We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New section not yet done, but will be great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $150 Spa Bonus!
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New section not yet done, but will be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

Will be wonderful - ONCE IT IS FINISHED!!! Pictures are taken on 7/21/07.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,263
    1,048
    407
    236
    189
See reviews for
74
3327
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

I just returned from a 7-night stay at Sandals Grande Antigua and must say I had a fantastic time. This was my second Sandals experience and it was as positive as my first.

I did quite a bit of research on the internet (including Trip Advisor) and read a number of positive and negative reviews. Upon checking in, I was not happy with our room (which was upgraded) and requested to be moved. The very next day we were moved to a more spacious and comfortable room and we were very pleased with the change.

The new section is still under construction and not yet fully opened. The restaurant (Mario's) and English pub opened during our stay and the food and service at both were fantastic. There were quite a few employees in training however they were very accomodating. Mario's and the pub are the only two airconditioned restaurants on the property and offered a wonderful escape from the tropic heat (and humidity).

The new pool is beautiful and quite large but was not opened to guests during our stay. We heard the pool was going to open July 21 (the day we departed the island).

We met many couples who had reservations in the new section who shared they were told up to a few days prior to their arrival that they would have accomodations in the new section. Of all the couples we met (and there were many) with reservations in the new section, the majority ended up with rooms in the older section. For being inconvenienced, Sandals offered the couples a free week at a Sandals property of their choice. The couples were "okay" with the offer but many were very disappointed because they were told days prior to their arrival they would have the accomodations they reserved and paid for. From their perspective they felt Sandals knew they would not be able to accomodaet them in the new section and made a decision not to inform them until after they arrived. Whatever management's reason, these couples felt deceived.

The couples we met who had accomodations in the new section said their rooms were beautiful but the construction noise was bothersome especially if you wanted to sleep in and have a lazy morning. Our room was located on the pathway where the old section meets the new section and there was quite a bit of landscaping and tile work going on during our stay. The tile work continued until late evening but we were not bothered by noise. The only noise that was noticeable to us were the sounds of lawn mowers and weed wackers.

All and all, my Sandals experience at the Antigua property was positive. I met a lot of VERY nice people and had a fantastic time. I can't say I will return to Antigua in the near future because there are so many other Caribbean destinations I want to explore however I wouldn't be opposed to returning.

  • Liked — Spacious room, good food, excellent service, a lot of activities, the guests (met a lot of nice people!)
  • Disliked — Maid service seemed to be late afternoon which was about the time we typically returned from the beach/pool.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

I wanted to share some information about the new Mediterranean Village in Antigua. We just stayed there from 7/4 -7/9. There were only a few rooms available in the new part and that is it. None of the restaurants or pool was open. We had to go to the older part for everything which is a hassle. I can say that the new rooms were very comfortable and we couldn’t here construction noise. I estimate that it will take them some time to get everything up and running.

If you have any other questions post the in the form and I will answer them.

My user name will be
NEW YORK, NEW YORK

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridgeway,ontario
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

My wife and I finally went on a trip without our children after 16 years of marriage, so of course we had to find a nice romantic and private place with no kids!!We debated spending the extra money to visit a Sandals resort.We decided on Antigua simply for what the brouchure had to offer.Our flight with Air Canada was great and arriving in Antigua we easily found the Sandals desk and were transported to our destination.Apon arrival we were given champaine(standard Sandals greeting)and a 15 min. orientation,then we were escorted to our average honeymoon suite(concierge).this room was no where near our expectations and could be had at any 3 star hotel.We were quick to learn that a la carte was only dinner in one of the 4 restaurantf(not 9 like advertized).The food was average, but no sign of seafood anywhere,NONE!!!Oh,yes there are plenty of strys to eat with(not stray people,cats!)We were told that the concierge would book all of our dinners when we arrived,but found out you could only book 24 hrs. in advance,so if you did not rise early to make a booking you ate very late at night.The main bar closed at 11 p.m. , but the dirty,hole in the wall disco was open til 2p.m., if you could handle the moldy smell and darkness.The piano bar was fun!The staff was great and tried to get all involved with the activities,as limited as they were.And remember the private times we wanted to experience, the beach is public with many of the locals and their families(with little kids)and many of the cruise ships guests come here for the day(yes with their kids too!)
I have read on this site by many not to expect a lot from the islands like you do back home, well let me say this, for the 6,000 dollars plus we spent for a week we both expected luxury rooms ,fine dining and private relaxing times(we relaxed some).
So in closing I would like to let all know that we believe the price is high for what you get(we are not cheap by no means)and yes you should expect better from a ULTRA inclusive resort, many more bad results to share, but I have to add that following our return we contacted all involved and we were compensated greatly for our lack of expectations.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

We chose this resort for the new Mediterranean Village. However, the new section was not ready by the time of our honeymoon. So we were moved to the Honeymoon Concierge Room in the Anthurium Building. We were extremely please with this room. The view wasn't oceanview, which we were supposed to have in the new section, but everything else was perfect!
We have absolutely nothing to complain about. The beach and pools were nice, the staff was amazing, food and drinks were great. The stray cats roaming around were not annoying at all. If you ignored them, they ignored you. Same goes for the locals on the beach.
Definitely take some of the excursions if it's in your budget, there is so much on the island to see and do. We took the Shirley Heights and Cades Reef Excursions. They were so much fun! Shirley Heights is a must!
We had an amazing time and have already booked for our 1st anniversary next May. We are going to stay in the new section. We can't wait!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — View of pool instead of ocean
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

“It Doesn’t Get Any Better”
As always, when we’re on vacation we try to make the best of everything and we are usually are satisfied.
We just returned June 23rd from Sandals Antigua celebrating our 42nd Anniversary. If this wasn’t our best vacation ever then it’s certainly tied for first.
We stayed in a Honeymoon Veranda Suite. We weren’t pleased with the location of our 1st room and were relocated as soon as possible as we were on top of the construction. Couldn’t have been more pleased with the efficiency in being moved. The rooms were all refurbished and immaculate. Refrigerator was always restocked with whatever your favorites are.
The restaurants were excellent. We appreciate good food and weren’t let down.
While staying there Kimono’s just opened their new sushi bar. The sashimi was very fresh and we stopped their at least 3 times before going to dinner. The Exec Chef was great as was Jordi also. Don’t forget to yell “WASABE” to the crew making the sushi and they’ll love it.
Il Palio was very good as was Bayside for dinner. Nicola and Stayce are so nice at Bayside. Didn’t try the OK Corral, but a lot of guests told us it very good. Courtyard Bistro can make you some good sandwiches and burgers also.
On our Anniversary we had a candle light dinner on the beach. So special. Simply just awesome. Highly recommend it.
The beach is beautiful and the water that beautiful turquoise color. Never had to run to find chairs in the shade. That alone is a pleasure.
When going to the main bar definitely look for Vincent and ask him if the “local beer” is any good. Also ask him for a “Straw Hat Bob” cocktail. He’ll laugh, plus you will enjoy it.
Vincent, Gordon, Russell, Nicole, Rodney, James, Charmaine, Sue and Hayden the Supervisor. are just great. Hope I didn’t miss anyone.
All the service was excellent. Esp. the front desk with Kerri-Ann and Stephen to mention a couple.
I give a lot of credit to Mr. Franklyn Eaton and his whole staff. To name a few, Wayne, Neil, Jacco, Sean, Hayden, Christine, not enough room to name everyone.
They have to burn the candle 24/7 trying to please everyone esp. with the problem of trying to open the new Mediterranean Village.

To answer the question would we return. We have already booked our return for next year.
It’s only our opinion but this was one great vacation.

  • Liked — Everyone does their best to try to please you
  • Disliked — The construction, but that's progress and can't blame the staff for that
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

We have just returned from our trip to the Sandals Grande Antigua. We spent our 21st anniversary and quite a bit of money for this all-inclusive resort. We are signature guests at Sandals. In fact, we have stayed at the Sandals resort for the last 3 years. However, at our anniversary dinner in Antigua this past June four stray cats were around our table one was poised to jump unto the table to get food. This interrupted our romantic dinner/evening. The room that we stayed in had a leak and the photograpers that would normally be around to take your pictures if you want them to were not seen unless you were in a wedding party. I wrote to the Sandals resort/customer service and they refuted all of my claims except for the cats so I am warning the public do not go to the Sandals Antigua Grande resort or you will waste your money and be disappointed. If you are looking for a Sandals property to enjoy go to the Sandals Grande St. Lucia or Beaches Turks and Caicos. Antigua as an island is nice but find a better place to stay.

  • Liked — The entertainment was nice
  • Disliked — The room and the lack of assistance to remedy problems
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.