We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and quality week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 65%!
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Ashland City, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and quality week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We took this trip a while back in January of 2012 and I don't know why I have waited so long to review. We essentially went for a relaxing week and to play a little tennis and eat well and got all three wishes. The rooms was exactly what our agent had requested, we went for the older and more quiet side of the resort and found ourselves about 100 yards from the water with a super view. Although the resort is large its not so large that's it is cumbersome to get around. Everything is within a short walk and convenient. We found the food to be good, not great, but most meals of good quality and with variety. You have lots of choices and this makes it easy to break things up. They have wonderful drinks...you must try the chocolate monkey. We literally gained 5 pounds from yummy chocolate monkeys but it was totally worth it!!
Lots of watersports, nightly entertainment or quiet niches if you like. We would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We recommend the Caribbean side- some buildings are closer to the water and very tropical in the who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,272
    1,051
    411
    236
    189
See reviews for
75
3338
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went here for our honeymoon on June 1st

+'s ... Beautiful views, gardens, scenery, premium beverages, majority of staff was friendly, room (while outdated) was always clean and cool, no musty smells that you sometimes get from rooms in the Caribbean, we never had a ok or bad meal but sometimes waited much longer than we should have for dinner to get to the table. Plenty to do on the island and the resort is kept in top notch condition. Beach was very nice as were the pools.

-'s ... Replacement bottles in the room had sippers on them..give me a new bottle with a cap so bugs don't get in there! Some of the staff had a "whatever" attitude..but this was the exception, not the rule.. Took WAY too long to get in our room. Manager totally blew off the gentleman who was trying to help us get our room, walked past him quickly acting like he didn't hear him. WTF?? I asked to speak to him twice..never saw him. Not cool... Hassled on the beach more than Jamaica (didn't think that was possible). Not many negatives though overall.

Summary - in the end we had super expectations (which may be unfair) and overall we had a great time on both the resort and the island itself.

Advice - Sandals wants $100 per person to get a tour of the island..... Your best bet, whether its a quick trip to St. John to purchase some souvenirs or if you want to take hours long trips along the coast, etc. to sight-see and see landmarks, go to English Harbor, etc. etc., you need to call Cecil Hughes..Please tell him Alan and Tonya from Adams, TN recommended him :) We had a blast and even shared his company at C&C Wine bar to try some South African wines and talk about our families. He charged us $140 for two people for a great scenic laid back afternoon of touring and photos. Can't say enough about this guy. His number is 268.728.2509. Secondly, Adventure Antigua Xtreme ... BOOK IT. Also, Cheers in St. John ... free wifi and make him an offer on some bottles of English Harbor. Looking forward to going back to this island for our 5 year anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My new husband and I are world travelers who enjoy making new memories and taking a gamble on new places. We ran across a commercial featuring the Sandals resorts so we decided to take a chance and book a destination WeddingMoon (wedding). We made it to Sandals Grande Antigua June 6, 2013 and were immediately spoiled. Our wedding coordinator Nasasha was the most giddy, exceptional and warmest lady to meet us on arrival; from beginning to end we didn't have to lift a finger or attempt to worry about anything except sunscreen and bug repellant lol We were married June 8, 2013 at sunset on the beach and it was beyond beautiful! Our wedding officiate was humorous as well as thoughtful, our photographer Marion is a perfectionist (so only the best poses will suffice) and the process was quick yet poignant.
This place is truly meant for couples, from the daily activities, late night couple games and food we were in true newlywed bliss. This was our first stay at a Sandals resort and it blew all the other all-inclusive resorts out the galaxy. When they say all-inclusive it means top shelf drinks, water activities/sports and food...best part were the drinks; no skimping here and were as strong as to your liking. All the restaurants are superb, especially Eleanor's (coconut soup with scallops),Cricketer's Pub (all I can say is wings...) and Barefoot (jerk pork & chicken...yummy).
Our room was the Grande Luxe St. Tropez Sunset Oceanview Suite on the Mediterranean Village Side with concierge service. It was spacious, comfy, indulgent and peaceful; there were soo many activities going on outside but the king sized bed made it hard to leave at times lol Highlight of the room: Jacuzzi tub, daily fully stocked mini bar and the view of dreams.
Sandals Grande Antigua has truly spoiled my husband and I and we are already planning our next trip....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our Weddingmoon at Sandals Grande Antigua. It was an amazing experience. The wedding day, staff and everything having to do with the wedding was absolutely fabulous. Everyone made sure the day was perfect! I would highly recommend having a wedding at this resort. The resort itself is beautiful and for the most part is very well maintained. I highly recommend their butler service, it's just makes things easier and provides you with much better service all the way around. Food and drink was plentiful and very good. Just a couple of things we experienced that I will share. As someone else commented, the shuttle service at the airport seemed disorganized and took longer than it should have. I would like to see better service for the price and for such a high end resort and better vehicles. Our room was very nice and clean, but for the price, I would expect more detailed payed to cleaning corners, baseboards, etc, which seemed to be neglected. Room service was very slow. Vendors on the beach are constantly annoying. Public bathroom areas were not very well maintained. We experienced slow and rude bartenders at times and some menus could use more of a variety of choices. When we did have a bad experience and mentioned it to anyone, employees/management went out of their way to correct the situation and ensure that we were happy. With all that said, it was still a wonderful time and I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Butler rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I had our Weddingmoon at Sandals Grande Antigua with just a few friends a family. It was so amazing and beautiful. Not only was our stay there spectacular but the staff at Sandals was so wonderful, it made our entire trip the best vacation I have ever had. We stayed in the Honeymoon Seaside Dickenson Bay Oceanview Butler Suite - Our Butler's name was Vanessa. If you have a chance to have a butler, PLEASE REQUEST HER! The entire staff has such great attention to detail; they want your honeymoon / vacation to be just as perfect as you do. They strive to make it wonderful; starting with cold sweet smelling towels with champagne when you arrive and ending with the utmost customer satisfaction as you leave - making sure your stay was perfect. We loved the Spa and not only had one massage, but went back for another while on our visit. We also took an island trip on the large Catamaran boat - It was very fun and entertaining! I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Seaside Dickenson Bay Oceanview Butler Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

So far we are 24 hours in on our honeymoon. The check-in at the airport was a little chaotic and unorganized. The worst part about that was the baggage handlers "pretending" to be part of Sandals, but really person's just demanding tips.

The taxis used to get us from the airport to the resort were basic van taxis, licensed, I'm sure, but certainly not part of Sandals. The greeting once we arrived was great and pleasant.

Two things of note.... there are no towel racks in the bathroom, so no place to hang slightly used towels or bathing suits. Also, the food preparers do not wear gloves when preparing food, opting instead to use their bare hands.

Other than that we are having a great time and look forward to the rest of our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

1st Sandals stay and first vacation as a couple and overall a very good experience with Sandals. Our experience was consistent with many other reviews we had read prior to our trip. Yes it's pricey, but overall you get what you pay for. Great beach, huge pool with swim up bar and fantastic attention to detail on the grounds.
Aside from the first and last impression (more later) the stay was quite enjoyable and lovely. The staff were quick to help and offer greetings and smiles always. Once when we got turned around looking for the gym the fellow cleaning one of the many smaller pools stopped what he was doing to show us the way- that was pretty cool. The little touches such as notes, gift baskets, flower petals with swan towels in our room provided by the resort were well received and nice surprises.
The pool bar staff was exceptional as a group, with special thanks to Charmaine, Althea, Marie Louise and Delano for many laughs and amazing drinks. Love in a cup will forever have a special meaning to us!
Food was good and consistent and the lava cake dessert at Mario's is not to be missed. Many options for all palates. Reservations are required for several restaurants and need to be made early in the week.
Many excursions available and opportunities for beach sports abound. Paddle boarding was fair due to the wind, Hobie cats were a lot of fun and snorkeling was worth the short boat ride. The circumnavigation excursion was a day well spent. Beach peddlers were friendly and a simple "no thank you" was enough to send them on their way.
On another note check-in was a disaster and entirely disorganized- what an awful start to a stay in paradise. This could have been much better managed on their end with more communication and staff available to assist. Check-out was equally unenjoyable with a "cattle herd" mentality- bus is here, get on if you can fight your way through the other 200 people headed for the same flights. Fortunately after the second drink on the beach after check in the experience became a more distant memory and the trip was pretty awesome until a similar experience at check out. Unfortunate bookends on a great trip. Also, still not sure what paying extra for concierge level service really gets anyone as the "concierge" desk happens to also serve as the main desk. Essentially we paid for a better room location.
Finally special thanks to Mitch at TripGuy.com- he was awesome! Further he helped us with a great trip and was spot on with his recommendations. We'll be telling everyone we can about him!

Room Tip: Higher floors in Mediterranean offer great views of property, pool and ocean. Lower floors may be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.