We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 3* Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful 3* Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have just returned from a week long stay at the halcyon cove and found it a charming hotel. Our room was overlooking the beach and had a separate dressing area. It was spacious, had own fridge, air con, ceiling fan, flat TV with cable. So relaxing sitting out on the room balcony watching the sun set and listerning to the waves gently lapping the sandy beach.
Eleanor came in every day and cleaned the room thoroughly.
The food was of a good standard for 3* hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was tired in places but as a base it is well positioned on a beautiful bay.
If you want to do your own thing and need a quiet hotel then this is ideal. Overall good value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a beachfront suite on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    476
    226
    137
    94
See reviews for
264
557
43
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

All I can say is do not stay at this hotel.

After an amazing 9 days in Antigua at one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in (Verandah Resort & Spa) we had to stay at the Halcyon Cove after our flight was too busy to get on. Our airline recommended it so we thought it would be fine. How wrong we were.

We arrived late at night and once we had checked in no one showed us to our room. Once we opened the door we were greeted by a room that I would say has not be modernised since it was first decorated. The room was dirty. Mould and hair in the bathroom, the water ran brown when the tap was first turned on. The bed sheets had stains and marks that I don’t want to even think about what they were.

The next morning we asked for the room to be cleaned and asked for another towel as there wasn’t enough for the two of us. We had to ask three times throughout the day before we were given another towel. Someone had come to clean the room but had done a rubbish job as the dirt and hair was still there.

Being as we were only there for one day we tried to just enjoy the sun. Sitting by the pool trying to relax a massive speaker was wheeled out and turned up full volume by a member of staff and left like this for a good half an hour before he returned and did water aerobics. Why it had to be on for half an hour before I have no idea. Also the beach towels we were given were old and mismatched.

The best bit about the hotel was the alcohol so you could drink to forget how bad it was.

Like I said at the start if you are going to Antigua stay at the Verandah Resort & Spa

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from Halcyon Cove - we arrived in the rain in the dark and were a tad underwhelmed - it is true the Resort needs attention - however... it was perfectly quiet for us - met lots of lovely local people and holiday makers alike - the resort is on the beach - it is the only resort where you can eat on the pier (which is obviously not open during the rainy days) - the Arrawak Terrace restaurant offers a buffet - the Warri Pier is A La Carte - both offering good quality food - usually soup and salad as starter, chicken, meat and fish or veg course and an assortment of puddings as well as icecream. The service was fabulous, friendly and second to none. The Carib Bar next to the beach offered lunch of more soups, fish, rice, pizzas, chips, burgers, sausages aswell as foods such as curried goat and chicken dishes - something to suit everyone - one day we had typical antiguan food which was an eye opener to the culture of the island - Dickenson Bay is one of the best beaches on the island and hosts lots of fish, coral reefs and we saw dolphins and turtles from the shore. As we were all inclusive, we could use the Watersports equipment from the hotel and Ken did an awesome job of helping us have the best time on the water. We sailed the hobi cats, windsurfed nearly every day and used the kayaks for as long as we wanted. Ken and his Dad also runs a snorkelling experience which we did at an extra cost which was unmissable - my other half swam with sting rays and we saw an amazing amount of fish on Cades reef not far from the hotel. The entertainment run by Fenton was good, we had a fire eater, some dancing girls, a typical steel pan band and played cricket and did aqua aerobics, enough for us as we were sooo tired in the evenings - a must when you are here is to go on the Waddlii Cat where u will go around the island to see the whole of Antigua! A bit of snorkelling, a fabulous lunch and lots of fun. Yes, I agree with some of the neg comments that Halcyon needs a bit of work but next to Sandals I know what I would prefer... if you are in Antigua and you want to experience the local way, this is the resort - we did have quite a bit of seaweed on the beach whilst we were there, we didnt mind as we are from pembrokeshire and used to seaweed but it could put you off - the hotel should clear this, also the resort does have a deal with the cruise ships and some days the beach is overrun with these day visitors but again this did not bother us. A mention about the bar staff Austin and Dolston - they were fabulous and very hard working - this place has to have the best staff I have come across on holiday - this far outways the need for perfection iwo accommodation, the room we had looked over the pool and towards the beach (lovely view) and was very clean - it was very spacious with a massive bed.

Room Tip: beach view rooms are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was the first time my boyfriend and I visited Antigua and the halcyon cove, it was recommended by his parents who went 5 years ago.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially Fenton who was very funny and constantly entertaining. Also was very good to us when we wanted to have a late check out of our room. He also ran all the actives that were taken place at the hotel. So go to him if you have any problems and he will be happy to sort them out. All the bar staff and waiters and waitresses were friendly all the time and always had a smile on there face, even after they worked a whole day they were still cheerful. The rooms are basic and could be updated, but they were cleaned every day. we had an ocean view room which was lovely, but there was a door that joined to the next room and if there were people staying next door then you could here them. So it could be quite noisy at times, But it was very spacious and the bed was a good size. The beach was lovely but when it was rough from storms there was quite a lot of seaweed and they didn't really clean it away, they just put it in piles and left it. where as the other beaches removed it completely but we were not to worried about that. The food was good we mainly ate at the restaurant as the pier was only open one of the nights, which we were quite disappointed at as it was not busy when we stayed so they could of opened it. The food was mixture of buffet and a la carte it was basic but nice, there could be a little more variety though. They did have the grill open for lunch most of the week which is just off the beach where they did more of a variety. There was only night time entertainment on the last 2 nights we stayed so they other nights we either stayed at the bar or went to our room, which was a little disappointing.
All in all it was a good holiday but there could be room for improvements, but it depends on what you like and what your expectations are. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a quiet and comfortable surroundings this is the one for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a short stay at this hotel and we were so disappointed. The room was so old and dated and the grout around the bath is so nasty. the food was poor and all the cooks uses their bare hands to touch things no gloves whatsoever. The service at meal times is poor its a hit or miss. No activities or entertainment just a guy and a girl walking together asking how we did, but the gentleman is always on his phone to busy for us. One night they had a fire show and he is in jeans and regular ropas, we almost didnt know who he was no uniform. We were at hotel because of airline problems for more tan one days. The place is nice and people not nice to us maybe because we were not English but i know enough to understand. We hope the people be nice to everyone. Little woman at bar nice and say no alcohol but other one rude. Nice people at the infrenta the girls and one fat man.

Room Tip: see beach rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved our week in Halcyon Cove and wished it was longer. As most people say ,it's clean has lovely friendly helpful staff and was very quiet...don't know how it would be later in the season, there were so few people there 18th Oct week.
Whereas the staff will do all they can to help, the main restaurant is up on a terrace with a long flight of stairs and no lift which would be a problem for a lot of disabled people, though my friend managed it with 2 sticks. ...apart from that everything else was so accessible.
The beach is clean and water warm and clear, however there is a ledge of sand into the water which is only about a foot down but does cause older people and very young people some difficulty though most find ways of dealing with it....believe it was caused by a bad storm and is just as likely to disappear with sea movement anytime..however at the other end of the beach there was an easier walk into the sea in the small cove.
The food was good but choices limited though different menu each night...4 choices including one vegetarian option...lovely desserts and soup..we ate on the pier most nights as so few people
there... the upstairs restaurant wasn't viable as well
Sunday night is party night at Shirley Heights ...at 4 pm steel band plays and you watch the most incredible sunsets up there......the local bands come on at 7pm and then all the locals arrive for 1 big party.....BBQ there also...go by taxi and they wait for you...costs a bit but negotiate and worth it.
Would love to go again

Room Tip: We had 236 ground floor faces pool can hear music but not too loud and finishes at 11 pm anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The Halcyon Cove is situated at the far end of Dickenson Bay, a little piece of paradise. Blue waters, white sands and peace and quiet.
The hotel itself is of a fair standard for a three star grading. We found only the bathroom needed upgrading. The room was spacious and had all necessary equipment e.g. Hairdryer, fridge, ample wardrobe space and a gigantic queen size bed.
Maid service was excellent and our room was cleaned each day to a good standard, with fresh towels daily if required and a change of bed linen.
To us the watersports service was exceptional with Ken and his father providing a top class service and knowledge of the surrounding water and fish species.
The food was extremely tasty and plentiful and drinks were available at all times at the bar by the beach/pool. Service staff were always smiling and cheerful - Leverne, Otis and Ronis.
As the hotel was operating at low occupancy in October there was a lack of entertainment in the evenings. On the other hand we got to know all the other guests very well and found this an added bonus.
We travelled with a 12 year old who was not bored and found friends and plenty to keep her amused. Trips around the island, such as Wadadli Catamarans and Shirley Heights, are a must.
All in all a quiet, relaxing taste of paradise.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#11 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.