We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort is indeed paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galley Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Galley Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Galley Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Off plus 5th NT FREE
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This resort is indeed paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

June 14 - 28 2013. We had a superior beachfront room. I cannot recommend this highly enough. We stepped straight onto the sand one way or out into the beautiful grounds the other way. The sea was just a few metres away.
It was our 28th wedding anniversary and we received complementary champagne and flowers -lovely!
The bay was beautiful, the resort was never crowded.
The staff were attentive without ever being intrusive. We enjoyed laughing and chatting with them.
The overall manager, Chris, and his team were fab..
I cannot fault the food! A la carte at every meal - wonderful choice.
Our favourite restaurant was the Gaugin at the end of the beach in individual cabana type tables.
Amazing view!
We also loved the Seagrape.
Drinks were of high quality and readily available.
We went on the Wadadli Cats Catamaran round the island trip which was fantastic.
We met a wonderful taxi driver called Melrose who became our unofficial tour guide.
The air con was always on and always cool.
We were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to see a six foot leatherback turtle laying eggs on the beach at 2am courtesy of the staff who called us!
This was a relaxing and fun holiday in a stunning location.
i find it very difficult to understand how some people who were there at the same time could have been unhappy.
Would definitely return as would the friends we went with.
By the way the watersports and walking trip were also great.

Room Tip: we had the lowest level accommodation but chose the beachfront. This was perfect. Rooms 9 and 10 we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,313
    283
    78
    29
    24
See reviews for
74
1383
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Gorgeous beach, stunning suite, incredible staff and service - could not fault it. The private beach is beautiful clean white sand, right outside the beach front rooms and suites. The rooms are spacious and well furnished with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I started writing down staff names to mention in my review but everyone is so friendly, helpful and welcomimg it is difficult to single out individuals, however I must mention Shireen who made our dining experience a joy and the lovely chats we had with Ismay. The food was lovely with interesting local influences and so much flavour! The cocktails were irresistable and Janice always made us laugh with her quirky views on life! The Manager popped up in different places and roles every day and really took a personal interest in making our visit a memorable event. We both absolutely loved it and will be back, like so many other visitors!
Prof John

Room Tip: We wre upgraded to a ground floor suite and it was fabulous. I recommend a ground-floor room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Daktari62,

Thank you for your very positive feedback about your recent stay here with us at Galley Bay.
We are thrilled that we could create a fun-filled memorable vacation for you.

Galley Bay enjoys a very loyal following of repeat guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to the family! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a most amazing 12 days at the Galley Bay. From the moment we arrived until they waved us goodbye it has been a very memorable holiday.
We stayed in a Premier Beach front room with a wonderful views of the ocean and each day we had the pleasure of walking, lazing and simply enjoy everything this resort has to offer. It is not at all overcrowded and there is space for everyone.

While we were there we celebrated my husband's birthday with dinner at Ismays. There is a surcharge for dinner at this restaurant but the food was just incredible and the service superb - they certainly made it a birthday to remember. During our stay we ate there twice and we were not at all disappointed with anything.

The Gaugain Restaurant is delightful, very romantic and also superb food. The Seagrape Restaurant is just as good and this restaurant and the other two are all waiter service which is lovely. For lunch the Barefoot Grill was delicious and the fish tacos were exceptional.

The Teepee Bar is just fabulous with a huge variety of drinks on offer and I could choose from four different types of gin with my tonic. The mojitos were a delight as well as the champagne, lovely white wines and reds.

The All inclusive option is the best we have ever experienced and finally I really must add that the staff were a delight, very courteous and nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely to see the Manager and the Food and Beverage Manager mixing with everyone and you can tell that this is an extremely well run hotel.

We had a trip around the island and Sean arranged this for us. Can only recommend Treasure Island Cruises, well worth the money and the crew were experiened and made the trip a memorable experience.

We will certainly be returners and cannot wait for another wonderful holiday at the Galley Bay.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the beach with the exception of the Gaugain Cottages which are close to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We celebrated our 10th Anniversary at Galley Bay Resort! We arrived anticipating a enjoyable romantic weekend and Galley Bay did not let us down. We were given the history of the property as the porter drove us to our room. He was polite, courteous and knowledgeable about the resort. The entire staff exhibited professionalism.
The restaurant and bars were also very nice.
Our room was fantastic, comfortable and very spacious.
The grounds are beautiful and breathtaking. Everyone made us feel at home and helped us to have an anniversary to remember.
This is truly a tropical Antiguan paradise.
We Loved it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front so you cant really go wrong. We preferred the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

All the good points picked out by the recent reviewers are true - everything we look for in a holiday was there. As well as really good food and drink in 2 amazing beachfront restaurants all the rooms are right on the beach, other than the Gauguin Cottages which are inland near the lagoon and swimming pool. We didn't stay in those but i think you would feel that you were missing out on amazing sea views if you had one of the cottages. The beach front rooms are either in 4's (2 up 2 down) or a few single storey in rows of 4. All looked very nice with own sunbeds and umbrellas, balcony loungers and shower outside the ground floor rooms on the beach, which was never close to being crowded even in peak times! Rooms and bathrooms very spacious with good air conditioning and fans and very nicely decorated in Caribbean style. Tennis, table tennis, pool, snorkeling, kayaking, windsurfing and sail boats were all readily available every day at no extra cost. The All Inclusive deal for food and drink is very good value with almost all drinks being included, especially cocktails! Most of the staff were really friendly and the General Manager very helpful and easily accessible. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms other than Gauguin Cottages have amazing see views right on the beach. All rooms would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our 2 week honeymoon at the Galley Bay and I must say that it was a superb experience worth every penny.

We stayed in one of the premium beachfront apartments which were extremely spacious and well maintained. The rooms were cleaned, polished and mopped daily with fresh towels for both washing and use on the beach provided. The standard of accommodation and service provided by the maids was excellent.

The food available at all of the restaurants for all meals was of a very high standard. All service was very attentive, with staff friendly and polite. They were more than willing to deviate from the menu and accommodate personal requests. In the 2 weeks were there we never experienced one bad meal.

Whilst polite and friendly the staff were not overbearing and intrusive but were always available to deal with requests with nothing being too much trouble.

I have read recent begative reviews on here but cannot understand for the life of me what certain individuals expect. Given their thoughts opinions the staff and guests of Galley Bay are much better off without them.

If you are looking for a relaxed holiday with friendly clientel and superb staff; combined with excellent food, drink and service then look no further. Thos is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have recently returned from 7 days at this hotel and cannot find fault at all in the hotel. The service was second to none, the staff were so helpful, the food and drink were something else! I especially enjoyed how relaxed I felt throughout the week (if you are looking for a holiday with lots going on this hotel isnt for you!).

The hotel mostly hosts American and UK holiday makers which I found quite refreshing as it was very easy to strike up a conversation with other holiday makers.

Our room was one of the smallest at the hotel but the space was incredible - I didnt need any more space - the walk in wardrobe and bathroom were HUGE.

I would love to return to this hotel if I ever get the chance.

Room Tip: As I said even the smallest room had everything!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galley Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galley Bay Resort

Also Known As:
Galley Bay Hotel St. John`s
Galley Bay Hotel
Galley Bay Antigua
Galley Bay
Galley Bay St Johns
Antigua Galley Bay
Galley Bay Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish
Address: Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galley Bay Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Galley Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galley Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.