We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Upon arrival at Jumby Bay Resort I felt like I was arriving on "Fantasy Island" (for those of you who remember the show!) While they check you in, you are offered a delicious signature rum punch and then they whisk you away in an electric cart to your own casita. The views are spectacular, the beaches are pristine, the service is impeccable, and the staff will do anything to make your stay an exceptional one. The outdoor enclosed shower is to die for and the bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in on a vacation. The food was very good, but was not as good as I feel it should have been for a resort of this quality, although the wait staff is outstanding. Regardless, I would go there again in a heartbeat and guarantee you will love your visit to Jumby Bay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a casita with a beach view and outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    44
    10
    16
    11
See reviews for
69
214
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakfield, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I think I can learn something from the way that Jumby Bay is run - all of their employees are empowered to do whatever it takes to make you happy. I've been to places with better beaches, and the food is very good but I've had better - but I have never been anywhere with better trained staff. They were friendly and accommodating making our whole vacation enjoyable. Also, the Beachside Courtyard Suites are fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited Jumby Bay for the 6th time at the end of February and enjoyed it more than ever. It really is paradise. You expect the beach, the rooms and the food to be great, (and they are), but the thing that sets it apart are the staff - they are really exceptional. Be warned, if you visit Jumby Bay you will DEFINITELY want to go back.

Room Tip: The Rondavel rooms are really comfortable, but are starting to show their age - they could do with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If I say how wonderful Jumby bay is, everyone will want to go there!! My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful relaxing week on this beautiful island. We were greeted with the most friendly of staff, who continued in this vein all week. The food, beach, gardens and accommodation are fantastic.

Well done Jumby Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When you arrive on the little boat it really looks like paradise. The sand is so white and the water so turquoise. It is simply, stunningly, gorgeous. There is lots to choice about what to do - go for a bicycle ride, a spot of tennis, water ski-ing or just relaxing on one of the private bays. But best of all - you get privacy on this peaceful island far from the madding crowds.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 , so review a bit overdue!
The island is stunning with a wonderful beach in front of our beachfront suite. There was another remote beach where the turtles nest, very unspoilt....The bikes provided were great to discover other areas of the island if you do fancy walking. The beachfront suite was amazing with a wonderful outdoor bathtub & shower in the garden, very well thought out with a huge comfy bed, large bathroom, dressing area, sitting room with well stocked bar & treats when we arrived. The staff were amazing always smiling with service that is second to none! We were there for white night which was an evening to remember, with wonderful food, music on the beach with the the waves just a few feet away.... very elegantly done. The restaurants were excellent with a varied choice of menu for both lunch & dinner , and we loved the beach bar, has some great stories from the staff! Jumby Bay is stunning you will not be disappointed......!

Room Tip: Beachfront suites are light, spacious & very comfortable, highly recommend with or without a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The island is so beautiful. Very sparsely populated. Delightful bike rides around the island. Feels like you are in Africa with the grasses and landscape in some areas. The beach is topnotch. One of the best! Paddle boarding was really enjoyable. Waters are so calm. Service on the beach was great. Frappaccinos on the beach at 4 to give you an idea the level of detail. The rooms are four seasons quality. Outdoor shower and bathtub. Splurge and stay in villas on beach.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.