We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Heaven in the Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Red Lane® Spa Bonanza!!
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in St. John's
New Hyde Park, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A piece of Heaven in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful resort!   Service was better than excellent.  Management was never better.   Very accommodating and makes everyone feel special. My hats off to Matthew Cornall. He is a warm, friendly and wonderful manager.

The grounds here are incredible.  It's two fabulous resorts in one.  Caribbean side is older, yet extremely charming.   Very quiet and private areas, and some with direct access to the beach.  Most of the action at night was at the Caribbean square.  Great entertainment.  A lively gathering area.

The newer, Mediterranean area is quite beautiful. Balconies are small, but the extra large marble bathroom areas certainly make up for that.

Favorite restaurant was Elaine's Caribbean.  Fresh seafood and lobster in season.
Barefoot by the Sea offered great atmosphere at night for dinner, which  was also quite good.
The sushi restaurant was better than excellent.

Downfall here is trying to get a lounge chair at the main pool.

All in all, a great resort on a beautiful island.  Can't wait to return to this little piece of heaven, right here in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,311
    1,068
    417
    238
    190
See reviews for
78
3391
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sandals Grande Antigua Resort during Jan 21 to 28. It is an outstanding vacation spot. Our room was located on the fourth floor of the Crystal Tower and provided an excellent view of the main pool area as well as the beach. A large four poster king size bed, a daily fully stocked bar as well a large a very well appointed washroom greeted us every day. The service is impeccable.

There are a number of a la carte restaurants, all of which the OK Corral that we attended. Marios and Bayside offer excellent buffet breakfasts, we enjoyed both. Barefoot by the Sea is superb as it is directly on the beach with an incredible view – try the hummus for lunch. The Criketers British Pub is authentic and offers great grub, we especially enjoyed the pulled pork sliders. At Eleanor's my wife enjoyed the biggest lobster tail she has ever seen in her life. Kimono's offers a Ginsu knife like live show when preparing authentic Japanese food.

Tip
Kimono's, Eleanor's and the OK Corral require reservations, they are very popular so book them early in your stay other otherwise you'll be dining late

Also - bring some bug spray there are tiny mosquitoes (the resort sprays for these each afternoon) or sand mites that that like to bite.

Loved the Scuba, if you are taken on a tour with "Tiny", you'll know what I mean.

Finally, we HIGHLY recommend the Segway tour. We always enjoy getting off the resort, though are always looking for something a bit different from the ordinary. The ladies there will orient you on these cool little "personal mobility devices" that by looking at them – you'd never figure they'd transport you, let alone be able to get on and off of! You'll be taken on a tour of residential as well as off the beaten path secluded beaches that are spectacular. We enjoyed the tour the ladies gave us of Fort James that overlooks the St. John harbour.

This is our third Sandals (Grande St Lucian, White House before that) and while we enjoyed the first two. This one is at the top of our list. We will be going back

Room Tip: Kimono's, Eleanor's and the OK Corral require reservations, they are very popular so book th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The 7-day vacation to the Sandals Grande Antigua resort (from January 22nd to January 28th) that my wife and I enjoyed was incredible. An amazing beach, an outstanding pool, great food and drink, and spacious accommodations.

But, before you go, there are some things to know (not criticisms, just helpful hints to make your stay even better).

BACKGROUND:
7-day, 6-night stay (Sunday-Saturday)

ROOM:
Concierge suite on 2nd floor of Anthurium Building (corner room gave us more space from front door to balcony).

Full bar (local liquors (vodka, scotch, light rum), a bottle each of white and red wine (Beringer Stone Cellars label)), champagne, water, sodas, and juices.

Comfortable king-size, four-poster plantation-style bed.

Flat-screen, plasma TV (with NYC TV stations, FoxNews, HBO and Cinemax).

Smallish bathroom (but we didn't honestly spend that much time on the room).

ROOM LOCATION:
Three-minute walk to St. Mark's Square, Mario's Restaurant, Cricketers Arms Pub, main pool.

Four-minute walk to Caribbean Grove Lobby/Guest Entrance, Eleanor's Restaurant, Bayside Restaurant, Barefoot Restaurant, Kimonos Restaurant.

Six-minute walk to spa, fitness center.

RESTAURANTS:
Mario's Restaurant: Where we ate breakfast every morning. Great selection.

Cricketers Arms Pub: Dinner (1st night). Pub fare (burgers, fries, beer). No reservation needed.

Bayside Restaurant: Dinner (2nd night). They put on an "Island BBQ", which was very tasty. We had dinner right on the beach! No reservation needed.

Barefoot Restaurant: Dinner (3rd night, 5th night). Best food we had during our stay. Great location with torches burning next to tables that are right in the sand just 20-yards from the beach, where you could hear the waves crashing. I'd recommend the seafood platter. No reservations needed.

Kimonos Restaurant: Dinner (4th night). Great food made on a hot grill right in front of you. The chef, Teddy, was quite the showman! Wait staff sang pop songs while they poured drinks and served food. Hilarious! Reservation required (but well worth it!).

Eleanor's Restaurant: Dinner (6th night). What a great way to cap off our stay! Though our reservation was late (8:15pm), we took it, and had a great dinner. Great spot along the beach with waves crashing just 20-yards away. The lobster was a little dry, however. Reservation required.

POOL:
While our room overlooked the pool that our building surrounded, we always went to the main pool (with swim-up bar!) Chairs are at a premium. Translation: get them early. By 9:00am, most are spoken for. We would get breakfast at Mario's (which overlooks the pool) at 8:00am, then get ours chairs. That seemed to work. Others would take towels to breakfast, throw them over the chairs they wanted (to save them), and come back later. Sneaky, but effective.

TIPS & TRICKS:
Staff photographers are everywhere, and will take your picture often. That said, the pictures are pretty good. But, don't go check them out, or buy them, right away. Wait until the end of your stay, then go and look through all of your pictures. That way, you don't spend money on two separate (and expensive) photo packages when you can get one big photo package and save a bit of money. I would highly recommend a "sunset" photo shoot. That's where we got our best pictures.

STAFF: These are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. Most go out of their way to accommodate you, and apologize profusely when their response may fall short of expectation. That said, some staff members seem almost indifferent to your needs. I think that goes with the territory at an all-inclusive resort where you don't tip.

Overall, this was a wonderful experience that my wife, and I, hope to repeat someday.

Room Tip: ROOM: Concierge suite on 2nd floor of Anthurium Building (corner room gave us more space from front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at this resort mid January. Beautiful weather, facility etc as would be expected at Sandals. Absolutely stand out Concierge Albert, setting up an "Escapaded" room with floral bubble bath, and a chilled bottle of his special blend of champagne while we were out for the day. I found that compared to Sandals Grande St. Lucian, Antigua did not measure up. But we both felt the people of Antigua made up for the lack of personality at the resort itself. We will not be back to Antigua Sandals but definitely would choose the St. Lucia resort again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Went here for our 10th wedding anniversary booked a garden of eden room in the caribbean grove and when we checked in we were asked if we minded to be upgraded to a venitian suite in the mediterranean village a £4500 upgrade for free! So the holiday was of to a wonderful start. Had no complaints to report food, service, room, services, staff made you feel special so all in all had a wonderful time and have now booked to go to Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very beautiful place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peconic, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife Kathy and I just returned from 10 days at the resort. It was a grand time. 5 stars! Excellent activities, rooms, beach, pools, food, service, ambiance, etc. Staff expertise was everywhere, especially Latoya, bartender at the Med pool bar, and Merisa, sports activities guru. Kathy also celebrated her birthday there and the staff made it a memorable day. Memorable is the best word to describe our moment in time at the ressort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.