We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galley Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
You added Galley Bay Resort to your Saves list
Galley Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35%!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St. John's
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“October Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are looking for a nice, romantic place to honeymoon this is the spot. The resort differs from my previous experiences at all-inclusive resorts. The nightly entertainment was a lovely singer and steel drum band, very romantic and relaxing. If you are looking for an alcohol-fueled party resort, then this is not the resort for you. However, if you are looking for peace and quiet, DELICIOUS food and a romantic getaway, Galley's Bay is perfect!

We stayed in the Premium Beachfront Suites. I would STRONGLY recommend requesting a bottom floor room. We were RIGHT on the beach, and were able to walk out on the beach at our leisure. This prime spot MADE our trip. It was so lovely to wake up and look out from our bed and see the beautiful ocean--truly amazing.

Our stay was so quiet and leisurely. We viewed a Sandals during a pick up on an excursion we went on, and it looked so BUSY. With under 100 rooms, the bar was NEVER busy, and neither was the beach or pool.

My only suggestions would be to have music continued on through the day for a more vacation feel. As well, we would have loved to be able to enjoy drinks in our room, perhaps restocking the fridge daily with beer/spirits would be another suggestion (or even bottled water).

We had SUCH a lovely stay and plan to go back soon. Definitely a MUST for couples.

My only issue was not the fault of the resort, but a man approached us from the beach while we sat on the deck one morning and tried selling us Aloe Vera for $20, despite us advising him multiple times we were not interested. Pretty much a scam, he we insistent and persistent that we stand up so he could demonstrate how effective natural aloe is (which eventually we obliged because he was SO persistent), rubbed us down with aloe, and then demanded we give him $20. Guy was super persistent, wouldn't take no for an answer. All the beach vendors were very persistent, and we were approached almost every day while we were napping on the beach or relaxing on our back patio. Kind of annoying when the whole appeal for this particular resort and beachfront room is for quiet.

Room Tip: Premium Beachfront Suites (bottom level) is a bucket list must. You are DIRECTLY on the beach, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank Trisha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Me and my husband honeymooned at Galley Bay for a week in Sept and I can honestly say it was the best experience of my life!

Staff- We felt very well looked after by the amazing staff who always gave 100%. Very helpful and always cheerful. Same can be said for the locals too who were so hospitable that we went shopping to St Johns 4 times during our week there! (Not much to buy but worth the experience)

The food - delicious especially at the Gauguin restaurant. Breakfast at Seagrape restaurant was always spot on! As I only eat halal meat it was a relief to know the supplier they had catered to our needs and we didnt miss out.
Oh and the guava and mango smoothies are to die for!

The views- Honestly the pictures do not do Galley Bay justice! Walking towards the sea every morning for breakfast was like a dream and the sea was bluer than Iv ever seen. The resort gardens were also stunning and looked after so well! We stayed at the Gauguin cottage as we wanted privacy and I wouldnt change anything about it! Lovely walk to the beach from our cottage!

Facilities- lovely clean pool. Recommend visiting the Spa!

Overall i have nothing bad to say! Hope to visit again some day! Thanks Galley Bay for such an amazing honeymoon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Thank Salma89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited here with partner in sept his first visit to the Caribbean , I am lucky enough to have travelled to a lot of the islands. Boy was he spoilt, this is now his reference for all all-inclusives. The place is wonderful, the staff are excellent and the rooms are beautiful. We paid a bit extra for a place on the beach,agree with all the others, definitely worth it..this is the best resort I have stayed at and we would definitely return.
Captain Sean on the beach was great, not pushy and we had a great trip with him, plus water skiing and jet skis..would recommend to couples, looking for a romantic getaway..

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Alexandra S,

Thank you so much for your "wonderful" review of your stay at Galley Bay Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your romantic get-a-way.

Galley Bay is one of the most beloved resorts in the Caribbean with a very high repeat factor. Look forward to your return for another memorable stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our first ever visit to St Lucia in March 2013 with our two adult daughters had been an outstanding success. I had had serious reservations about holidaying in the Caribbean but doubt had been replaced by delight. My wife and I planned a return trip without the girls this time. They seemed to think that as two innocents in our mid-sixties we were likely to struggle on our own. Would we cope with Gatwick Airport, the long-haul flight, the transfer and wouldn’t we get a tad bored? We determined to prove them wrong and went ahead and booked a week’s holiday at Galley Bay Resort, Antigua for the end of October and into early November 2013. Well in truth there were some issues. I panicked when I thought I had lost my mobile phone. I hadn’t of course. My suitcase seemed to have gone missing but my wife found it and admonished me for not tying the luminous green band around it. I learn slowly these days.

We both wanted simply to completely relax after a rather long and difficult period of family bereavements. We chose Galley Bay after reading probably thousands of reviews on Trip-advisor. It seemed a safe bet. Sir Chris Hoy also had chilled there according to a newspaper article I had read. If Chris recommended it, it was surely good enough for us! As departure day approached I was slightly apprehensive. I had noticed that the long range forecast had taken a turn for the worst. The long summer days were to give way to thunder, lightning and intense downpours. A washout might be on the cards. We did in fact have over two days of solid rain. The sun disappeared and the skies were heavy. This could have dampened our spirits but it didn’t and the rest of this review explains why.

Galley Bay was only 20 minutes from the airport so the journey after a nine hour flight was quickly completed. We had been delayed for two hours by the late October storm which had caused havoc in southern England. So we arrived late and tired. We were efficiently processed at reception and plied with glasses of champagne before our golf buggy journey with Stuart, across the lagoon bridge to our superior beachfront apartment. These were in the centre of the complex, near the pool and bars. We had thought that the location might be noisy but not at Galley Bay! The room was fine. It had everything we needed save milk and a kettle for morning tea but both arrived in seconds of contacting guest services.

Service to guests

The service offered by the staff at Galley Bay was outstanding. Yes there were some members of staff who said little but they were young and rather shy. Some people may have found the service slow at times but we were in the Caribbean, it was hot and humid and we were in no hurry. The service at this resort was truly outstanding in all respects. The bar staff, the gardeners, workers in the restaurants, those at reception and the cleaners did a wonderful job. The place was spotless, beautifully kept and sprayed regularly. So there was little need for the insect sprays we had brought with us. Janice was an absolute delight. Fun to talk to and nothing at all was too much trouble for her. She spent ages in a thunderstorm offering her umbrella to guests who would otherwise have got absolutely soaked walking between the Tee-pee Bar and Sea-grape restaurant. Ismay who had worked ay Galley Bay for 50 years and who finally retired that week from her job as ambassador summed it up for us. The island relies on tourism and this resort looks after its staff very well. That is why they are happy and often continue to work there year after year. Ismay spent an hour with us explaining how the resort had developed since the 1950s and even offered to take us on a tour of a Gauguin Cottage. What a lady. I bet she will be back! There are too many others to mention although all deserve to be mentioned. I had trouble with a dodgy safe deposit box but the maintenance man arrived quickly and sorted it out. Chris and Cedric frequently approached guests to ensure that all was perfectly okay with them. So five out of five for service.

Superior Beach front accommodation.

The deluxe beachfront apartments, usually on two floors were bigger and more modern than our accommodation but similarly faced the sea and beach on one side and gardens on the other. They were further away from the pool and bars. We had rejected the Gauguin cottages because they were further from the beach, nearer the lagoon and we did not like the fact that the bathroom was separate and locked but the honeymoon couples unsurprisingly seemed to love the solitude and the integral plunge pool associated with each cottage. We were very happy with our room. Plenty of storage space was available. It was in a rustic but cosy style, the bathroom spotless despite the peeling paint below the door and the bed was particularly comfortable. The noise of the waves and the night insects caused no problems sleep-wise but the lashing of tropical rain on the roof did unsurprisingly interrupt sleep. Champagne had awaited our arrival. We used the bottle water provided and then tap water without any problems. Some reviewers had complained that the fridge was ill-stocked but that did not worry us. The bars and customer services were so close and it was no bother fetching drinks and we spent so little time in the room anyway. Room 3 was by the swimming pool on one side and opened onto the beach on the other. In all, the room itself had 6 sun loungers and there were more available at the pool. So no problem at all in that direction. If however you do come from Europe, remember to bring appropriate adapters to fit the sockets which were quite different from those we had had on St. Lucia. You have to vacate the room by noon on the day of departure. We chose to pay a small fee (which actually was donated to island charities) so we could have a cabana. This was used to store our cases and to have a wash and shower before departure. These cabanas were located by the Gauguin restaurant but we were transported there with our luggage by buggy.


There were lizards and creepy crawlies around which is only to be expected. The young lady in the next apartment screamed in horror when she saw a lizard and large insect above the door but her partner came to the rescue and calm was quickly restored. Expect to see plenty of wildlife from humming birds, cranes, lizards, mongoose, fish, jellyfish, butterflies and an abundance of other insects. Visit the lagoon and gardens to see what I mean. Take a camera with you and go on the Tuesday gardening trip. We were about to leave Ismay’s restaurant at 10 pm when a commotion broke out and we were called over. Security guards had discovered that turtle eggs had hatched. They rushed around carefully picking up the little creatures which seemed disorientated by the lights. Soon a large plastic container was full. It contained probably over sixty turtles which were then taken to the sea. It was a delightful scene to savour. All along the beach small areas were cordoned off because turtle eggs had been laid and hatching was awaited.


You meet lots of different types of people. Most are British but there are many American and Canadian guests. There a no children but quite a few honeymooners. Most guests however are rather older with many in their 50s and 60s. I notice some disabled guests confined to wheel chairs who were able to negotiate the resort with some ease. We therefore had lots of friendly conversations and met some wonderful people including Karen and Bobby, two deliciously hilarious and great fun Americans. We missed them when they left. The odd guest can be rather superior and awkward. One lady proved to be remarkably like Lady Catherine de Bourgh in Austen's “Pride and Prejudice” and in consequence we gave her a very wide berth. Interestingly, neither the beach nor the pool area were ever crowded. It is amazing the way guests seem to disappear into the environment. Sometimes it was hard to see more than 12 people on the very long beach or in the sea. That is a delight of the resort. It never appears crowded. There are vendors on the beach which is public but they were not really intrusive.



The largest restaurant and centrally located along the beach frontage with excellent views. This restaurant has sometimes had a bad press from reviewers but we found the food and service to be very good. I loved the many egg dishes on offer for breakfast particularly Eggs Manhattan and Creole which had to be ordered. Flavoured pancakes were also available on a daily basis. If you wanted to eat quickly you could get cereals, fruit juices, fruit, bread, pastries toasts and hot food including sausages, bacon, scrambled egg and hash brownies from the buffet. I would offer one particular criticism. Pots of good coffee were available but if you wanted tea you had to settle for a jug of hot water and tea bags on the table. What would coffee lovers say if they were offered coffee bags and a pot of hot water? Please management, do let the tea drinkers have tea pots containing properly brewed tea and so end the discrimination. It was good to see that additional pots were available if requested. Guests going to the buffet should cover over their drinks and food. The cheeky little birds are both intrusive and persistent.

Dinner and lunch in the sea grape were always excellent. House wines were basic but ok. We rather liked the sauvignon blank which went particularly well with fish dishes. The choice of food was good. It was beautifully presented and very tasty. A fusion of Caribbean and Asian cooking, delicious and healthy. The nouvelle- cuisine approach meant some courses looked a tad sparse but they were mouth- watering and by the end of the meal I was always rather full. Younger people might be hungrier but they were perfectly entitled to go through the card if they wished. I frequently had fish. The marlin, tuna, swordfish, grouper and snapper were wonderful. The soups, appetisers and desserts were all very tasty. Do try the various ice creams and sorbets. I loved the lime and the passion fruit sorbets.

Barefoot Grill

If you just wanted beef burgers quickly you would be better off at the Barefoot Grill which was also very good. It does hot dogs, salads, fish of the day and other food all presented in a basket with crisps.

The Gauguin

A nicely appointed restaurant nearly a ten minute walking distance away from the centre but you can travel by buggy too. You need to book the same day and it is not always open. The tables are located in Tahitian cabanas for two or more guests. Very romantic on a warm evening but less so if it pours down. The food was tasty and good but in my view little better than the Sea Grape. It covers a large area so the service can be slow. Be patient because you will enjoy the meal in a very pleasing setting.


You have to pay a surcharge for a meal here of $35 dollars each and you need to book a table. The restaurant is at the opposite end of the beach from the Gauguin and takes just under 10 minutes to walk there. It has a formidable reputation but we did not think it was that much better than what we had eaten in the other restaurants. There was more alcohol on offer and more dishes. The food was well presented and tasty but the service was slightly disappointing. Heather was great and quickly intervened when she realised that our “Antiguan Smiles” had never materialised. You are offered an opportunity to choose from an expensive wine list. It would be better if it were pointed out that the free house wines are still available here.

The Bars

Both the Tee-pee and Sea grape bars are excellent. The cocktails, alcoholic and non-alcoholic, are brilliant and refreshing. Try the Mango Crush and the banana smoothies! Janice, and Sandy are always on hand and Christine sings beautifully whilst serving cocktails.
Afternoon tea is available in the Sea-grape bar but is not up to the standard of a typical English afternoon tea. Bettys in Harrogate and York have nothing to fear!

The Pool

A great area with plenty of sun loungers and shade if required from canopies and palm trees. The pool is well maintained, clean and very attractive with a smashing waterfall. It is easy to get into and out of, not too deep and the floor although rough is sensibly non-slip. We loved it there but others preferred the beach.

Other facilities

We just wanted to relax with a book so we did not do many of the other activities available. You can take out bikes, try snorkelling, sailing and kayaking.
There is a library and computer suite housing three computers and a printer which is always open and useful for online booking with Virgin Atlantic. Wi-Fi is available in this location and at the pool and bars.
There is a small gift shop
The gardens are beautiful and well managed.
You can order a range of massages.


This is a lovely resort and I recommend it whole-heartedly if you want to relax, have wonderful food and excellent service. I do not hesitate in awarding it five stars. There is no hectic night life but the calypso and other nightly music at Sea grape was rather pleasant. If you want to go clubbing or drink and dance into the early hours this resort is not for you. It was however just what my wife and I were looking for. We loved our visit so much that the two plus days of torrential rain could not dampen our spirits. The island desperately needed the water and it got it. We still went into the pool in the rain. We would never have ventured forth into the North Sea but you can do this here when the temperature is 29C. So we left without much of a tan but with lots of wonderful memories and images. We felt totally relaxed and we intend to return……

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
12 Thank Enlightenedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We chose Galley Bay because of proximity/ flight time from our location (Mississippi) and the positive reviews from tripadvisor. Let me say first of all that the Galley Bay website needs updating. By looking at the website, you truly don't know what to expect. There aren't any pictures of the marvelous restaurants, the blue waters, the luxurious spa, or the friendly staff. Rely on the reviews that tripadvisor provides and you'll know exactly what to expect.

I was extremely pleased with everything, but will disclose upfront what we did not enjoy- leaving the premises. We went to St. Johns- the city in Antigua where you can buy affordable high quality jewelry or little souvineers made by the locals. The shuttle will take you there at 9:30 and pick you up at 12. There just wasn't enough to do, and not a lot of shopping to be had. We would've rather stayed at the resort and not been harrassed by locals. Another let down was the catamaran 360 beach tour that takes you all the way around the island. Sounds nice right? Not really. The tour lasted 7 hours. We stopped for one hour to snorkel and have lunch, but a majority of the tour was spent riding on a boat filled with a bunch of drunkies with tatoos and a bathroom toilet that stayed full. It was a total waste of cash and a day. I wish we would have done the Eco Tour- 6 hours with snorkeling, short hike, live turtle hatching site, sting ray city, etc.

Now, besides that, the honeymoon was awesome, and the things listed above were out of the resort's control. The Premium Beachfront Suite was awesome, room is cleaned around 10 every morning with nightly turn-down service every night, nice flat screen tv, updated furniture, bathrooms, lighting, etc. There is a his & hers shower in the bathroom as well as a large bathtub with jets. Soaps, towels, drinks in fridge, and coffee is replaced daily as well. The room was better than expected and photos don't do it justice.

I won't review the restaurants because you'll see that the food and service is definitely 5 star. We were always treated well by the staff. I couldn't believe people could be this kind. One night they seated us by a beautiful water fountain at Sea Grape restaurant and right on the beach at Gaugin restaurant. We also had Ismay's- technically not all-inclusive $35 per person. I was so pleased that I also dropped a $20 tip. Great food... My wife had a sirloin steak with a blue cheese sauce on top (Sea Grape) that I think was the best thing I've put in my mouth. On our last night we also had a taste of home- Mississippi Mud Pie.

The resort is secluded- if you like crowded beaches filled with young people and 250 activities, go to Sandals. This is for people who enjoy the soft breeze and soothing beach waves right on your balcony/private beach chair and umbrella. Good mix of older and young couples. One older couple who claimed to have "traveled the world" said Galley Bay had the "bluest, most beautiful water" they've ever seen. Get in the water and pick up snorkel gear- bring your own if you don't want to borrow the resort's. You can see beautiful fish swimming beneath you in hundreds of coral reefs about 5 meters from the sand. I also found a large peice of dead/ white coral that I snuck into my main bag- not carry on, and carried it back home. If you put it in your carry-on, you will not be able to bring it home.

Go to the spa. My wife and I had coconut cacoons! 90 minutes of heaven. Coconut scrub washed of with coconut oils, then wrapped in a cacoon, face/head massage, shower off, and then a full body massage. We also fished, rode bikes, and had many Coconut Crushes from the bar- this is the most important thing to do while at Galley Bay. Load up on the Crushes.

I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed Galley Bay, but hopefully I've said enough to convince you. I'm sure we will be returning..

Room Tip: We thought the 2nd floor Premium Beachfront Suites were awesome- If you are on the 1st floor you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
3 Thank Mason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I made our first stay at Galley Bay in mid-October. I only mention that this was our first time at GB since so many of the guests had stayed at GB many times over the years. An obvious compliment to the resort and its excellent staff and management.

As noted in all the reviews, the best amenity at GB are the people that work there. Chris, the General Manager certainly sets the tone for the rest of the staff as he goes out of his way to seek you out and ask for your opinion of his resort. From the moment we arrived, we experienced some of the most genuinely warm and friendly people we have met in our extensive travels!

The resort itself is set on a beautiful crescent beach that offers exceptional privacy as it is the only resort in sight. The grounds are lush and the beach is quintessentially Caribbean. We enjoyed an Ocean Front Villa on the ground floor (Room 85) at the far south end of the resort, and found it to be very spacious and only a few steps from the ocean. We had our own patio with 2 private chaises plus our choice of a Palapa but we chose to move our lounge chairs as close to the water as we could. Note that the ocean’s bottom at both ends of the beach are very rocky. The ocean is much more accessible in the center of the beach.

We had an amazing stay, but if you are looking for a 5-star experience, you should know that the GB is just not a 5-star resort. The rooms are fine and spacious with a comfy bed, nice linens and great AC, but nothing special. The furniture is older, the tile on the floor was cracked, but we never pick a beach resort for the room.

The food was good, not great. The ala carte menus changed daily but we still felt like we ate the same meal every day. Our favorite by far was Gauguin’s. Directly on the beach, each table had its own path to a private palapa covered table. Incredibly romantic day or night. Good food and great service. Simply one of the best settings in the islands!

We ate at Ismay’s one evening and found it to be stuffy with the worst service we experienced all week. With only 7 tables it took over an hour between appetizer and entrée with empty glasses and no bread in front of us much of the time. When the main course arrived it was nothing special. All that for a $35 upcharge.

The drinks were awesome and certainly not watered down. Kudos to Caryl and KerriAnne at the Tee Pee Bar. You ladies got our day started right! The Tee Pee Bar was also a great way to end the evening meeting new friends and chatting after dinner.

We had an excellent couples massage in the open air spa. One of the best we have had. Enjoyed the well maintained tennis court and spent one afternoon at the pool. Cushy loungers and a massive rock waterfall (but we preferred our time on the beach).

Other than the boat trips, there are no motorized water sports which was awesome. No wave runners, para sails, etc. to ruin the serenity of the ocean. My wife and I tried paddle boarding and got addicted. However, on our first attempt we were about 50 yards out when we noticed the sea was full of jellyfish. Kind of like paddling over a pool of molten lava. We were told us it was unusual to have them this time of year. I guess a little warning would have been in order. Nevertheless, we snorkeled on the north end of the beach under Armani’s house. Saw some nice schools of fish, but the reef was mostly dead. Still glad we took the time to do it.

Although we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves there were 2 huge negatives that are not noted in every review. The resort does not offer room service. There is no where to eat at the GB that does not require preparation due to the dress code. A few nights, it would have been nice to have a simple meal in the room but that was not available. Due to its remote location, there are not casual restaurants close by as an alternative. The GM Chris explained it was due to “rodent control” but we have travelled the Caribbean extensively and this is the first time we have encountered this policy.

There were 2 beers in the fridge when we arrived, but those were “complimentary”. At an All Inclusive hotel no less. There is a charge to have beer/wine sent to your room and you have to walk to a bar to get a cocktail since they only deliver beer/wine

Secondly, there is no service on the beach. Our room was easily a 3-4 minute walk to the main area of the resort to get a drink served in a small cup. The drink was usually gone before we got back to our lounge chairs. Being my vacation, I would have much preferred to have someone wait on me, but I did get some extra unplanned exercise!

Notes: You can fish in the lagoon. Just get a pole from guest services and bait from the kitchen. The rum punch is awesome. Gauguin’s and Ismay’s has a 6:00pm and 8:30pm seating nightly. You need reservations there but not for Sea Grape. The evening dress code for men allows nice jeans (no rips) and a collared shirt. No shorts at dinner. Try the fish sandwich at Barefoot Grill…awesome! Cap’n Sean was everywhere the first 2 days. By the time we were ready to take a sail he was booked. Plan early. There are hammocks next to the pool area. The beach vendors will walk right up to your room if you are on the patio and they can be a bit aggressive with their sales pitch. Stuff at the hotel is cheap. A box of Benadryl was only $6US. Oh yeah, they don’t tell you about the jellyfish.

We would recommend the GB for anyone wishing a very relaxing vacation as long as they understand that the GB is a 4-star resort with 5-star service and that they would be ok with the limitations on room/beach service. For the money, it was an incredible value and I would not hesitate to visit again!

Room Tip: I prefer a downstairs Villas since you have direct access to the beach from your room. The rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
2 Thank DesertTravellers_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Galley Bay for our "mini-moon" for 4 nights and were more than pleased with this resort. About a 30 minute drive from the airport, you pull up to a secluded, gated entrance with security, and are immediately greeted with your choice of rum punch or champagne at the reception desk. They then whisk you down to the main resort in a golf cart of sorts, giving a brief tour along the way pointing out some of the amenities and then drop you at your room. We chose one of the Gauguin cottages, not oceanfront, but we loved the hidden away feeling they gave off. It's its own little house of sorts, with a separated bedroom and bathroom, connected with a covered patio with lounge chairs and your own private plunge pool. All with a lovely view of tropical landscape and lake on the backside of the resort. The accommodations were simple, but comfortable. We had both ceiling fans and an a/c. The room had a bureau with a few drawers, a mini-bar and coffee & ice service; a small tv (that we never turned on), a radio with an ipod dock, robes, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and plenty of towels. I would choose this type of room again in a second.

The resort itself has 3 open-air restaurants, all of which were delicious. A large bar centrally located and plenty of painted adirondack rocking chairs lining the deck that stretched across the center of the resort. The food was delicious...a good mix of island cuisine and upscale American style food. The bartenders certainly pour with heavy hand and they have fun new drinks every day. Definitely try the Gauguin restaurant one night...you need a res, but the atmosphere is awesome. We were fortunate to be able to do the "romantic dinner on the beach" one night as well, and white glove service doesn't do it justice. Mike our waiter for the night was awesome, the food was awesome and you can't beat the view.

The pool area was great and had plenty of coupled off cushy lounge chairs...it was never crowded and you never had to get up at dawn to claim a chair anywhere.

We took out the HobieCat boat a couple times and tried snorkling. Not much to see fish wise right there, but the swimming is nice and the water is beautiful. My husband booked us a private beach picnic at Pinchon Bay...about a 10 minute boat ride from the resort and totally worth it. When we got picked up later on, Kenya from the sports desk gave us a little tour around the area on the boat and was a true pleasure to hang out with for that time and learn about some of the history of the area.

Each night between the bar and main restaurant area they have live island music...fun and festive, but not overwhelmingly loud.

There's a 3/4 miles walking/running trail around the lake that we strolled every morning after breakfast...definitely some weird birds back there but they were all friendly even though they seem to be chasing you like a gang at first. They really just want a muffin.

The spa is amazing...we partook in a couples massage in the open air hut things and you just melt away.

The resort was quiet, laid back and very private feeling. It was a perfect place to go and turn our brains off for a few days after a year of crazy wedding planning. I would go back again in a heartbeat.

My only slight suggestions for improvement:
-Play some background island music around the pool/bar area during the day so it sounds vacationy.
-Restock the mini-fridge daily
-basic cosmetic improvements to make sure everything always looks finished, i.e. tiles in the cottage pool, showers, etc

Room Tip: Unless you're a die-hard have-to-see-the-ocean-the-minute-you-open-your-eyes person, the gauguin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
1 Thank KtotheRisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
3.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#4 of 17 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,474 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#2 of 17 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Villas at Sunset Lane
The Villas at Sunset Lane
#1 of 17 in St. John's
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galley Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galley Bay Resort

Address: Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Galley Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Galley Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galley Bay Hotel St. John`s
Galley Bay Antigua
Galley Bay St Johns
Antigua Galley Bay
Galley Bay Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing