We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Bonus!!
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Favorite Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As usual Sandals did not dissapoint. Our room was wonderful and all the staff was professional and friendly. Our second time at Sandals Grande Antigua. We spent our first 3 days with friends at Galleon Beach and our last 7 days relaxing at Sandals. From the moment we arrived until the time of departure our stay was nothing short of spectacular.
Can't wait for Sandals Grenada to open. Will be there for sure in 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,688
    1,210
    472
    266
    200
See reviews for
90
3,923
12
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the second visit to Sandals Antigua, the first in Feb 2011 second Feb 2013. The resort is fantastic, the staff was great not to mention the food and service. The room was outstanding with a great view of the resort. We took the cadamaran tour of around the island stopping to snorkel and lunch. The crew of the Excellence were the best!
Thank you to Gem from the Island Tour office who was able to straighten a mix up in our reservation. Gem was able to get it corrected and on the around the island. The employees of the watersports were also fantastic, we took two snorkeling trips out to Paradise Reef spenidng time snorkeling and seeing lots of fish and corral. I wish I had taken a water camera with these two times. We had a candlelight dinner on the beach with a 4 course meal that was out of this world. Another night at Eleanors for dinner anothe outstanding meal. Breakfast at the Bayside Restauarant and Mario's. A dinner for returning guests where we met a intern Natalie from Denmark doing a 6 month internship at Sandals for her schooling for Hospitality Mgmt. We had a rock massage one day a facial a couple days later and a couple days after it we had a expholication and deep tissue massage the Red Lane Spa employees are like family. The last day we rented a cabana by the main pool where we were served breakfast, cooler of beverages of our choice, lunch and more beverages. It was was a disappointment when the last day arrived and we were to return to reality. Next year Sandals Negril Jamaica but Antigua will always be our first and second!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tburgontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the past 10 years we have travelled south every year for an all inclusive holiday. We have stayed at 3.5 to 5 star resorts throughout the Caribbean. SAG is definitely the best resort yet.

Within an hour of our plane landing we were through customs, got our luggage and were whisked away to the resort.

We stayed in a Bougainvillea suite with butler service which is located on the Caribbean side. The Caribbean side is just gorgeous and has a cottagy beachy feel to it. Our room was wonderful and cleaned perfectly everyday. Our butlers were Kevin, Vanessa and Julian. We only got to see Julian one day. All three of them went above and beyond to make sure our vacation was perfect.

We spent a lot of time at the pool on the Mediterranean side. Pool was huge, very clean and tons of chairs available. The service was hit and miss. However, the swim up bar wasnt far away and it was easy to head over there for beverages. The drinks were awesome - mimosa and the dirty bananas were yummy!!! Beer wasnt bad either :))

The food was good. We had some meals that stood out - Marios, Kimonos, Barefoot. On occasion the service was less than satsifactory - in Eleanors and the OK Coral.

On the whole the staff were wonderful, the resort breathtaking and just an overall great place to vacation.

We met a lot of wonderful people. Big hello to Barry and Marlene from Alberta, Debbie, Jay, Dianne and Paul from Timmins- also Tom and Norma from England. We hope to stay in touch with all of you!!!

Hope to be back next year or might try the new location in Grenada!

Room Tip: Caribbean side has a rustic island feel to it whereas, the mediterraean side is more hotelish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend 10 glorious days at Sandals Antigua in November 2012, and had so much fun that we went back for another 10 days in February, just 3 months later. Both times we stayed in the Med Village area, although we have stayed in the Caribbean Grove area 3 other visits, and that was wonderful too. We always enjoy everything about Sandals, from the beautiful beach to the huge pool, and the fantastic drinks. Antonio, Morrison, Kevin, and Shonte, and the rest of their entertainment crew kept us amused and active, and feeling loved! They are very friendly and attentive. The food was good, service just right, and anything you need will be provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was the first time on this island and we loved it! Perfect weather, friendly islanders and exceptional service. The resort exceeded our expectations, since most all inclusive's are usually just fair. It was clean, great service and delicious food. Lots of options for eating and drinking. The only thing we would improve is the entertainment. Not much to do at night, very low key. Took a 10 minute taxi ride to the town, great duty free shopping. Would highly recommend and would return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Sandals Grande Antigua for 2 weeks,arriving on the 18th February.transport from airport was well organised and only took 15minutes to get to the hotel.on arrival no one helped to take our luggage from the bus to the lobby,but we were soon taken to the concierge office,check in was very easy,with a glass of fizz,but no towel offered,apart from this the concierge service was excellent,the girl who took us to our room was great,even setting up my iPad for me.
The room was exactly what we asked for in the Anthurium building,with a walkout to the pool.The room itself was lovely with everything provided,plenty of towels,etc,and of course the fully stocked bar and refrigerator.Our room maid Rosetta was delightful.
The choice of restaurants is excellent.we always had breakfast at Bayside,lovely setting and a great choice of food,and cheerful staff.Bayside also did a great lunch,we also tried the courtyard bistro and the pizzeria.
Over the 2weeks we tried all the restaurants.Kimonos was fantastic the first time,Eric was the chef and he was a star performer,great fun and great chef. We went again the following week,and told our fellow guests what a great meal it would be,sadly it wasn't,the chef was very young and didn't have any showmanship,and didn't cook so well.
We had several meals at Marios,and they were all very good with good service.
We enjoyed Eleanor's twice,Vittorio helps to enhance the experience with his friendliness and chat.
Barefoot was also great,very friendly service and lovely fish dishes.
We went to the Cricketers on our last day and the food was again very good and the service very friendly.
We often used the Cafe de Paris for morning coffee and in the evening it was great to go there after a meal and have some of their speciality drinks,lovely place to sit and relax and watch the world go by.
During the day we loved laying by our small pool,nice and peaceful.we would always venture down to the small swim up bar,the best part meeting the lovely Latoya,the best member of staff at the hotel,always friendly and made us great surprise cocktails every day,what a star!
We used the beach later in the afternoon,loved it,and nice to be asked if you wanted a drink by the waitresses.
This was our third Sandals experience and by far the best,we will return soon.
Only a couple of faults,the arrival experience,and we never got a call from the concierge desk to enquire how we were doing.Housekeeping at weekends was not so good,we had to call for a room clean.but these didn't spoil our holiday!
This was a great holiday,all the staff take time to say hello and chat when possible.

Room Tip: We loved the Caribbean side,room 812 was perfect,quiet and by a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Overall: As with most reviews we read on TripAdvisor we disregarded the top 10% and bottom 10% of comments and booked here despite the occasional bashing. We found the entire location and vacation to be great and what we would expect for the money we spent.

Property: Well kept but not perfect, constantly working. They’re hearing the comments on Trip Advisor and you see them working on upgrades and maintenance daily. Beach maintenance was every AM. Overall very much in line with what we expect and have experienced at other Caribbean resorts of similar rating.

Room/Service: Stayed in 5000 building on Med side 3rd floor. Room was clean upon arrival and handled well each day, Fridge was restocked to our request every day but one. HVAC worked well, good water, bathroom facility, bed, and balcony.

Staff: We encountered nothing but polite and cordial staff most anywhere we went. Efficient and professional from arrival through to the end. There may have been an issue here at one point but they seem to be handling customer service training well! Drinks around pool and beach could be a little faster but, depending on where exactly you're sitting they could be going a little ways to get them for you.

Entertainment: Entertainment was pretty decent. Having been to many Iberostar resorts and other Sandals this is tough to measure. Lots of jazz and disco tunes but local flair entertainment was real good (steel drums, reggae, etc). Most venues smaller but they do a good job of mixing the entertainment and sites around the property so you're not always sitting in the same place. If you're looking for a large disco/late night like at Iberostar or Sandals Grande St. Lucia this is not the place for you. We're not late people on vacation so this was not an issue for us but could see where those desiring to party into the night might be disappointed.

Dive Shop: Diving here was off the charts! Almost virgin locations and smooth sailing. Awesome, exotic critters including HUGE spotted eagle ray and large schools of Spadefish. Guys at dive shop REALLY work hard since there is no dock and they have to ferry all the equipment to and from the boat daily! Alex runs a tight ship, though, and we thoroughly enjoyed just about every dive. Boat crews were efficient and helpful. They kept boats well staffed for the number of divers each day. A good, hard working crew!!

Beaches: Most reviews are correct: (almost unbelievably) beautiful sand and water color, soft sand, local vendors. didn't find any locals to be overly pushy, a simple "no thank you" did the trick in most cases. Could use a little more shade but tough to do given Sandals doesn't "own" the beach. Saw the crew cleaning each morning early AM and raking to perfection. Really did a great job preparing the site for daily use!

Food: We're not fish eaters or overly sophisticated so most everything we had was good for us. Pizza was GREAT, liked the OK Corral (great chili appetizer) and loved Mario's. Mario's pasta was good as was their soup and salads. Plenty of simple food around for lunches.

Room Tip: We'd recommend the Med side simply because the paths and pools were RIGHT up to rooms on Carib s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.