We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldnt be friendler, room for improvements.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“couldnt be friendler, room for improvements.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was the first time my boyfriend and I visited Antigua and the halcyon cove, it was recommended by his parents who went 5 years ago.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially Fenton who was very funny and constantly entertaining. Also was very good to us when we wanted to have a late check out of our room. He also ran all the actives that were taken place at the hotel. So go to him if you have any problems and he will be happy to sort them out. All the bar staff and waiters and waitresses were friendly all the time and always had a smile on there face, even after they worked a whole day they were still cheerful. The rooms are basic and could be updated, but they were cleaned every day. we had an ocean view room which was lovely, but there was a door that joined to the next room and if there were people staying next door then you could here them. So it could be quite noisy at times, But it was very spacious and the bed was a good size. The beach was lovely but when it was rough from storms there was quite a lot of seaweed and they didn't really clean it away, they just put it in piles and left it. where as the other beaches removed it completely but we were not to worried about that. The food was good we mainly ate at the restaurant as the pier was only open one of the nights, which we were quite disappointed at as it was not busy when we stayed so they could of opened it. The food was mixture of buffet and a la carte it was basic but nice, there could be a little more variety though. They did have the grill open for lunch most of the week which is just off the beach where they did more of a variety. There was only night time entertainment on the last 2 nights we stayed so they other nights we either stayed at the bar or went to our room, which was a little disappointing.
All in all it was a good holiday but there could be room for improvements, but it depends on what you like and what your expectations are. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a quiet and comfortable surroundings this is the one for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    538
    261
    146
    109
See reviews for
294
654
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a short stay at this hotel and we were so disappointed. The room was so old and dated and the grout around the bath is so nasty. the food was poor and all the cooks uses their bare hands to touch things no gloves whatsoever. The service at meal times is poor its a hit or miss. No activities or entertainment just a guy and a girl walking together asking how we did, but the gentleman is always on his phone to busy for us. One night they had a fire show and he is in jeans and regular ropas, we almost didnt know who he was no uniform. We were at hotel because of airline problems for more tan one days. The place is nice and people not nice to us maybe because we were not English but i know enough to understand. We hope the people be nice to everyone. Little woman at bar nice and say no alcohol but other one rude. Nice people at the infrenta the girls and one fat man.

Room Tip: see beach rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved our week in Halcyon Cove and wished it was longer. As most people say ,it's clean has lovely friendly helpful staff and was very quiet...don't know how it would be later in the season, there were so few people there 18th Oct week.
Whereas the staff will do all they can to help, the main restaurant is up on a terrace with a long flight of stairs and no lift which would be a problem for a lot of disabled people, though my friend managed it with 2 sticks. ...apart from that everything else was so accessible.
The beach is clean and water warm and clear, however there is a ledge of sand into the water which is only about a foot down but does cause older people and very young people some difficulty though most find ways of dealing with it....believe it was caused by a bad storm and is just as likely to disappear with sea movement anytime..however at the other end of the beach there was an easier walk into the sea in the small cove.
The food was good but choices limited though different menu each night...4 choices including one vegetarian option...lovely desserts and soup..we ate on the pier most nights as so few people
there... the upstairs restaurant wasn't viable as well
Sunday night is party night at Shirley Heights ...at 4 pm steel band plays and you watch the most incredible sunsets up there......the local bands come on at 7pm and then all the locals arrive for 1 big party.....BBQ there also...go by taxi and they wait for you...costs a bit but negotiate and worth it.
Would love to go again

Room Tip: We had 236 ground floor faces pool can hear music but not too loud and finishes at 11 pm anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The Halcyon Cove is situated at the far end of Dickenson Bay, a little piece of paradise. Blue waters, white sands and peace and quiet.
The hotel itself is of a fair standard for a three star grading. We found only the bathroom needed upgrading. The room was spacious and had all necessary equipment e.g. Hairdryer, fridge, ample wardrobe space and a gigantic queen size bed.
Maid service was excellent and our room was cleaned each day to a good standard, with fresh towels daily if required and a change of bed linen.
To us the watersports service was exceptional with Ken and his father providing a top class service and knowledge of the surrounding water and fish species.
The food was extremely tasty and plentiful and drinks were available at all times at the bar by the beach/pool. Service staff were always smiling and cheerful - Leverne, Otis and Ronis.
As the hotel was operating at low occupancy in October there was a lack of entertainment in the evenings. On the other hand we got to know all the other guests very well and found this an added bonus.
We travelled with a 12 year old who was not bored and found friends and plenty to keep her amused. Trips around the island, such as Wadadli Catamarans and Shirley Heights, are a must.
All in all a quiet, relaxing taste of paradise.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

halycon cove resort is in lovely situation clean and the staff are wonderful. it is a little bit tired but very clean. lovely beach and pool.the last time i went to this hotel the food was first class but this time it was no where as good. as it is so beautiful there i wood definatly holiday there again. the weather was great had a great time.

Room Tip: pool rooms are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candia, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband, mother-in-law, and I recently stayed here, as we were attending a wedding at Sandals next door. The price was half of what Sandals was charging.
The property itself is a bit tired (more noticeable after visiting Sandals). However, it is very clean and grounds are well maintained. We were fortunate to have two rooms on the ground floor near the pool. This is such a great spot, as we could see the beach and easily walk to the bar and lunch area. The pool is large enough, and every morning they cleaned it. Plenty of lounge chairs and shade area. The beach is spectacular! Not crowded, beautiful sand, and very walkable. Non motorized water sports are included. Ken is most helpful, and even took us snorkeling with another family.
As this is now strictly an all inclusive resort, drinks and food were part of the package. All of the bartenders are attentive and not stingy with the rum. When visiting Sandals, we always waited for drinks. Breakfast is served on the patio in the back of the resort. It was standard fare, with an omllet station. Lunch is served at the grill area next to the beach/pool bar. There were several hot selections, hamburgers made to order, salads and desserts. There is an afternoon tea on the pier. As I am American, this was lost on me. Dinner on the pier was wonderful! There were usually three selections, which always included a fish. We had the fish every night, and loved every bite. There was not much for night life at the resort, but down the beach there was more happening.
What truly make this place great is it's staff. Fenton, Dolston, Corlette, Julian (just to name a few) and the rest of the staff, are so wonderful and attentive. It was the slow season while we were there and everyone got to know each other, guests and staff alike. It felt like we were in a by gone era.
There were not many children on the resort while we were there. The guests were primarily over 40 and well traveled, mostly from Europe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
557 helpful votes 557 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel has several great things going for it. Firstly the staff, they are brilliant. I will name a few that stand out. Fenton, Margeretta, Heleen, Dolston & Austin. Everyone we came into contact with was very friendly and extremely helpful. The second thing this hotel has would be the best beach and location on the island. Dickenson Bay is brilliant and the Halcyon Cove is nestled at one end. To walk the full length of the beach up to the headland and back will take some 3/4 hour to achieve. The sea is wonderful and the setting perfect. We love coming to this hotel and have been here in 1993, 2012 and now 2013. This hotel closed for approximately a month this year to carry out alterations which included the removal of a pool side block and the construction of undercover seating areas around the bar and lunchtime buffet area. The place is more open now and better for the changes. I can understand other reviews making comments about the rooms inside appearing tired. We travelled in a party of eight and had four rooms which we were lucky enough to get together right by the poolside, 227, 228, 229 & 230. Each room also now has the bonus of a sea-view as well. Each room although very spacious had very minor things which needed some attention. Nothing that would put you off a holiday here at the Halcyon Cove. We slept well every night in our very large comfortable bed and had our air conditioning on all the time. Maid service is perfect and the rooms were maintained and floors washed on a daily basis. This hotel is advertised as a 3 star hotel, and if you remember that fact, you could not really make any genuine complaints. When you travel outside your own comfort zone, you have to adapt to your new surroundings. If you go abroad looking to find faults then you may find small things at this hotel that you will not like. We found having discoloured hot water on a daily basis a little disconcerting but this seems to be the normal state of affair in Antigua. If you run the tap a little longer each time it soon gets better. The food at this hotel was brilliant and you will not go hungry. Breakfast & lunch was on a buffet basis. Evening Meal was all served at the Warrie Pier Restaurant and was waitress served. Their was a choice of three main dishes each evening with soup to start and a choice of desert to finish. We found that if there was anything you wanted e.g Ice Cream you only had to ask and if available the staff would get it for you. We came here on the all inclusive package and this to us was fantastic. The drink selection is great and the service at the bar efficient and quick. There was only a few guests staying here, but the guests we met all seemed to be having a great time and it was a real pleasure to have met them. The evening entertainment was not in full swing at the moment. When I compare it to March 2012 we had entertainment every night but this October 2013 was quiet. Fenton who is the Entertainments Manager will always go that extra mile and did lay on some extra entertainment some nights to keep the guests happy. We loved the peace and quiet and were happy to just go with the flow. If you do decide to leave the hotel whilst here, then the round trip of the island on the Catamaran, is worthwhile. Also a trip on Sunday evening up to Shirley Heights for the music is a great night out. We will certainly stay at this hotel again and really look forward to our next visit. This review is as honest as I can make it and if you want answers to any questions about his resort then I will try and assist. If you go here with an open mind you will be pleasantly surprised and very satisfied.

Room Tip: The pool-side rooms appear to be the best as they now also benefit from a sea-view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.