We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, great atmosphere !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Hawksbill by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in St. John's
Devon, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing, great atmosphere !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Only stayed here for 3 nights and wished it had been longer.
The no Tv, or wifi, was a new experience for us.
As Twitter/facebook addicted people in their late 20's, the revelation that we could survive AND enjoy ourselves without our phones was a nice shock :)

We had booked into a garden room, and ended up getting upgraded to a seafront room (needed the air con.
Our room was literally 10 paces from the sea - and what a stunning view every morning.

The beaches are fabulous. The one where the watersports centre is, had fish swimming around our feet.

Food was delicious, and the beach BBQ on Wednesday was fab.
Staff were amazing.
Atmosphere delightful, we met a lovely lady called Karen who had visited 17 times (that's got to speak for itself!)....Ps: Karen if you're reading this, we loved meeting you, tried to find you to say bye in the morning but missed you.

100% would return.

Room Tip: If you can't handle the heat...invest in an air con room ! Also if you are going in the rainy m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    293
    99
    55
    51
See reviews for
92
529
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Now....if Rex Resorts are reading this, they will be reading yet another "same old" review. This was our 2nd visit to the resort in 6 years, and glad we went back. The staff are very friendly, and we think it has the best setting out of all the hotels on Antigua, and to be honest it was the same as we remember. We paid for the top room, a beach bungalow, and the positioning of these are fantastic, and in true Caribbean style. However, the rooms themselves were in need of general maintenance, and sent a list of 6 items needing repair to reception when we arrived. Just things like toilet flush, bathroom door didn't latch, bathroom door kept getting stuck as it had swelled. Also, the wooden shutters on front window were broken. Or rather they needed replacing. Anyway, they came and "fixed" them, only for the problem to be there in some instances, so I suppose you could say bodged a little. This was such a shame, as really some of these problems should of been picked up by domestics cleaning the room, and reported to maintenance.
The food- now if you are looking for gourmet, well it isn't, and we often found the same thing cropping up the night after on the menu....ie lyonaise potatoes, and a vegetarian dish were appearing in the buffet or menu 2 nights on the trot. The thing that really disappointed me was there was very little fruit. For a Caribbean island the most we were offered at brekkie was prunes, melon and water melon. I asked for a banana one day, but they said they didn't have any, but later saw some by the bar area??? Fruit is quite a staple when you go to a tropical island, and our love of passion fruit etc meant we were left quite disappointed. Also, I like to eat a balanced diet, but found it hard to find fruit when I needed it. The evening did have fruit salad on the desert menu, but was the same fruit from breakfast.
The entertainment was average....I mean if you are wanting something every night, then this place isn't for you, but for us this was great. The other thing that needed some money spent on, was the white wooden tables in the Seagrape Bar area and the tables outside in the Tamarind bar area. I noted they did have mostly new tables in the restaurant, which was good. Unfortunately, they seem to stick another layer of paint on things and this after a while makes things look very tired indeed. We also tried for 3 days to get beach towel, and each time the water sports said they were waiting for them to arrive, so rarely managed to change them, unless you are prepared to spend your day keep going back for things. The shop/boutique was closed, and was told by a domestic that it was possible to ask at reception and they would have some supplies there. However when I returned at a more convenient time, they didn't seem at all keen to source these items, as they were boxed up???
Having said all this, we loved our holiday. It must be said that with these problems sorted it will be a fantastic resort, but until then Rex really need to be taking these comments on board. It is known that Rex resorts need to update things, but are taking far too long to do it. When it comes to tables etc, they are small changes that make a big difference. Would we go back....I think so, but would need to know these changes had happened first.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow, as long as it has been properly maintained!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Somerset
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Having read previous reviews I knew what to expect from the accommodation at this resort. What I didn't expect was just how beautiful the Hawksbill turned out to be. For a peaceful relaxing time in stunning surroundings it would be hard to imagine anywhere better. Another terrific plus was every member of the staff who couldn't do enough to be helpful and make your holiday one to be remembered. What hotel have you stayed at where the staff embrace you when you about to leave and are genuinely sorry to see you go - only at Hawksbill !!
We stayed in one of the Beach Club air conditioned bungalows. OK it could have used a lick of paint here or there but it was very comfortable, roomy and positioned twenty feet from the beach where the sound of the gentle waves lull you to sleep.
The meals were good with a reasonable choice and the desserts are guaranteed to make you put on weight. As for drinks, well you have to stop the staff from bringing you another one when you have had enough.
The entertainment is downbeat and very Caribbean, Sean from the Watersports made very effort, especially with the crab racing.
If you want to visit other parts of this lovely island I thoroughly recommend the taxi driver, Goldman Richardson, a more knowledgable and likeable man it would be hard to meet.
If you are doubting this resort from other reviews you may have read all I can say is give it a go, you will want to return. I certainly do !!!

Room Tip: For a comfortable sleep, especially when it is very hot, choose the air conditioned beach club bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hawksbill is our Antiguan 'home from home', we honeymooned there and have been back many times since. We visitied in June this year and I thought to myself that if I couldn't leave a great review, we just wouldn't leave one. We feel disloyal being critical of it because we love it! But, having read reviews left subsequently, I thought I would just leave a few remarks in the hope, if another people say so and if the scarcity of visitors isn't enough, that Rex Resorts might listen to these reviews.

In Hawksbill, you have a gem, a treasure, a little piece of paradise. It isn't Sandals, It isn't swanky or pretentious (not that Sandals is, I haven't stayed there so can't comment), it is just charm personified. Rex Resorts have some of the loveliest people I have ever met working at Hawksbill; Brenda, Novella, Jeremine, David, Adrian . . . the list goes on and on. But they seem content to let it suffer a long, slow, agonising decline. True, there was some 'facelifitng' going on while we were there and the manager (at least) seemed to be listening. We don't want luxury, we don't want cordon bleu cooking, we just want to meet with old friends in a lovely setting and totally relax in comfort. So, Rex, please. Nurture this place, love it, invest a little in it. Don't make it different in character, just spend some money on it.

Talking of meeting old friends, while there we met a couple that had suffered during a previous stay; her being taken to hospital in an ambulance and him diagnosed with Witzelsucht's Syndrome and the staff had been marvellous. This time we went Zip Lining with them to the Antigua Rain Forest Canopy and disasters, yet again, befell them! It was so funny to see them ziplining backwards (they weren't meant to be going backwards) down between the trees but it was even funnier to see him left dangling off of a wire walk, not having the strength to pull himself up and relying on the courage of bystanders (me) and staff to rescue him from his predicament. It may sound cruel to poke fun at the aged but it really did provide us with endless laughter on the trip back to Hawksbill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

lastyou're my husband and I stayed here. we spend the money to stay where they are nicer hotel rooms with air conditioning that definitely made a difference. I would say that this occasion was about average still enjoyable had the nicest beaches on the island (we did an island tour). definitely had a British feel to it but that's what was appealing for us. Not the cheep American feel you get from like an all American resort

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's been a couple years since me and my wife visited. I recall wanting to go back once again. This resort is vary quaint, yet still covers a very good sized area with 3 very different beaches.
You will not get a 4 star experience here, but if you do not expect that and are happy with an older resort that is not exceptionally maintained you will likely be pleased you stayed here.
ONE thing that stands out is the fact, that many people we met during our visit had stayed there multiple times and some came 1 or more times a year. The staff is nice, at the time we arrived they gave us a glass of Champagne and were very welcoming.
I recommend the Cottages/bungalows over a standard room, we had proper amenities and room air conditioning. The cottage was minimal but clean and nice overall.
The beach in front of the Cottages is rocky and has slabs of concrete farther out, it's good for snorkeling and seeing lobster, other but not swimming. The Middle beach nearest the pool is great, you are pretty much waste deep for about 100 feet or more with very, very clear water.
The 3rd beach (at the time was clothing optional) was nice, visited it only once since #2 was good. A pretty long section of secluded beach with local goats frequenting some areas of it.
Overall you can stay at fancier resorts a few miles away, but you will pay more for it.
THis resort is great for the price.

Room Tip: The cottages/bungalows would be the preferred rooms. We saw the interior of a standard room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierrelatte, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife, our 2-years old son and I have just spent 4 days at Hawksbill, and we very much liked the place. Not one, but three breathtaking beaches. Friendly and helpful staff. Large and well ventilated rooms. No TV, music or blinding lights everywhere: the natural beauty of the bay is preserved, and it's very quiet - day and night. During our stay (October), there were only a dozen other guests. I love it like that: paradise on your own. Garden very well maintained. Ok, there are some mosquitoes, but Antigua is a tropical place and I prefer to chase a few of them than to breath DTT. Food was OK, if not particularly exotic. Looking for partying and entertainment ? Not for you. Looking for rest, astounding vista and comfort ? That's the place.
Pros: top location, comfort, quiet, staff.
Cons: low-quality mattress.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.