We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galley Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Galley Bay Resort to your Saves list
Galley Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35%!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St. John's
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Gorgeous beach, stunning suite, incredible staff and service - could not fault it. The private beach is beautiful clean white sand, right outside the beach front rooms and suites. The rooms are spacious and well furnished with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I started writing down staff names to mention in my review but everyone is so friendly, helpful and welcomimg it is difficult to single out individuals, however I must mention Shireen who made our dining experience a joy and the lovely chats we had with Ismay. The food was lovely with interesting local influences and so much flavour! The cocktails were irresistable and Janice always made us laugh with her quirky views on life! The Manager popped up in different places and roles every day and really took a personal interest in making our visit a memorable event. We both absolutely loved it and will be back, like so many other visitors!
Prof John

Room Tip: We wre upgraded to a ground floor suite and it was fabulous. I recommend a ground-floor room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Daktari62,

Thank you for your very positive feedback about your recent stay here with us at Galley Bay.
We are thrilled that we could create a fun-filled memorable vacation for you.

Galley Bay enjoys a very loyal following of repeat guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to the family! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    376
    104
    33
    26
See reviews for
113
1,928
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a most amazing 12 days at the Galley Bay. From the moment we arrived until they waved us goodbye it has been a very memorable holiday.
We stayed in a Premier Beach front room with a wonderful views of the ocean and each day we had the pleasure of walking, lazing and simply enjoy everything this resort has to offer. It is not at all overcrowded and there is space for everyone.

While we were there we celebrated my husband's birthday with dinner at Ismays. There is a surcharge for dinner at this restaurant but the food was just incredible and the service superb - they certainly made it a birthday to remember. During our stay we ate there twice and we were not at all disappointed with anything.

The Gaugain Restaurant is delightful, very romantic and also superb food. The Seagrape Restaurant is just as good and this restaurant and the other two are all waiter service which is lovely. For lunch the Barefoot Grill was delicious and the fish tacos were exceptional.

The Teepee Bar is just fabulous with a huge variety of drinks on offer and I could choose from four different types of gin with my tonic. The mojitos were a delight as well as the champagne, lovely white wines and reds.

The All inclusive option is the best we have ever experienced and finally I really must add that the staff were a delight, very courteous and nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely to see the Manager and the Food and Beverage Manager mixing with everyone and you can tell that this is an extremely well run hotel.

We had a trip around the island and Sean arranged this for us. Can only recommend Treasure Island Cruises, well worth the money and the crew were experiened and made the trip a memorable experience.

We will certainly be returners and cannot wait for another wonderful holiday at the Galley Bay.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the beach with the exception of the Gaugain Cottages which are close to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We celebrated our 10th Anniversary at Galley Bay Resort! We arrived anticipating a enjoyable romantic weekend and Galley Bay did not let us down. We were given the history of the property as the porter drove us to our room. He was polite, courteous and knowledgeable about the resort. The entire staff exhibited professionalism.
The restaurant and bars were also very nice.
Our room was fantastic, comfortable and very spacious.
The grounds are beautiful and breathtaking. Everyone made us feel at home and helped us to have an anniversary to remember.
This is truly a tropical Antiguan paradise.
We Loved it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front so you cant really go wrong. We preferred the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

All the good points picked out by the recent reviewers are true - everything we look for in a holiday was there. As well as really good food and drink in 2 amazing beachfront restaurants all the rooms are right on the beach, other than the Gauguin Cottages which are inland near the lagoon and swimming pool. We didn't stay in those but i think you would feel that you were missing out on amazing sea views if you had one of the cottages. The beach front rooms are either in 4's (2 up 2 down) or a few single storey in rows of 4. All looked very nice with own sunbeds and umbrellas, balcony loungers and shower outside the ground floor rooms on the beach, which was never close to being crowded even in peak times! Rooms and bathrooms very spacious with good air conditioning and fans and very nicely decorated in Caribbean style. Tennis, table tennis, pool, snorkeling, kayaking, windsurfing and sail boats were all readily available every day at no extra cost. The All Inclusive deal for food and drink is very good value with almost all drinks being included, especially cocktails! Most of the staff were really friendly and the General Manager very helpful and easily accessible. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms other than Gauguin Cottages have amazing see views right on the beach. All rooms would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from our 2 week honeymoon at the Galley Bay and I must say that it was a superb experience worth every penny.

We stayed in one of the premium beachfront apartments which were extremely spacious and well maintained. The rooms were cleaned, polished and mopped daily with fresh towels for both washing and use on the beach provided. The standard of accommodation and service provided by the maids was excellent.

The food available at all of the restaurants for all meals was of a very high standard. All service was very attentive, with staff friendly and polite. They were more than willing to deviate from the menu and accommodate personal requests. In the 2 weeks were there we never experienced one bad meal.

Whilst polite and friendly the staff were not overbearing and intrusive but were always available to deal with requests with nothing being too much trouble.

I have read recent begative reviews on here but cannot understand for the life of me what certain individuals expect. Given their thoughts opinions the staff and guests of Galley Bay are much better off without them.

If you are looking for a relaxed holiday with friendly clientel and superb staff; combined with excellent food, drink and service then look no further. Thos is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have recently returned from 7 days at this hotel and cannot find fault at all in the hotel. The service was second to none, the staff were so helpful, the food and drink were something else! I especially enjoyed how relaxed I felt throughout the week (if you are looking for a holiday with lots going on this hotel isnt for you!).

The hotel mostly hosts American and UK holiday makers which I found quite refreshing as it was very easy to strike up a conversation with other holiday makers.

Our room was one of the smallest at the hotel but the space was incredible - I didnt need any more space - the walk in wardrobe and bathroom were HUGE.

I would love to return to this hotel if I ever get the chance.

Room Tip: As I said even the smallest room had everything!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent two nights at Galley Bay after spending 5 nights elsewhere on Antigua. It was the perfect way to end an amazing trip to this beautiful island! We stayed in the premium beachfront suite with a private balcony. The room was very clean with plenty of room. The bathroom was spacious with a double shower. We loved the balcony...it was big and great for sitting in the early morning and late in the afternoon. Everybody we encountered was friendly from the reception to housekeeping. Our suite was ready even though we arrived there at 12:00 p.m.

The menus at the restaurants were varied with enough choices for us. The pool area was gorgeous with a beautiful waterfall. We really enjoyed the interaction between the guests and the resort's staff. You could tell that many of the guests were like family.

We think this resort is perfect for those who want a low key...no loud music or volleyball...kind of vacation. There was live music at dinner and some couples danced. We never felt rushed or had to wait for a table. The rooms are on the beach...not a walk to the beach...with the exception of the cottages which have their own plunge pools.

The water was crystal clear although you have to watch out for rocks in some areas. Snorkeling right off the beach was easy with their equipment.

Lovely resort with lots of character and it's easy to see why people return again and again.

Room Tip: Premium rooms come with wireless ...great for staying in touch with the family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
3.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#4 of 17 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#2 of 17 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,721 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Villas at Sunset Lane
The Villas at Sunset Lane
#1 of 17 in St. John's
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galley Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galley Bay Resort

Address: Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galley Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Galley Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galley Bay Hotel St. John`s
Galley Bay Antigua
Galley Bay St Johns
Antigua Galley Bay
Galley Bay Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galley Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.