We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why repeat?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawksbill by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 35% this Christmas!
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“why repeat?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

there are a lot of reviews about the 4 beaches, the relaxed atmosphere and the friendly staff being a plus and on the other hand, the food, rooms & lack of entertainment being no better than 3 star, but....

year after year people come back, mainly elderly who have already seen the world, they seem to have worked out this is not a holiday resort, just a stunning retreat hidden away, that runs quietly on carribean time.

its not for the young or the restless, its a place to ultimately relax, enjoy the view, maybe talk to well educated people and just let the world go by.

Will i go back? not for a main holiday, but in time when i need to slow down, quite possibly.

Room Tip: went for the basic room, had no.86, which had a sea view & youre never far from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    315
    107
    54
    57
See reviews for
102
570
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This location was about 15 minutes by car to the city. It was about 30 to Stingray Island and 30 minutes to the Helicopter pad. I'll provide some tips etc below.

The Good:

* The room on the resort. Room to play Frisbee...or anything else.
* You could find a beach chair on any of their beaches.
* Attached to the property had a nude beach, it's really casual and all that people / signage asks for is privacy (no cameras) My girlfriend and I went with another couple we met while there and it was different. It's not for everyone but if you take advantage you will find a deserted beach with not too many people on it. Wonderful sunsets!
* Selection of room types

The Mediocre:

* The food - it wasn't bad and it wasn't great.
* The theme changes everyone night which keeps it somewhat refreshing
* Most Service (room service was good. $2 tip plus treats)

The Bad:

* Front desk ruining our trip to Stingray Island by booking it and not knowing the times.
Note: It was Sunday and activity desk was closed, they tried their best but we left without time to do it. She apologized for the mistake upon our return to the hotel. I didn't bring it to anyone's attention.
* The beach activity staff were using the kayaks and water gear and when guests asked to use it we were told that it was too dangerous at the moment. That lasted the entire week..
* The beach activity staff were very pushy while trying to sell excursions!

It was a good find for the price we paid but I wouldn't return. I wouldn't recommend against it though!

Room Tip: There's a wide range of rooms...be sure to make the right choice. We had a great view from gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The forth year in a row I have taken time to relax at the Hawksbill Beach Resort. Given my role in front of audiences or writing reports for lawyers a time away from that life is much needed. The Hawksbill is indeed quiet (thankfully), perhaps caters to a crowd less worried about image than character, more self entertained than trapped with earphones as permanent appendages and has beaches and sunsets to yearn for. The nightlife is what you make of it through healthy conversation and not loud music and crowds of self absorbed individuals.
I will be back next year to relax, enjoy the ambience, read some books, write some articles and "veg out" with cell phone turned off.
The menu is the only area I would look for a refresh on with perhaps some modern international flavour yet keeping the local cuisine mixed in through the week. I am not there to gorge myself on anything but the sun, sand, water and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nothing complicated here, just a classic beauty. At first blush, this hidden jewel is quietly understated. Sitting on nearly 40 acres, this remote resort offers four picturesque beaches shaded by gently swaying palm trees. You won’t feel rushed or hurried here, nor will you stumble across plastics washing up on these sundrenched beaches. There’s a reason why fashion icons and celebrities occasionally escape by stopping by this secluded resort. Guests can get away from anything and everyone, finding true solitude and relaxation. The mindset here is all about a simpler time when we didn’t have to be wired 24/7, when you could just enjoy the company of your dinner guests while overlooking one of the most exquisite Caribbean views – the Hawk’s Bill rock formation surrounded by an emerald sea. Some will visit, not see the simple beauty, want more and leave bewildered. Others will visit, fall in love with this classic beauty and never want to leave. There’s a reason why so many guests return over and over again, becoming enchanted by the resort’s raw simplicity. If you’re low maintenance, enjoy peace and serenity that only the rhythm of crashing waves and ocean breezes cascading through palm trees can bring, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are the best for lighting and relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This resort has gone downhill a bit since last visit, The location is great but visitor numbers are down having a knock on effect on quality and service I think the majority of staff try hard but they seem to think its days are numbered and its everyone else fault, yes the economy is slow around the world but siting waiting on it improving while other resorts and countries are delivering wont see them through.the owners need to sort out the lease issues invest money and decide what it wants to market itself as. we did enjoy our stay as all we wanted to do was relax but wont be back as isn't value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

What a great feeling as the taxi crested the hill and the vista of the Hawksbill Plantation stretched out before us. Yes we have been before. Yes we are in our early 50s. Our room is lovely in a basic caribean sort of way. Our view is the most beautiful sea view ever framed by tropical trees and the whole thing is set to a relaxing soundtrack of waves lapping and birdsong.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Pros:-

+ The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept

+ Nice beaches

+ Friendly staff who genuinely seem to care

Cons:-

- The food is abysmal. I gave most of my food to the starving stray cats under the table. Unfortunately even they turned their nose up at some of it!

- The hotel is frequented by "older" Brits and Americans who have been visiting the resort for decades. Everyone knows everyone and there is a strange reaction to new people. We weren't bothered by this but I can imagine some people feeling uncomfortable.

- Unless you're the type of person who is interested in a 'Foliage tour' of the grounds, there's not much here for the younger person. If you're the type who enjoys jet skiing, you'll be disappointed.

- It's just a bit too far away from everything. The food is so bad you'll need to travel out of the resort, but taxis are too expensive and most would feel uncomfortable driving on Antiguan roads.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in "The Great House" for a beautiful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#11 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.