We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The New STANDARD IN LUXURY...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
colts neck, nj
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The New STANDARD IN LUXURY...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

JUMBY BAY has now set the standard for luxury caribbean resorts!

Having just stayed with 2 young children, I must tell everyone that the staff was fantastic. Never complained, never looked askance at my young children, absolute graciousness at all times.

Having stayed at Sandy Lane.....Jumby Bay is the place to go to if you don't want the arrogance and pretense of other "top resorts."

Others have given more detailed reports but I will add that dinner at the Estate House is a must!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear SK406,

Thanks for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort. We are happy to see that we've met your expectations, and that you found us to be an enjoyable place for your family without any pretentious feel. We love when families stay with us, and we'd love to welcome your family year after year.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    45
    10
    16
    11
See reviews for
79
233
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I am sitting here at Jumby Bay 4 days into our 8 day vacation and I have to say that this is the finest resort we have ever had the pleasure to visit. This says a lot as we have been guests at many other great resorts in this region over the years. In fact, I have been going to Little Dix Bay for over 36 years starting at the age of 8 with my family. While LDB remains a favorite of my family, Jumby Bay is indeed a notch above in service and facilities. Kudos to Andrew the Managing Director and his staff. The service, facilities and food are, overall, the best we have ever experienced during decades of travel. As I told Andrew yesterday when he asked us how we were enjoying our stay, this resort is now our new favorite and will become an annual tradition if not an even more frequent destination. Simply the new standard for excellence in the caribbean.......

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The hotel refers to itself as "paradise." If it's not, it's about as close as you can get.

I really struggle to think of anything that would make Jumby Bay better.

My only, minor suggestion is that the lawns between the new suites and the beach could use a bit more grass/landscaping. But really, who cares. The fact that this is all I can come up with should clue you in on just how impeccable this place is.

The new suites were prefect. I can't think of a thing that could improve them. Elegant, modern with Caribbean touches, very large and spacious, impressive vaulted ceilings, and just 100% comfortable. I could have stayed there for weeks.

The service was excellent. The staff struck the pefect balance of friendliness and attentiveness without overdoing it. They seemed to genuinely like being there -- something you don't always find in the Caribbean, to put it mildly.

The food was very good. A solid "A-". The menu was not extremely adventurous -- which is understandable, as this is still an all-inclusive (which is easy to forget given the level of luxury). But everything was still very well-prepared, and I was happy with every single meal. And there was a considerable amount of variety in the offerings.

The beach was medium-sized, but nearly perfect in every respect. The sea-grass that some commenters complained about didn't bother us -- it's really no big deal. The water was exactly what you hope to see in the tropics: a beautiful shade of light blue, and extremely clear. Always perfect temperature.

We didn't notice any bugs, day or night.

The infinity pool and pool grill were great as well. A wonderful place to relax and catch the sunset. Drinks attentively re-filled. The hours slipped by.

If you're looking for somewhere where your worries and cares of daily life just slip away into nothing, this is the place. By day three, the act of reading emails on my Blackberry took on an absurd quality. It was hard to care. It was like they were on Earth and I was in heaven.

It's just a top-notch resort in every way. Believe it or not, it's worth the price. Well worth it. We have many, many more places on our travel list, but it will be tough to keep us from coming back to Jumby Bay very soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Dear Tahj,

Thank you for your review of our private island paradise. It's so wonderful to read that you've enjoyed your stay in our beautiful new suites. We agree the grass in some areas is late to grow. Our groundskeepers will be working very soon to fill in those spots, and to further cultivate the lush fauna our guests come to expect in a tropical paradise. We're happy you were able to disconnect from your usual cares and just enjoy Jumby. Again, I appreciate your time in posting your review, and we look forward to the chance to welcome you on your return to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!

Tropical Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

My husband and I recently celebrated our four year wedding anniversary at the exquisite Jumby Bay. This was our second visit to the resort, and the stay was even more memorable than the first. The renovations made to the resort have highlighted the island and made the resort perfection. We stayed in one of the new beachfront pool suites and I can honestly say that the suite was one of the most stunning rooms that we have ever vacationed in (and we have traveled extensively). The suites are only the first of a long list of delights at Jumby Bay. From the minute you step off of the ferry, the staff treats you like you are the only guests on the island. We have never felt more pampered or more special. The beaches are spotless, the water is gorgeous and the weather is absolutely perfect. We ate at each of the three restaurants and tremendously enjoyed the dining experience at each. The new Pool Grill with the infinity pool is a great spot for lunch, an even better spot for enjoying the sunset, and the most splendid spot for a late night dip in the pool. The Verandah restaurant is the best choice for breakfast, with a great view of the new guests arriving on the dock. The Estate House was our favorite spot for dinner...the chef and the pastry chef were a delight...the food was on par with the best restaurants in New York. We enjoyed so many things during our visit - a couples massage at Sense, the new spa, the White Beach Dinner, bicycle rides around the island, and scuba diving at Jolly Beach. We also cannot say enough about the incredible staff!

Jumby Bay is pure enchantment - if you are looking for a vacation that features romance, relaxation, and world class treatment - then reserve your vacation immediately at Jumby Bay. We are looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Dear KatLarson,

We are most grateful for your five star review and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your time at Jumby Bay. The Pool Suites, the Pool Grille and the new Sense Spa are all entirely new to the property and we are glad that you were able to enjoy them during your time on our private island paradise. We thank you for your comments on the level of service at Jumby Bay. As a resort of just 40 guest rooms, on a private island, our team is committed to maintaining our sense of residential feel and luxury. We look forward to welcoming you again on your return to Jumby Bay!

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

It's a gorgeous property. Not just the locale - which is stunning on its own, but the level of service and attention to detail elevate this resort to truly admirable heights. There are two major reasons, however, why we would not be returning.

1. The beach is barely swimable. I've been so diligent about reading the reviews posted here, and not even one bothered to mention this: the water on the beach is full of seaweed, which makes it a huge dealbreaker for anyone who, like us, list swimming in the ocean as No. 1 activity of any beach vacation. Eventually, we found a spot where we could make a few steps without getting into all the grass, but it's literally several steps and a tiny spot of entry & exit. Yes, it's a pretty beach, but what's the use if you can't really enjoy swimming in the water?

2. Bugs! And I'm not talking mosquitos. Some tiny creatures that you don't even see - and got covered in red welts by the time we left the island. Yes, they provide Off! in every room - and, even better, I brought a very sophisticated portable bugs-defense system with me - all to no avail. Our first clue should have been the lush vegetation of the island -- wherever it's that green, they must get a lot of rain, and a lot of rain means bugs! Of course, bugs is something you have to deal with in every tropical climate, but some islands are better in this regard because they are relatively bare (Aruba, Turks & Caicos), and some are worse - and this one is probably the worst I've seen in my lifetime.

If these two points don't bother you too much, however, I will provide some other details, all of which are good. All the three restaurants serve up amasing cuisine (we liked Pool Grille the best for lunch, as it gets a little hot and humd at lunch time at the Veranda; as for dinner, we actually preferred the Veranda, since the Estate House dinners take forever and are not always consistent in their quality). The drinks are strong and plentiful -- there is alsways someone around willing to bring you another. They have a regular shuttle running to Antigua every hour like clockwork -- we made it to Antigua for dinner once (went to Sheer - not bad, but not as spectacular as the reviews would have you believe), and the hotel arranged all the transportation and went all out to make sure everything was as comfortable as could be.

We stayed at the courtside suites. They have stunning ocean views, but the terraces are not that private yet (you can see people staying next to you on their terrace), which, I guess, with time would get better once the vegetation kicks in. Just to show you the level of service -- once we complained about lack of privacy, we were offered a more expensive pool villa (which we did not take b/c it lacked the stunning ocean views we had in the courtyard suite), and the resort manager also offered to put some potted plants to get us some privacy. The rooms are well furnished, if not a little stark in the all white-decor. The fridge was always stocked with sodas. The walk to the beach is literally a couple of steps through the Pool Grille and its stunning infinity-pool-enhanced views. There are always golf carts available to drive you around the island, so getting tired is never an issue.

All and all, my bottom line is this: if you take this resort, and put it somewhere with a better beach & fewer bugs, I'd never leave.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear LAgirl5,

We’re glad you enjoyed the new courtyard suites and dining experiences, all part of our recent renovations that launched this past year. We take great pride in our private island locale and are constantly working to preserve our destination. The seaweed you speak of is actually sea grass that grows offshore and works to protect the environment surrounding the beaches of Jumby Bay. While we typically enjoy 300 days of sunshine, there was a storm before your stay which may have contributed to an unusual amount of sea grass in the water and on the sand. To further that point, we’re a flat and dry island that rarely has any issue with bugs, which the recent rain may have also contributed to. Again we thank you for your feedback and four star review and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Jumby Bay isn't perfect, but it's not far off. The all-inclusive deal means that you just relax and wander about, having great food, hanging out wherever you fancy (except for the private bits of the island).

The airport is close by, and you hear a few planes now and then, but it's not that intrusive. The view from the beach (which some have criticised) is fine. Overall the service is fantastic - attentive (almost too attentive!), friendly, helpful.

The facilities are great - a good lap pool, great beach, watersports and tennis, internet (PCs available and wifi throughout), bars, bikes. The suite we stayed in was one of the best I have ever seen.

The island itself is great to run around in the morning before it's too hot, and quite spreadout.

One final thing - we thought we were going to be stuck in Antigua due to the volcanic ash, but we were told we might be able to get a seat on a BA flight at the last minute. Jumby Bay staff were amazing. It was above and beyond what you normally expect from a hotel. The calm and professional way that they helped us get to the airport and got us on the flight, and even whisked over the things we had forgotten in the room before we left, was superb. In what was a mad rush, they exuded calm and good sense. I was totally impressed. For that, they get 10/10.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continuously striving to provide the best service possible on our private island paradise. We look forward to your return visit and we hope to welcome you back soon to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

'Welcome to Paradise' is what they say when you first arrive at Jumby Bay. And, after 11 nights with my wife in a Beachside Courtyard Suite, we have to agree. Jumby is really a very special place. Our suite was as good as any we've stayed in (with possible exception of La Residence in South Africa). The main beach, where we spent most of our days, is just about perfect - creamy white sand and warm, clear turquoise sea (with an amazing number of starfish). We loved hearing the laughing gulls and watching the pelicans fishing. The Verandah, overlooking the beach, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner and is good. The Estate House is the better of the two restaurants for dinner and is sublime, and certainly up there with The Cliff in Barbados - consistently excellent food and top notch service. The Pool Grill is new and offers lunchtime snacks, it is also the best place to view the beautiful sunset (although strangely the bar closes at 6pm so you're left without a drink!) There are no cars on Jumby so transport around the pathways is by golf buggy or, far more fun, bicycle (provided for all guests) - every day before sunset we rode around the island, peeking at the fabulous private houses and enjoying the calm, the birds, the views, the smells - we really felt like it was our own private island. To be picky, occasionally service can be a little slow, but you have to remember that a) this is the Caribbean and b) you're on holiday so why be stressed ? All in all Jumby Bay is a fabulous place to be and we were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
We thank you for your review and your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to improve our guest's experience even further. We look forward to welcoming you again and again on your return to Jumby Bay, A Rosewod Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.