We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort, but do not compare it to Sandals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawksbill by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Douglasville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great resort, but do not compare it to Sandals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's been a couple years since me and my wife visited. I recall wanting to go back once again. This resort is vary quaint, yet still covers a very good sized area with 3 very different beaches.
You will not get a 4 star experience here, but if you do not expect that and are happy with an older resort that is not exceptionally maintained you will likely be pleased you stayed here.
ONE thing that stands out is the fact, that many people we met during our visit had stayed there multiple times and some came 1 or more times a year. The staff is nice, at the time we arrived they gave us a glass of Champagne and were very welcoming.
I recommend the Cottages/bungalows over a standard room, we had proper amenities and room air conditioning. The cottage was minimal but clean and nice overall.
The beach in front of the Cottages is rocky and has slabs of concrete farther out, it's good for snorkeling and seeing lobster, other but not swimming. The Middle beach nearest the pool is great, you are pretty much waste deep for about 100 feet or more with very, very clear water.
The 3rd beach (at the time was clothing optional) was nice, visited it only once since #2 was good. A pretty long section of secluded beach with local goats frequenting some areas of it.
Overall you can stay at fancier resorts a few miles away, but you will pay more for it.
THis resort is great for the price.

Room Tip: The cottages/bungalows would be the preferred rooms. We saw the interior of a standard room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    323
    109
    57
    59
See reviews for
102
583
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pierrelatte, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife, our 2-years old son and I have just spent 4 days at Hawksbill, and we very much liked the place. Not one, but three breathtaking beaches. Friendly and helpful staff. Large and well ventilated rooms. No TV, music or blinding lights everywhere: the natural beauty of the bay is preserved, and it's very quiet - day and night. During our stay (October), there were only a dozen other guests. I love it like that: paradise on your own. Garden very well maintained. Ok, there are some mosquitoes, but Antigua is a tropical place and I prefer to chase a few of them than to breath DTT. Food was OK, if not particularly exotic. Looking for partying and entertainment ? Not for you. Looking for rest, astounding vista and comfort ? That's the place.
Pros: top location, comfort, quiet, staff.
Cons: low-quality mattress.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Yes I agree with some of the negative comments about the property being more run down. But if you are looking for a low key, easy going, not over the top expensive resort this is the one. The other resorts on the island are much more expensive and if that is what you want then do not stay here. I loved the people including the numerous return guests. There were so many fun people to talk with and enjoy your time with. The place is simple but beautiful. The food is average to good each day with plenty to choose from, quantity is great and good quality. The drinks are plenty and not watered down. Rum the best of course with lots of different juices and any thing you can think of to try. The views, the area, the closeness of your room to the beach, the laid back atmosphere was what I enjoyed. The place next door was twice the price and lovely but very commercial and large feel. This is not a sandels or other big resort. It is a quiet, repeat business, relaxing type place. I would return as do many of the guests. Made some great friends. Winter you can live without the ac units but summer you would be best to get an ac. Bring bug spray no matter where you are on the Island.

So if you want a lower key, not crowded, not a bunch of young people running around having a good old drunk time, I suggest this place is best. There were people to talk with and enjoy company, there were things for kids to do and even some solo quests that joined right in with the other guests as if we had known each other for years.

Room Tip: Newer rooms have acs and over look the bay (up on a hill) bigger,newer and nicer but most expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I are both seasoned travellers and have stayed in some fine hotels and resorts around the world; unfortunately Hawksbill is not one of them!

As noted in other reviews, the lack of investment in both infrastructure and staff really does show, which is a pity, especially when you consider the prime location this resort occupies.

Would we return? Not unless we hear that Rex Resorts are investing substantial amounts of time and money in bringing this resort up to modern standards.

Room tips: If you MUST stay here go for the Beachfront Club rooms, they're the ones with air conditioning. Note that the rooms around Honeymoon cove can be a little noisy due to the constantly breaking waves on the nearby beach.

Room Tip: Beachfront Club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have recently returned from 12 days at this resort and would like to thank everyone for making our stay so enjoyable as always. We are a couple with 2 young adult sons. We have visited this resort about 10 times together and I have had 1 solo visit. It has become our home from home and the staff are our Antiguan family.
I have rated this based on having visited previously and having realistic expectations. I can understand why people who have not visited before may give a lower rating.......REX RESORTS need to be ashamed of themselves and take note of the constructive criticism of repeat guests in previous posts.....it is the owners who need to take action...I feel the management and staff are doing the very best they can with the resources they have available. The manager was always on hand and willing to listen to the guests opinions and suggestions. He has some ideas on ways to improve the resort without changing it too dramatically.
It was very quiet while we were there and because of this some of the eating arrangements and entertainment were rearranged accordingly. This did not really affect our stay and if there was anything not on offer, all you needed to do was ask and the staff, as always did their best to ensure your request was sorted.
The grounds are looking really lovely, the staff work tirelessly but Rex Resorts need to talk and LISTEN to the staff and customers about investing (not re-inventing) and marketing this beautiful resort much better. We have been to the island numerous times and visited many other resorts whilst passing.....Hawksbill is the best in our opinion and we will continue to return as long as we can. Whilst we would like to keep this piece of paradise a secret, Rex resorts must look at their marketing strategy particularly during the "off season" to attract new clients.....there are many repeat guests in the high season...to become a repeat guest, you have to visit once and have a memorable stay at an attractive price...come on Rex ....get your act together.
Once again thank you to ALL of the staff....keep up the great work. We will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all room categories and prefer the bungalows because they afford more privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My stay at the Hawksbill was very relaxing, perfect beach and water. Unlike other all-inclusives the property was not overrun by hordes of people/families and apart from the set meal times you felt free to do as you pleased with most of the beaches to yourself. Be warned of the nasty sand flies/fleas; I came back with dozens of bites from the almost invisible insects (did not realize I had been 'attacked' until the bites appeared). I was prepared for the mosquitoes at night but not for those pesky beach pests (note: seem to attack after one of the short rain spurts). I stayed in one of the air-conditioned cottages overlooking Honeymoon Cove; if you should have any issues with ants or other simply speak up and the staff will remedy the situation. Meals were average (fish always best), but the drinks were very good & strong (actual cocktails and real wine - nothing watered down here). Staff were helpful and friendly. Most of the guests were returning customers. The setting is spectacular and if you are simply looking to get away and lounge on the beach with a cocktail, swim, kayak or other then I recommend the Hawksbill.

Room Tip: air conditioned cottage if going doing hottest season, a must: bring and use insect repellant again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fantastic views but hotel has very tired and run down facilities. Swimming pool very small - more of a plunge pool in size. At the time of our visit there were very few guests so consequently no atmosphere. Food was of a poor standard and not buffet style as expected. Sea view rooms have mosquito netting and shutter walls, therefore very little privacy and difficult to block out wildlife sounds from the wooded areas at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St. John's
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#11 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.