We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beaches - including clothing optional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawksbill by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best beaches - including clothing optional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

After initially checking into (and disappointed by) the Copper and Lumber hotel, we were thrilled to find a room at Hawksbill. The beaches are beautiful, especially the clothing optional one which is long and secluded, fringed by verdant green hills all around. Unlike the resorts along Dickenson Bay (ugh -stay away!), the beaches (4 of them) are private here. We had a room with a breathtaking view from our balcony overlooking Honeymoon Cove - the best and most private view in the resort. The rooms are clean and pretty, but nothing luxurious. The resort caters mostly to an older British crowd. The food was adequate - again geared to British tastes. Most people seemed content to remain on premises for their entire stay, but we had a rental car and explored the island. The rainforest zip line tour was fun and well-run, and a hike to secluded Rendezvous beach was wonderful. For a unforgettable lunch, go to Harmony Hall.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    338
    111
    57
    61
See reviews for
104
604
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hawksbill from 2nd – 12th December and had a fabulous time. It is no wonder that there are so many repeat guests as it is such a lovely resort. Above all Hawksbill is as great value for money. The setting is absolutely stunning and although the rooms and service can be a little hit or miss (it is a 3* hotel don’t forget), in the main, the food is great, the staff are delightful and it is the best place to take it easy and relax! I hope that we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Great place to stay if you d esire some quality time with somone you love. Staff is very friendly and does a great job of paying attention to detail. Beaches are the best on the Island..clean/private/lovely. Meals are three times a day with a tea time in the afternoon. Eggs are cooked to order each morning with lots of fruit, cereals ( cold and hot), breads, several meats, cheeses and good strong coffee. Lunch on the beach is less formal, cooked to order chicken, fish, and american foods are available. Make sure you do tea time so you can enjoy some of the delicious homemade breads i.e. coconut bread ( best I have ever had).The evening meal varries during the week. Selections are good, quality is good and portion in more than enough. We very seldom eat dessert, but while at the Hawksbill we enjoyed the freshly perpared desserts each night. If you have ever seen the Movie/musical, Dirty Dancing, when you arrive at the Hawksbill you will feel like you have stepped into a scene from the movie. Rooms are clean. The Staff will place lovely flowers and greenery in your room each day. There are two reasons the staff does this, one is they take pride in the grounds and thus share the lovely flowers with you while indoors, two-is to act as a natural mosquito repellent. We did not have an issue with bugs during our stay. The breeze blows all day every day.. so be prepared to have a bad hair day or bring a hat--we took hats. If you are the type of traveler that needs an activity director this is not the place for you. There are evening receptions once a week--but make your own each evening if you desire, patrons are at the big house prior to dinner enjoying a cool beverage. Garden tours are available, cooking classes ( I did this--was great fun), bonfire night on the beach and Saturday night live band at the big house. The resort is celebrating its 50th year this year. Expect a resort that has more charm than age. All and all the best stay we have ever had anywhere due to the staff taking such great pride in the resort. If you go, please tell Ken Roy, the porter, Mr. Waldron ( no blood relation, but a new family member for us), Sukra,security, Donella, Slyvia, Christabelle, Merle, Latonya and the rest of the staff Britton and Kristine Waldron from Texas say hello.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We have had another wonderful vacation at the Hawksbill. This trip we went with extended family (about 30 of us), and had a lovely wedding while we were there. We love it at Hawksbill. We have been going there since 1990, sometimes with family and sometimes just the two of us. Lately we have been going more frequently (twice per year) to take advantage of the bargain prices.

The best feature of Hawksbill is the four beautiful beaches (please see attached pictures).

If you like a laid back vacation, and uncrowded beaches, this is the place for you. The 37 acre Hawksbill property has four beautiful beaches – about a miles worth. And just over a hundred rooms, spread out parallel to the water. No high rise buildings here. Hawksbill has the largest beach-to-guest ratio of any resort I have ever seen. I have been there at full capacity (with 28 relatives in tow) and it was still easy to find peace and quiet on a secluded section of beach. All four beaches are quiet and uncrowded – check out my pictures all taken by me on a recent trip. It has been especially quiet recently (with the recession in UK and USA).

Hawksbill's Eden beach is the only “clothing optional” beach on Antigua. It is secluded and uncrowded – perfect for the shy ones or first-timers. However, this beach is separated from the other three beaches – so if you are not inclined, then you would never know it is there. We regularly go to Hawksbill with our children and in-laws; no one is ever offended by the presence of the clothing optional beach. Some of us frequent it, and others of us have never even seen it. It is the most secluded of the four beaches, and there is plenty of room to spread out.

The all-inclusive pricing cannot be beat. Four great meals a day (if tea time counts) and open bar. Once we arrive we spend very little extra money except for a few tee-shirts or other island wear from Aloma and Sharon, and some tips for the wait staff and maid (Note: tips are not expected with the all-inclusive pricing and are never solicited, however I have found that a few tips are greatly appreciated and are rewarded, especially with the currently slow Antiguan economy.)

The Hawksbill staff is wonderful. We have always gotten very good service there, and this time was no exception. All of the staff works very hard to make sure that we have everything we want. Special thanks to Duty Manager and wedding coordinator Sandy Francis. And also to Shenneth, Agatha, and Ornella in the front office, and to our favorite restaurant and bar servers especially Novella, Milli, Jeremine, Natasia, Adrian, and David.

We have met some really nice people at the Hawksbill. Guests are mainly from UK, with a few Europeans, and Americans (US and Canada) mixed in to keep it interesting. We see the same repeat guests year after year, and always make a few new friends each time.

The food is good. Full breakfast, with eggs and omelets made just the way you like them by Merline or Dollie-Mae. Lunch is at the beach-side grill: chicken, hamburger, fish, pasta, etc. with salads, soup, and desert. Even though we are Americans, we enjoy the little sandwiches and cakes at the beach-side tea time. Dinner alternates between nice buffets (e.g., roast beef or pork carving tables, Caribbean BBQ, international dishes) and ala carte menu (always has a nicely prepared meat, fish, and vegetarian selection plus soup, appetizer, and desert.) The bars have good cocktails with premium drinks included. All this is included in the all-inclusive price, only pay extra if you want something special such as a lobster.

Several times per week there is entertainment at dinner – they have some very nice bands. The night life is low-key. If you like the hustle and bustle of high-rise resorts and crowded beaches, the Hawksbill is not for you. You can taxi into St John or one of the big resorts if you really need casinos and discos. Frankly, have never missed it, and enjoy the quiet and relaxation the most. If you do want to site-see, one of the taxi drivers at Hawksbill will be happy to take you for a personal tour. You can also book day excursions on the large catamarans, sunset horseback rides, etc. (for extra cost) and you will be picked up right at the Hawksbill beach.

Security is very good. We have always felt very safe at Hawksbill. Hawksbill is far enough removed from town that you need not worry about any riff raff spilling in. And the property is fully enclosed by hilly rough terrain except for the one entrance past the always-manned security booth. Security guards also patrol the grounds.

We like the beach club rooms the best (royal palm beach or honeymoon cove). The beach club rooms have A/C, the rest have ceiling fans. The royal palm beach rooms are spread out along the very quiet and beautiful first beach. Honeymoon cove is on a rock outcropping and has the most privacy and closest proximity to Eden (clothing optional) beach (also known as 4th beach), and is also close to the sea grapes (2nd) and honeymoon cove (3rd) beaches. The "superior beachside" and other rooms near sea grapes beach are centrally located if you want to be near the beach bar, pool, lunch, water sports (kayaks, sunfish, etc.). There are two great houses (multiple bedrooms, wrap around porch) if you want to accommodate a large group, or just want the extra luxury.

Children are welcome here. There is always a family or two around. The times that we have brought the kids, they kept entertained catching the small lizards and finding hermit crabs. And of course there’s lots of sand and water to play in. The older kids can kayak, paddle-boat, and sail. There are tennis courts too. There is also a small pool.

However, most guests are couples. There are young honeymooners and old married couples. It leans a little towards an older crowd because once you’ve been here you will keep coming back as long as you are able.

You will wake up to the sounds of the birds singing and the waves lapping. There are lots of birds on the well landscaped property. We found them to be a joy. Some guests get annoyed because the birds will steal your breakfast if you leave it unattended, but this is the price you pay for open-air dining. Much better than an enclosed dining room.

Mosquitoes and sandflys did not bother us at all. They will bother you only if you are on the grass or sand at sunset. (Keep your door closed during these times also.) Pack some repellant for your legs if you are concerned. Better plan is to leave the beach right before sunset and catch the sunset from the beach bar.

Please email me if you have questions.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the HawksBill Resort from 12/9 - 12/17 in a honeymoon suite which we were upgraded too upon arrival and we had a wonderful & beautiful vacation here. The resort is secluded on the Five Islands section of Antigua giving your vacation a Romantic setting with private beaches and of course Eden.

Resort:
The Resort is very beautiful and very well taken care of on the outside. Everyday a staff member was updating a section of the Hotel (painting, cleaning, repairing). Our room (Honeymoon Beachroom) was great. Small but perfect for just the two of us and we only came back to sleep, shower, and change. It did have a balcony that was able to pick up the wireless internet from front desk (Room 131) and was perfect when we wanted to just relax and hear the beach and enjoy the view. Having no TV was a big bonus that we loved about the resort since we came to relax and enjoy the beaches and not sit in our rooms all day. But yes it is true that the the resort does need some updating but for the price you pay, we were fine with it. Simple yet nice. This resort is perfect if you want a nice quiet getaway from your busy everyday work day and life but not much of a night life. Its great to mingle with other visitors on the resort and we made so many friends and everyone loves the resort with many being returning visitors. We even felt bad when some left because you get to know everyone so well. We did however go to the sister resort at Dickerson Bay which you could take your all-inclusive breakfast, lunch, or dinner (drinks included). Just remember to notify the staff at Hawksbill before you go. We are in our mid-twenties and love to dance and party but not everyday and this is exactly what Hawksbill provides. Enjoy some quite time at Hawksbill and then Friday or Saturday head to the sister resort with all inclusive drinks and dinner and visit some very popular dance clubs (Beach and Rush) which are located next to the Rex Resorts. Dickerson Bay is very crowded and many vendors will come up to you trying to sell something unlike the beaches at Hawksbill. So dont forget that this is an option that is provided by Hawksbill. We met other couples here as well from UK, Germany, and South Africa that we later met up for Sunday's Shirley Heights. Great people and friends we made along the way.

Beaches:
All the beaches were absolutely amazing and with four beaches you could choose to be very secluded or right next to the bar. Are favorite was Eden Beach due to the au natural nude experience which is our first time and definitely not our last and the beach is so long that you could easily find a spot to be with your significant other and enjoy the great turquoise water in your birthday suit and even walk the beach end to end enjoying the sun with the great Caribbean breeze. Some areas are shaded others aren't so bring a hat depending on where you would like to lay out. Snorkeling would be best at Seagrapes since its the least rockiest of the four.
Even though the resort does not cater to Jet Ski's or Sea Doo's you can ask the equipment rental guy and they provide one within a matter of minutes.

Staff:
All the staff at the Hawksbill Resort were great. You have to remember though that everyone is on Antiguan Time and they do take there time. This goes for all places in Antigua, so the service may not be quick on the Island but when your on vacation, why do you need to rush. Latoya was the best bartender we had at Hawksbill and you have to try Latoyas Wave, great drink. I did forget the name of the Assistant Manager who had just graduated college and they promoted her, but she was always on top of everything and willing to help out and answer any questions you had about the resort and Island.

Hawksbill Taxi Service:
This was the ONLY thing we hated about the resort. We felt many times that we were been overcharged or taken advantage of and they are very rude team. But we have heard from the other visitors that the price for the taxis are decent even if they do seem quite expensive ($80 US to English Hardour). But we drive cars everyday and never deal with taxis so this could be the case. Remember that when they provide shuttles to town or shirley heights that they are not free, this is done with the Resort's Taxi Service. I decided to just rent a car for the majority of the days for $50US a day and it was quite easy. They deliver the car to the resort and pick it up as well. When we do return to Antigua I would just avoid them (Resort Taxi Service) all together and drive on the Island myself. This would be the only thing we would change from the resort, better Taxi service and Resort Shuttle Vans that are free.

Food:
Perfect with a wide variety of meals from breakfast to dinner. We especially recommend dinner at Seagrapes. Lots of Ambiance and romantic setting.

Antigua:
Great and very beautiful island with tons to see. We had a rental car and visited the whole island with Fryes Beach, Valley church Beach, and Darkwood being our favorite. Dickerson Bay Beach is great for people watching but very crowded. Shirley Heights is a must and stay as late as you can handle, since the dancing and people are great. The resort shuttle )Taxi brings you back by 8pm so try to stay later. Half Moon Bay was ok but there were some strong winds on the Atlantic side of the Island. St. Johns shopping is great and make sure to look around because the prices are great and you have to try the Pineapple either from St. Johns or the resort. Its that good.

This was our first time to the Caribbean and Antigua really sent bar high. We are still young and love to travel so Antigua and Hawksbill is must return for us.

Cesar & Dayna

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We arrived early as we had stayed at another resort the previous week. Although our room was not ready, we were given a courtesy room so we could change. Our first meal was lunch and it was very good. We found the food to be varied and good throughout the week. The resort provides scales in the rooms so you can check your progress during your stay.

Unfortunately, we had an encounter with a Sea Urchin on the first afternoon. The staff was excellent in follow-up care throughout the week. We found that the staff was very friendly from the front office staff, mainteance staff, waiters and waitresses and management. They were always ready to respond to your requests.

Some of the facilities could use some TLC but generally all were fine. We heard that the resort is currently negotiating a new lease with the landowner. If the resort does change ownership, changes will probably be made. However that will probably mean an increase in rates. We believe that Hawksbill offers good value for your vacation dollar. There were many repeat customers there while we were there. We hope to return to Hawksbill in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Our 7th visit to Hawksbill since 2004.
Why.
We like the friendly atmosphere of the place.
The long term staff remember you and are very welcoming.
The accommodation is comfortable and adequate for a Caribbean holiday. We do not expect international 5 star standards.
How much good food and drink can you consume. You won't be disappointed here.
We, like many other returnees [89 in late Nov.] enjoy the freedom [from clothes] of Eden beach.Not a requirement as the beach is remote from the rest of the resort.
Great value, during our winter, for a week, or two, away in the sun.
Pete&Sue

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#11 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.