We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but hotel run-down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, but hotel run-down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Pros:-

+ Good location - Dickensen Bay is a beautiful beach suited to the younger person, offering numerous watersports, bars and other activities.

+ Friendly staff

+ The beach-area around the hotel was practically deserted - great time of the year to visit.

Cons:-

- Food is terrible. Do not go all-inclusive, instead eat at the fabulous restaurants around the area. Coconut Grove was our favourite location for breakfast.

- Hotel is run-down and is in serious need of renovation...

- ...They moved us to a different hotel for the final 4 days of our stay because the hotel closed for renovation.

Room Tip: Room 332 is considered a pool-view room but has a balcony with a clear view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    489
    228
    138
    95
See reviews for
270
570
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A wonderful relaxing resort, the Hotel could do with a little touch up, but our second visit and the staff were just as fantastic as they were last year. They were busy but always had the time to assist you in anyway. Charm's fire dance entertainment was fantastic, we want to big up Allick and Errol, great music at the beach bar, to Roxanne, Dolton, Austin, Simone, Helen, Donna, Margarita, Dale (brillant chef), Carl, Ann Marie, Mario, Fenton, Devon, Heather and not to forget Yvette on Reception they were all so warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Poolside is a great room where you not only have the pool in front of you but also the beach bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Still a good deal, yes its a bit old and worn, but the staff are great and the food is the best we have had outside of a 5 star. They offer a ride to Shirley Heights for $20 leave at 4 back at 8. Take in shirley Heights, 20EC to get in and food is $10 and the rum and the bands are super, not to be missed. Also, the Fri fish fry at Nelsons dockyard is also great.
No problems getting a chair on the beach, just stay on the right side of the walkway when the cruise people start flowing in. Internet access in the lobby, reasonably priced. Bar staff very pleasant as is the rest of the staff.
Sandals is down the beach if you want to pay a lot more for posh surroundings, but the same sun, water and beach. Beach is very safe for kids, quite water not rough at all.
All in all great time and will be back.

Room Tip: The 300 and 200 series of rooms look either on the pool or the garden, neither is far from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

An absolutely amazing holiday. All staff were very welcoming and friendly. Special mention to Errol, Fenton, Devon, Heather, Roxanne and Quinton. Although all the staff were attentive and approachable. Felt very relaxed the whole time, certainly had the best part of the beach outside the resort. Warri pier was a lovely addition to the resort!
Would not hesitate to take my family to the Halcyon and am planning a return with friends in the future.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms were poolside looking onto the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Rex is a bit dated, but clean and staff we great. Food was fine, not a huge selection, but everything tasted very good. The beach in front of the Rex is great and there are a lot of photo opportunities. Bar staff is excellent and treated me like a king! I took a day trip to Barbuda and walked along "Pink Sand Beach"...must see and feel the pink sand. The water there is magnificent!

Room Tip: I had a bungalow right on the beach.....hard to beat that for a room location #206 I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Rex Halcyon Cove in September 2012 for two weeks.
The hotel could do with a make over as it is dated, that said, we had a very relaxed and enjoying holiday. We were bed & breakfast and enjoyed the variety although a bit repetitive if you are staying for more than a week.

Eating in town can be cheap, however it is a taxi ride away which adds to your expenses unless you hire a car of course.
We enjoyed the excursions available, these include Shirley's Heights, Land and Sea tour of the Island and a catamaran trip with lunch.

Eddie (saleman that sells excursions) was very helpful with information about the Island and places to eat cheaply.

Overall a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were supposed to be booked into Halcyon Cove starting 11th May 2013 for 2 weeks, but have found out through the grapevine that it will be closed mid-May to mid-July, and after phoning Virgin for clarification, we are being accomodated at Hawksbill instead. Very, very disappointed at this late non-notification of change, which I think is a down-grade. Will miss the friendly staff at Halcyon this year, almost family after 5 previous visits, wasn't impressed by the Hawksbill staff when we last visited there. Hawksbill is not what or where we wanted. Just annoyed that our imminent holiday has started off on such a downer!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Family Hotel in St. John's
#10 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.