We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
New Year Offer-Be Quick!
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Bristol
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the Halcyon on my own and the staff were very welcoming. The food was good, the location was lovely and it was genuinely a gorgeous break. My room, garden room, was large and spacious and whilst could do with a bit of an update was perfectly fine for my needs. I spent most of my time on the beach and swimming in the sea and the evenings were very relaxed. I felt completely comfortable even as a lone traveller and the bar staff were always keen for me to try a different cocktail!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    497
    228
    138
    97
See reviews for
272
581
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a fabulous time here last summer. The staff were lovely and very helpful. My daughter loved the kids club and the lady who ran it was fantastic with the children. My daughter adored her, so much so that she constantly asks if she can go back there again. My son who was 12 and daughter who is 8 had an amazing time - all inclusive was fabulous. The pier restaurant was amazing in the evenings I had the best lobster I have ever had. The only one thing I was not happy with was one of the trips we went on but that was not through the hotel. There was a female who arranged trips she was at the hotel for a few hours each day and she told you what you wanted to hear to sell the trip as our experience was nothing like she described. However she was not part of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was clean but some maintenance could be nice here and there. Rooms were clean, but our window was a little bit broken in bathroom. The hotel is big, so the service is not so good... we had to ask for toilet paper a couple of times and if you wanted to reserve a table from restaurants, you had to do that yourself from you room... We did not have all inclusive, so we ate only one breakfast and one dinner at the hotel. It was ok, but not very good. Other restaurants nearby where good, so we ate elsewhere... You have to take a taxi to go outside the hotel area, but there is a good taxi service at the hotel so there is no waiting time to have a taxi! Beach area was good and there were enough free sun beds available all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I travelled here with my son & we booked 2 weeks at the Halcyon Cove Hotel on a fully inclusive basis. We spent a wonderful two weeks, by day either on the beach which was literally on our door, step, or by the amazing pool, which was wonderful to just walk into to get out of the heat & to cool down .The days were hot sunny and lazy & had a brilliant beachside restaurant where you could get a gorgeous lunch & .a cold drink whenever you wanted, & even a burger about 4ish between lunch & dinner!
The Halcyon cove also had a fabulous a la carte menu in a restaraunt that is on legs in the sea overlooking the beach. They also had evening entertainment, and I would highly recommend that you try this lovely hotel in Antigua. One tip though....on this gorgeous white sandy beach,, ,be wary if you have young kiddies, or if you can't swim that there is a small drop as you first walk into the sea! ...Apart from that the hotel, the food, the weather, the entertainment, the beach, pool & staff from the cleaners, right up to top management are all very friendly ,courteous & helpful & polite....You have to try this lovely hotel in Antigua...

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the beach side, but the rooms overlooking the pool are good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Best beach on the island but you must know what's coming if I have started my review like this.The hotel certainly needs an uplift,the food was poor,entertainment very average.Watch out for mossies at night especially when your asleep. Had to visit the town to purchase mossie killer it got that bad and we had used up all our supply we had brought. Would definitely return to the island but not this hotel unless it has a full makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in a beach front room (2 beds) April 17-24, 2013. Read the fine print on the web site carefully. All Inclusive means: buffet breakfast, buffet lunch, buffet dinner, and cheap house liquor, some amateur entertainment, and nothing more.
The property has 3 restaurants, but only one is open for each meal. We had bad weather for the first 3 days, so every meal was in the Terrace restaurant, The food is generally good, but gets to be boring after a few days. We had the same 2 salad dressing for lunch and dinner for 7 days. One day we saw shrimp cocktails on a table when we entered the restaurant, but that was for the manager and his guests, not available for us. Dickenson Bay is dominated by Sandals and Halcyon, and there is only one (Coconut Grove) good restaurant within walking distance.
The room was good sized, clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. The bathroom was tile, with a fancy sink, but the bathroom door had a big hole in the back of it.
The whole place had a feel of having been through many renovations, by less than skilled craftsmen, on a shoestring budget. "Tired" probably is a good description.
Halcyon does allow cruise ship passengers to come and use the beach by the bus load, but they concentrate them in the middle of the property.
The beach was nice, the water warm and the beach vendors were not too obnoxious.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms do not all have King beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Pros:-

+ Good location - Dickensen Bay is a beautiful beach suited to the younger person, offering numerous watersports, bars and other activities.

+ Friendly staff

+ The beach-area around the hotel was practically deserted - great time of the year to visit.

Cons:-

- Food is terrible. Do not go all-inclusive, instead eat at the fabulous restaurants around the area. Coconut Grove was our favourite location for breakfast.

- Hotel is run-down and is in serious need of renovation...

- ...They moved us to a different hotel for the final 4 days of our stay because the hotel closed for renovation.

Room Tip: Room 332 is considered a pool-view room but has a balcony with a clear view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.