We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Relaxation is Your Goal...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galley Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Galley Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galley Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 45%!
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in St. John's
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If Relaxation is Your Goal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I booked this trip with the sole intention to relax. We were not disappointed. Everyone was very kind and the atmosphere was low-key. If you're looking for a resort that has a coordinator pushing everyone into a conga line, this is NOT the resort for you. The food was excellent, but I do recommend going into town and trying some local dishes. We'd love to go back, if only for the chance to go snorkeling. With that being said, the rain didn't affect our good time or stop us from taking a swim. You can't go to the Caribbean and not swim in the ocean, right?

Room Tip: Cottages w/plunge pool was private but you do share the "backyard".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,422
    294
    83
    29
    24
See reviews for
78
1493
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, CT
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had the BEST TIME EVER! We are already planning our next trip back. This was the most relaxing vacation. We had a great beach front room w/ a patio that stepped down right onto the beach. The ocean view was gorgeous, the sunsets were spectacular, there were rainbows, beautiful scenery, wildlife, snorkeling, shell collecting, sailing, a great watersports team, and the friendliest staff who couldn't be more helpful. We had our chairs set up by the water just outside our room every morning and we relaxed for 8 days and never once got bored! The restaurants overlooked the ocean and the views were great and very romantic. Reservations were never a problem and we ate on the beach for our anniversary and Mike was the most fantastic waiter. The town is adorable and the shopping was good. The sailing with Capt. Shaun was great and the snorkeling on Cade reef, which he took us to had a lot to see. We even saw two turtles on the sail out to the reef. If you have the chance... GO. We totally loved that it was a small resort and we had loads of privacy which is exactly what we were looking for. If your looking for a quiet intimate resort with good food and drinks and great service, this is it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jill J,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Galley Bay Resort. At Galley Bay we work extremely hard to ensure our guests have a relaxing fun-filled and memorable vacation.

We are thrilled that we were able to celebrate your 25th anniversary and look forward to welcoming you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our 10 days at Galley Bay was just what a Caribbean holiday should be - , idyllic, beautiful beach with lush and quiet surroundings. Excellent friendly staff at both the hotel and spa ensured holiday was perfect. Fantastic attention to detail, like warm Bread at each meal and personal service at breakfast - no buffet scrum!, Delicious varied menus with lots of locally sourced products and fish. good wines and excellent cocktails. General manager , Chris, runs a very happy ship, with his presence discreetly on hand. Sad to go, like leaving extended family. Can't recommend highly enough - we will be back!

Room Tip: Loved the beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the most amazing holiday of my life from start to finish. From the very beginning the staff were very attentive and thoughtful. We were welcomed with cool towels and a rum punch and quickly checked in before being whisked off across the lagoon to the main hotel area and our room. The room which was the deluxe beach front on the first floor was perfect with a large window facing the beach and therefore a lovely way to wake up in the morning. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The room was cleaned each day and always cool as the air conditioning was very efficient and quiet. We were provided with cool ice each day and fresh towels.

As other reviewers have said the staff really make the resort and it is like coming 'home' to family. I was impressed that the managers were often about checking that everything was ok and if they could do anything to improve our stay. The choice of meals was excellent and very varied and plenty on offer throughout the day. I really liked Gaugin's in the evening as the ambience was romantic with the candle light and personal service. The lounge areas near to the Sea Grape and Teepee Bar were so relaxing with a variety of seating both in the sun and in the shade. The rocking chairs were a favourite of mine and I spent many evenings relaxing looking out to sea and also listening to the bands while staff served me with drinks. The choice of drinks was extensive and I really enjoyed the cocktails made from fresh fruit and a mixture of non alcoholic and alcoholic ingredients. The service was always with a smile and staff remembered our names. Janice particularly stands out as she brought fun and laughter to the hotel and seemed to enjoy having a joke with everyone. The hotel entertainment is a mixture of live bands and singers. The music is in keeping with the relaxed feel to the hotel and not over the top. There was steel pan music, reggae and vocalists who were very talented and on a few nights we had fun dancing with other holiday makers and staff.

There is plenty to do and see both at the hotel and locally. The walk to Fort Barrington with Shilo was very informative with information about the herbs and plants, the history and time to take in the views from the top. We also were taken out in the Hobbie Cat sailing dinghy and had fun for an hour exploring the bay. If you want to see tropical fish you can borrow snorkelling gear and swim at the far end of the beach. The grounds are also worth a stroll around as there is wildlife in abundance such as tree frogs, lizards, birds, crabs as well as beautiful flowers and vegetation. We went to Shirley Heights and St Johns and on both occasions Guest Services organised the shuttles. In addition to the hotel trips we also went on the extreme circumnavigation speed boat tour and the eco paddles experience.

This really is the place that dreams are made of and I would love to return to Galley Bay to be pampered again and also to further explore Antigua.

Room Tip: Deluxe Beach Front Room room 70. The upper floor had a really good view and was private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a welcoming rum punch and a great welcome. We stayed in a deluxe beech front room. We opened our gorgeous room door onto the beach and the gorgeous blue sea.
There are 4 restaurants in the resort and I could not fault any of them.
We got married on the beach 3 days after we got there. It was perfect and it could not have been more perfect. This resort is exclusive not Sandles.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had booked Galley Bay months before we new we were going to move homes. We were going to cancel but decided "no lets go and relax". We were not disappointed. We had a premium room with the patio doors opening onto a great patio and direct access to the beach. Rooms were clean and well taken care of. Everyone at Galley Bay was friendly and very helpful. The food was very good, we did like the Gauguin the best. Everything went smoothly from check in to check out. They know how to treat their clients.

Room Tip: Any room is good, the bungalows are away from the beach. The premium rooms are fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We returned to the Galley Bay Resort for the 4th time in September and it was still as wonderful as ever. The staff are the most helpful, friendly and courteous people that you could ever meet,they are always smiling and willing to help you. Our room was lovely, it was clean and the bed was so comfortable and Oh! What a view! We had our own space on the beach right outside our door,it was wonderful and so peaceful and relaxing...thank goodness for No background music or noise!
The restaurants were all good with a great variety of dishes to suit all tastes and the food was always well cooked and very well presented.There was a great variety of good wines and Champagne and all branded spirits.
We are very well travelled and have stayed in many different hotels on many different Caribbean Islands but Galley Bay is our Number One destination and Cedric Henry is a Number One Manager....nothing is ever too much trouble for him and his customer service is second to none.
We will definitely be returning to Galley Bay next year.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galley Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galley Bay Resort

Address: Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galley Bay Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Galley Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galley Bay Hotel St. John`s
Galley Bay Antigua
Galley Bay St Johns
Antigua Galley Bay
Galley Bay Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galley Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.