We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 65%!
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Carteret, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Resort was well kept, service was excellent. Food was great- didn't like having to make reservations for certain restaurants or dressing for dinner, but wife enjoyed dressing up a few nights. The bars and restaurants are well staffed and the service is excellent. Beach is cleaned daily, and the entrances back into the resorts are staffed 24 hrs a day with security. We took a boat tour, again the hotel staff arranged it and we had a great time.

Room Tip: We had the conceirge rooms in the "old" section. Absolutely a much better choice than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,277
    1,052
    411
    235
    189
See reviews for
75
3341
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (922)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm a little late writing this. But I noticed when I was looking into information about weddings done here, I found very little information. So here goes nothing

Wedding:
My husband and I got married first week in November, 2012. What a great experience! The first day we arrived, we got an appointment for the next day with the wedding coordinator and a trip to the courthouse. During our wedding interview, you go over all the details of the wedding from the cake, to wedding pictures to music everything. We brought our wedding CD which calls for 4 songs. We also paid the extra $500 a videographer since we had no family or friends with us, video was fantastic. We went to the courthouse that day and women can dress casual but above the knees. The courthouse paperwork was superquick since the paperwork is done at the wedding interview. If you been divorced, make sure you bring certified copies, everything went so quick. We got married two days later and was fantastic. Nasasha ran the wedding and I had a person help me with my dress (also an extra cost) which was great because my hubby didnt see me in the dress. I had an hair appointment a couple of hours prior to the wedding and they did a great job. The ceremony was fantastic. Everything went smooth and they really make a feel like your own. However, we did the ceremony at the hottest time of the day at 2pm and would not recommend that as you have to take pictures on the beach. But our pictures came out great thanks to Delmore. You pick one of the restuarants to have your wedding dinner and it was nice as it was personalized. Overall, the wedding was a great experience.

Hotel:
When you get off the plane to get to your bags, beware of guys with yellow shirts and hats as they do not work for Sandals and expect a tip when they bring your stuff to desk outside. You go right across the street and wait for the van to take you to the hotel which is about 15 minutes. When you get to the hotel, they welcome you with champagne and cooling rag which is refreshing after sitting in the van. You get checked right in and within 15 minutes arriving at the hotel, someone takes you to your room.
We stayed in the Mediterranean Village of the Resort. These rooms are more modern and just a little walk to the rest of the resort. We had the Grande Luxe St. Tropez Sunset Oceanview Suite. This room was a perfect size, awesome bathroom and wonderful view of the rest of the resort and ocean. Had no issues with the room. The resort would experience very very short outages but this only happened a couple of times during our stay. Not enough to damper the trip.
Our concierge staff was awesome and brought anything we needed for the minibar which came in very handy.

Food:
The food is good and there's so much options for breakfast, lunch and dinner you just have to try them all. I wasn't impressed with Mario's (dinner) but sushi bar was really great and OK Coral had an awesome breakfast and dinner. So try them out.

Entertainment:
You might read from other reviews that the entertainment lacks, but it really is what you make of it. Make sure you get to the Staff Talent night, we almost missed the whole thing but the Entertainment director: Emmanuel was awesome. Everyone ends up at the Cricketeer Pub so enjoy the karaoke and DJ music night. There was also a live jazz band. But sometimes its nice to just walk around and sit by he firepit :).

Pool/Beach:
The beach is beautiful if you want to hang there all day but there is no close bar which means you would have to walk back and forth to get your drink (by the pool, I recommend the dirty banana). We also rented a jet ski off one of the vendors (not covered by Sandals) and it was pretty nice. Most of the Sandals water sports like water tryke were broken, but the sail is awesome so go for it and there's no time limit, so enjoy. Also, there are a few vendors on the beach but a simple no thank you would suffice. The pool is oustanding, theres good music during the day and if you get up early enough, just throw your towels on some chairs, we got great seats every day we were there (near the bar), was just awesome to relax.

Spa:
The spa reps annoy everywhere you turn but if you tell them you booked already, theyll leave you alone. I suggest using your free credit for the spa as the massages are awesome, they just always try to sell you the couples one later if thats what you like great.

Excursion:
Our excursion was cancelled probably because lack of people that got it so I didn't get to do any snorkeling :(. However, if you go to the front desk, you can ask them to call a cab for you and can take you into town for a couple of hours if you want to do light shopping. We were only out for a couple of hours and our cab driver picked us up and took us right back.

Just as note: Beware the sandflies. My husband was abused by them all week, use bug spray and if you get bit, just go to the shop, theres a great reliever for it and it goes away too.

Overall, this resort, the staff, wedding and everything was just really great. A week in this resort was a good enough stay to experience everything. Can't wait to go back for one of our anniversaries!

Room Tip: Stay at Meditarrean side, great views, modern and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are regular guests of Sandals...This year for our 1st Anniversary, we wanted to visit an island we hadn't been to yet...So, February 10th-18th, it was off to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa..
Now first off, don't you dare pay any attention to the handful of "terrible" reviews on this site regarding the resort..It's absolutely beautiful!
We stayed on the Caribbean side in a Concierge Room..It was clean, spacious and our fridge was stocked daily with all of our favorite drinks..
The restaurants were full of great food and amazing atmosphere..Our favorite's were Mario's and Kimonos..Try the Lava Cake for desert at Mario's, it's an evil delight..
The beach was gorgeous...White sand, turquoise waters and very little wind made for restful lounging and sunbathing..The vendors out there were courteous and respectful..
There are several pools, however nothing beat the atmosphere at the largest one located below the Mediterranean buildings..The music was great, the water was warm yet still refreshing and the swim up bar really came in handy...My two favorite drinks besides their local beer "Waddalli" were the "Dirty Banana" and "Miami Vice" (both frozen drinks)...Other reviewers boasted about no "pool chair wars"...Unfortunately, the chair vultures are everywhere, this place being no exception..The resort even posts signs discouraging this behavior, however you'll quickly learn that if you can't beat'm, you might as well join'em..Just get your towel and magazine on your favorite chair by 8:30 or you might be forced somewhere less desireable..
Lots of people complained about mot getting restaurant reservations, or special treatment for some guests who don't have to wait in lines either at dinner or for seating at the pool..I'll save you some confusion...The guests that pay extra for Suites which include a Butler get special treatment..It's a little annoying at first, but I can totally understand..I know how much those options cost..How can you not expect some special amenities? Good for them, we were envious..
Anyway, we had an amazing time..It was romantic, relaxing and fun..If you're a returning Sandals guest, don't miss the Gala Dinner put on my Management..It was elegant, entertaining and they really know how to show their appreciation..
Thanks to all the wonderful staff..Everyone is helpful and accommodating..Other reviewers with the opposite opinion obviously expect to much from these people..They were great..We even had a guitar player/singer serenade us while we ate lunch on our last day to say goodbye...It was corny, but cute...
Although we plan to try a different Sandals on another island next year, I plan on insisting our return to Sandals Grande Antigua again soon! Cheers!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our third visit hear it and what more can i say just as lovely as ever, there has been some nice additions too which have made that extra sparkle , we just love this resort (and other sandals resorts too) the staff are all so freindly (especialy Claudie and Kema), get involved with the water sports and your find the staff there are great fun , we took my wifes brother and partner along with us this time it was there first visit ,they were amazed how lovely the resort and gardens were they loved every minute of there stay there , the court yard cafe is a great little spot to have an early morning coffee and a great little place to have cakes and tea or coffee in the afternoon, the gardens are kept emaculate which makes the resort so nice, will be looking forward to our next visit here again some time again

Terry and Julie

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wife and I spend a week here for our honeymoon in July of 2012...only had a few minor issues that bugged me not my wife...first off the room we had paid for didnt quite match the pictures from the website but was still a nice little room by the volleyball pit...only other issue was our air conditioner started dripping like crazy which I was ok with but it took 3 calls to the desk to get someone to fix it...over all great experience and the food was awesome...most importantly the intern or whatever he was named Junior was absoulty amazing, he seemed to truely care about our happiness, saw him several times and everytime he had a huge smile on his face and took the time to chat with us...great employee and hope Sandals keeps him around...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We wanted a trip where we didn't have to worry about a thing, and we got it! Right from checking in to checking out. The property was so well landscaped, rooms were clean and well stocked, food was good and beach was beautiful. The staff was polite and very friendly. We always found a lounge chair, be it on the beach or by the pool. I'm trying to find a thing I can complain about, and there is nothing....except having to go home to cold weather. This was our first experience at a Sandals and we loved it. It does cost a little bit more, but it's worth it. We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Select Rooms on the Meditranian side, newer rooms. Carribean side is old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing mid winter getaway. We have been to several other Caribbean Islands, including an all inclusive in DR but this was our first time to Sandals. We do a lot of other trips that involve hiking and biking and other activities but we just wanted to lay in the sun for a few days. Our experience was exactly what we hoped for. The property was quite large and the gardens were beautiful. We stayed on the Caribbean side and our room in sunset bluff was standard and the bathroom needed to be a bit larger with an extra vanity but it was fine for the price.

There were plenty of choices for eating and making reservations was not an issue as long as you make them in advance. If you are going for the food then you may be disappointed. This is an all inclusive so do not expect 5 star dining, but by no means in the food bad.

We found the staff to be very nice contrary to the prior reviews. The main pool was fabulous and there were plenty of chairs even at 10:00 a.m., although getting one with an umbrella is next to impossible unless you have a butler to reserve one for you. The beach was clean and the water was warmer than the pool, no issues with people trying to sell you stuff. Just say a polite no and they leave you alone.

We highly recommend taking a catamaran tour with Wadadli Cats. It is a 7 hour excursion around the entire island. They stop at a secluded beach to snorkel and we were quite impressed with the lunch. The staff on the catamaran was fabulous and kept the drinks flowing the entire afternoon. They pick you up and drop you off right from the beach in front of the hotel.

We had a direct flight out of JFK and arrived in Antigua in less than 4 hours. The transfer was 15 minutes tops. Antigua is beautiful and we met some really great people from LI, NJ and Toronto. We really enjoyed the Sandals experience and aside from the excursion you do not have to spend a dollar. If you are looking for a nice beach get away with your significant other and don't want to deal with kids screaming at the pool then give Sandals a try. We are already planning a trip for next year to another Sandals location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.