We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galley Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Galley Bay Resort to your Saves list
Galley Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 40%!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Cannes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked a Premium Beachfront Suite for 2 weeks in January to celebrate my 50th Birthday... and to have a total switch off. We have been to the Caribbean many times, but this was our first time at Galley Bay, and also our first time in January - which was noticeable cooler and less humid than in March - May (although still a lovely 28c average during the day). Having read such excellent reviews we did wonder if the resort could actually live up to them... it did! The location is wonderful, although the storms crossing the atlantic certainly effected the sea, which was rough for several days. The location of our room, ground floor, right on the beach, was the main reason for picking this hotel... to be able to walk from our room into the sea for a 'wake up' swim was just heaven, and sunbathing right outside the room made life very easy. The food was consistently very good at The Seagrape and Gauguin and was excellent at Ismay's, the wine was very drinkable (and served in decent sized glasses!). We had a private dinner on the beach to celebrate my birthday - Mike, Mike & his staff made this a very special experience.... That brings me to the thing that made the holiday truly special - the Staff - They really are exceptional! Pretty much every member of staff that we met were very, very friendly and at the same time were extremely good at what they did... Althea, the lovely lady who looked after our room everyday, was so helpful & always happy, Janice & Natasha in the Teepee bar, Shylo in water sports, to name but a few who made us feel so at home, but really everyone, including all the staff behind the scenes, made it a great holiday for us.
I can understand why returning guests feel like they're at a 'home from home', you are made to feel
like you're part of the family...

One word of warning - the tiled floors in the room / bathroom are very slippery when they're wet...! That's the most negative thing I can say...!

Thank you Galley Bay, we returned to wet & windy Europe very relaxed and recharged...!!

Room Tip: Our room was at the 'Ismay's' end of the beach & had sun all day - the beach / rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Clamshell_7_13,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments about your recent stay at Galley Bay. We are thrilled that we could exceed your expectations.

Galley Bay is one of the most beloved and romantic resorts in the Caribbean. We certainly hope that when you are seeking a memorable sun-filled vacation that we may host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    332
    87
    31
    26
See reviews for
89
1,651
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our second year at Galley Bay. From the time you arrive until the sad day you have to leave, your vacation is nothing but pure pleasure. The water sports are always great, and the staff are always waiting to assist you in any way. This year we took the double kayak out into the ocean. What a blast! Last year we did a catamaran trip, but this year we booked a jeep tour with Captain Sean! It was fantastic! The sights were wonderful. We had so much fun with Janice, Nola, and the rest of the staff. As well as meeting our new friends, soooooo we are returning next year! I can not recommend this resort enough! We have traveled the Caribbean quite a bit, and frankly, this is our favorite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire Farmer
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Your time at Galley Bay is a total escape, the staff are a delight, the food, different every day and delicious, the situation is a little bit of Caribbean heaven. We cannot fault it, it is so easy and relaxed.

Room Tip: I like to be on the beach, but the cottages are more private for more intimate moments?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I spent an amazing week at Galley Bay earlier this month. From the moment we got to the resort we knew we had made the right choice. We stayed in the Premium Beachfront room (#33) and we're very glad we spent the extra for this room. It was spacious, clean and the bed was super comfy. Being steps from the ocean was lovely. Maid service was very good.

The food was quite good, although we found dinner at Sea Grape to be "hit & miss". Breakfast was very good and lunch at the poolside grill was also good. We went to Ismay's twice. This place is not to be missed! We had two of the best meals there and it was well worth the extra cost. The food at Ismay's was definitely a step above the other restaurants. Great service and beautiful atmosphere.

The bands in the evening were all very good. Triple Feature were awesome. It was fun to get up and dance while enjoying some great cocktails and the Galley Bay coffee (yum). Thanks to Janice for getting folks up to dance, she was a lot of fun. All staff were friendly and very helpful. Thanks to Bobby, Curt, Vaughn and Chris for answering our questions and always being friendly.

We went out with Captain Sean one afternoon. It was a beautiful sunset cruise as well as snorkeling. We really enjoyed the afternoon and Sean and his helper Freeston were really fun to hang out with. We were glad we went with Sean and not one of biggers boats that are usually jam packed with people. There were only 10 of us on the sailboat and it was a laid back, perfect day. We highly recommend Captain Sean and Freeston.

We rented a taxi one day and travelled around the island with our driver Melrose. He was a very nice man who knew the island well and was able to give us a lot of information and history of the island . He took us to English Harbor, Nelson's Dockyard and Shirley Heights. It was much better than renting a car for the day as Melrose knew exactly where to take us and we just sat back and relaxed and enjoyed the drive.

Antigua is a beautiful island with very friendly and welcoming people. Galley Bay was quiet, romantic and very beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to go back again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from 10 days at Galley Bay (this is our third visit). As ever we very much enjoyed ourselves - the food has improved since our last visit (in 2007), the staff are just as efficient and friendly and the whole place has a relaxed, laid-back air. The only small niggle is that some of the older beachfront properties are in need of a little refurbishment, particularly the exteriors which would benefit from a lick of paint.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the finest and most rewarding holiday we have spent. The enthusiasm and friendliness of the management and staff is top grade. More importantly it is genuine.
The facilities are exactly as described and the dining options were all tried. Good entertainment with plenty of dancing in the evenings and some waitresses doubling as singers (good standard) and dancers.
Weather first class - all days very sunny with short refreshing showers.
Shuttles run to St Johns and Nelson's Dockyard but if there are four or more in your party it is cheaper to take a taxi.
Customer services desk could not be more helpful.
Stayed in beachfront suite - highly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a premium beachfront suite. Fantastic views. I loved putting sugar on our patio and watching the pretty birds come and dine. We booked with a fantastic agent, Nicole Merigelli at Elite Island Resorts. Even though Nicole had only arranged our hotel stay when storms canceled our flights she got us rebooked two days later and worked with Galley Bay so we could stay the whole week. She is the best. nicole@eliteislandresorts.com

Room Tip: You are literally steps from the sand in the Premium Beachfront Rooms and the views are breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galley Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galley Bay Resort

Address: Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galley Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Galley Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galley Bay Hotel St. John`s
Galley Bay Antigua
Galley Bay St Johns
Antigua Galley Bay
Galley Bay Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galley Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.