We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antigua Village to your Saves list
Antigua Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I just got back from this resort. We booked the place last minute and in person. We needed 3 rooms and they were kind enough to show us what they had available by taking us through a tour of the rooms and letting us select what we prefered. They did not rush us and since it would be our home for 4 night we took some time. We picked 3 ocean front spots all ajoining. 2 side by side one on the second floor. Since the rooms were open and we were unexpected we asked if they could give us a discount and they reduced the price 10%. They were all 1 bedroom suites. They were all spacious and clean. The quality of the furnishing were different but all were acceptable. We stayed in 25V and 26V and 25? was on the second floor on 25V. Some units had BBQ grills but if your unit did not have one there were none available. The beach was nice and the pool was clean and quiet. It was in a courtyard not on the beach. There was a restaurant right next door that would be a good lunch spot. There were people selling fresh produce and other stuff but they kept to themselfs and were nice. There is a very small store that is well stocked with the most pleasent people working there.

We had dinner 2 times at LeBistro, the food and service was very good. Food was a good value but the wine list was a bit of a rip off. There also is a nice Italian restaurant just down the street that is right on the water. Very pretty and food was good. They also had a not on the water pizza section that looked fine.

We found out later that we could use our time share to book the property. We also found out that the time share rooms were not as nice or well positioned as owner rented rooms. The place was a great value, I think our rooms were around a $180 a piece. One thing to note I got a lot of bug bites but never felt my self getting bit. I should have sprayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    64
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
56
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My mom, daughter and I stayed here only for 2 nights as we were traveling from Montserrat to the US. After the near emptiness of Montserrat, Antigua felt like being back in a big city. It was a bit of a shock to the system to have so many neighbours and what seemed like a lot of rules. And also to read that we have to lock doors and be aware of strangers! There was none of that on Montserrat.

But having said all that, if we had gone straight to Antigua from London, it would have been paradise. The beach was stunning, the water heavenly, the pool great fun for kids who find the sea 'too salty'. There are beach bars for food and drink. The staff are all nice and friendly. And there are signs meant to keep people from milling around on the beach hassling tourists, though inevitably there are some. Unfortunately these people milling around upset my mother. I would like to go back just with my daughter and bring a few friends. It seems like a lovely place and we just weren't in the right mind frame, and didn't give it enough of a chance. I would like to explore more of the island.

Also while we were there we did take a trip to the other side of the island for some Scuba diving with "Extreme Marine". It was excellent diving, a great boat and a very safe and competent dive master.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good to us! (didn't try the restaurant or fitness centre)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We returned to Antigua Village, thanks to last's year's enjoyable holiday in the Antiguan sun!
We asked for and got the same room as last year (39B) which was comfortable, clean and well appointed.
We noticed that since last year there has been a lot of work done within the resort. New paths were being laid, beach front fences painted. The gardens were in beautiful condition despite Antigua's recent lack of rain.
I found the free WiFi throughout the resort a godsend as I was able to use my wife's IPad to undertake some important work while sitting on the beach and sipping a beer!!!

Room Tip: Although no real noise problems,rooms in the garden side are quieter and away from Sandals's poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This resort was very clean an the people we very nice. It's right on the beach witch is very beautiful. The room we had was the view of the pool an was wonderful. An on one night they have a get togather with drinks an hordervers Grrrreat. But the only downfall is its not al inclusive like were use to but very nice for family's that like to cook.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkeston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had an amazing 3 weeks at Antigua Village Dickenson Bay and plan to return in Sep. thx to everyone for making this one our best holidays for years.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here in July 2009 for our honeymoon. We loved it very much. It was not crowded & the beach, at times, felt like it was all your own. A contrast to the crowded beaches next door at Sandals. The people in Antigua are very cordial & nice. They even did our laundry for us! We upgraded for a small fee to a larger villa & we had an amazing view of the ocean. It was relaxing, we cooked, we rested, we lounged on the beach. Everything we wanted in a vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We spent our honeymoon in unit V12 and it was perfect! Beautiful view of the pool and a small view of the ocean through the palm trees. This unit had two very nice patios, one on the front and one overlooking the pool. Unit was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. Houskeeping did an excellent job daily. I would definitely recommend Antigua Village. Just a couple of notes. Air conditioning is an extra charge at $12US/day. It was not needed. Unit has ceiling fans and lots of windows to open. We were plenty comfortable. Also, taxi on Antigua are pricey. You may want to consider a rental car if you plan to travel...however there is no real good reason to leave Antigua Village, everything you need is in walking distance. Beautiful beach!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antigua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Village

Address: PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Village 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Antigua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Village Hotel St. John`s
Antigua Village St Johns
Antigua Village Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.