfast party for about 8 persons. Swimming pool is steps from my room and ocean a few feet away. Place is clean and gardens well kept. Staff was nice, the housekeeper I had was Quteylyn. When ever we had to call the front desk, the response was pleasant and pleasant.
Location was perfect, quite close to the city with a big supermarket, First choice close by so you could get your groceries.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but there are some with direct view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Each room is unique. All kitchens are fully equipped from oven, dishwasher to kitchen utensils. Nice plates and wine glasses. Air-con in all rooms which is a must and decent internet access. Very clean and garden well entertained. On the Dickenson Bay which is one of the most beautiful on the island. Little bars on the beach where you can have dinner, nice cocktails and dance on live music. Everyone is so sympathetic. There are transport facilities to and from the hotel. But better have your own :).

Room Tip: Better find a room around the pool. You have a better view than the other rooms. :). Umm ensure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in May.
This is a timeshare resort on Dickenson Bay which is very pretty but remote.
There are very few local bars and restaurants as Sandals is right next door and this is All Inclusive which means local business' struggle to attract sufficient customers.

The accommodation was very clean and cleaned every day.
The Gardens are very pretty with a large varied collection of trees and shrubs.
The pool is pretty but only rarely cleaned so usually full of various types of vegetation which has been blown in - especially on Saturdays when the lawns are mowed and lots of grass ends up in the pool.
We were eaten alive by mosquitoes so don't forget your spray's - we did and it was a painful lesson.
The reception is cool and has many ideas for trips and excursions however the Reception staff are not very communicative and look miserable so we tended to ask the local taxi drivers who didn't seem to need an email message to let their faces know they were happy and smiled a bit.
I can only assume they are family members of the proprietors as they wouldn't get employed in a service industry otherwise.
Dickenson Bay is remote from St Johns and around a $20 taxi ride each way. It will be up to you to ascertain if that is EC$ or US$. It is a local scam to quote prices in dollars and when the price is agreed to state that the price is US dollars which equates to 2.6 times more expensive than the equivalent amount in EC$.
I recommend the Sunday trip to Shirley Heights which is organised by reception when they can be bothered.
Also recommend the Catamaran trip around the Island on Tuesdays on the Wadali Cat, see Jacob the Rasta man on the Beach for bookings.
Recommend C&C wine bar in St Johns for a drink and cheap eats - ask the taxi driver its easy to find at the Cruise ship quays.on Radcliffe Quay.
And say Hi to Evelyn a really nice, friendly, beach trader selling handmade trinkets.

Room Tip: Every room is different and you get what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This resort has nice grounds and a swimming pool and beach access. We were in a villa and it was in poor condition. The furniture needed updating, the screen door to the patio was off line and maintenance had to come fix but still could get perfect. The patio door was also out of whack
All of the rooms were very good size. The bathroom and kitchen were very work and the range almost seemed like an antigue. If you want to heat up anything in the oven that was impossible since the front of the range was corroded and the temperature numbers on the oven dial were all gone. The resort is right next to Sandals and at night beginning at 9 p.m. the loud speaker blasted their music as did the bar across the street. You turn on the AC and close the bedroom door but the door was off line and closing it was very difficult. There is no washing machine but housekeeping will do your launder: $17 US for a full load and 8.50US for a half load. Given the other reviews have mentioned the better quality of their units, why do the staff put people in units that are in such poor shape?

Room Tip: The villas are on three levels-walk in level then stairs to kitchen, living room and patios and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#4 of 18 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#9 of 18 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 18 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
#12 of 18 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Village

Address: PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Village 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Antigua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Village Hotel St. John`s
Antigua Village St Johns
Antigua Village Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.