We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional resort in the Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort to your Saves list
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St. John's
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An exceptional resort in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 , so review a bit overdue!
The island is stunning with a wonderful beach in front of our beachfront suite. There was another remote beach where the turtles nest, very unspoilt....The bikes provided were great to discover other areas of the island if you do fancy walking. The beachfront suite was amazing with a wonderful outdoor bathtub & shower in the garden, very well thought out with a huge comfy bed, large bathroom, dressing area, sitting room with well stocked bar & treats when we arrived. The staff were amazing always smiling with service that is second to none! We were there for white night which was an evening to remember, with wonderful food, music on the beach with the the waves just a few feet away.... very elegantly done. The restaurants were excellent with a varied choice of menu for both lunch & dinner , and we loved the beach bar, has some great stories from the staff! Jumby Bay is stunning you will not be disappointed......!

Room Tip: Beachfront suites are light, spacious & very comfortable, highly recommend with or without a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    43
    9
    16
    11
See reviews for
65
204
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The island is so beautiful. Very sparsely populated. Delightful bike rides around the island. Feels like you are in Africa with the grasses and landscape in some areas. The beach is topnotch. One of the best! Paddle boarding was really enjoyable. Waters are so calm. Service on the beach was great. Frappaccinos on the beach at 4 to give you an idea the level of detail. The rooms are four seasons quality. Outdoor shower and bathtub. Splurge and stay in villas on beach.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakfield, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from Jumby Bay, and I wish we could go back. There is no easy way to describe the Jumby Bay Resort. The staff is truly professional, as nice and prompt as can be. They remembered our names and preferences at all occasions, making us feel extremely important. Our room was well designed and decorated...comfortable bed and pillows, large bathroom and dressing area, a large sitting area with small refrigerator of refreshments, outdoor patio area with a great view of the ocean. The outdoor shower was also a unique and well liked by us both. Then there's the food...excellent! Each of the restaurants had a nice selection and wonderfully prepared meals. The only drawback was that there is a room service charge for meals. The beach is small, but lovely, and the pool is gorgeous. If you can afford Jumby Bay, it's well worth it.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our review is long overdue. Service is impeccable. Food - excellent. Thank you to Seon, Jenny, Jasmine, Melinda and Darren. Your personalities and professionalism show through. We shall be back. Our experience -- you treated us like family and also gave us our space. We were in the new beachfront suites - gorgeous. What a wonderful holiday!!!! The spa is an oasis. For romantics, it is. White night (barbecue) is so romantic and elegant. Thank you again and again. Everyone should stay here. Your property is the best. Jumby Bay provides you with much more than you pay. Loved it!

Room Tip: New Beachfront Suites Only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

No other resort has a better staff. Every person smiles, is interested in you, and is thoroughly professional. They all love working at Jumby Bay and they make each guest feel special.
It is so safe you do not need keys to your room. A private launch takes you to this 300 acre
landscaped island. The accommodations are tasteful with top of the line appointments.
It is probably the best small resort in the Americas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Prior to booking our honeymoon, we had researched pretty much every hotel in the Caribbean... but the reviews on here sealed the deal. We were slightly worried that we had built up our expectations so high that Jumby surely couldn't meet them. Quite the opposite... it blew them away! Jumby Bay is perfect in EVERY possible way - there are hundreds of white-sand picture-postcard resorts out there but Jumby is different - every member of staff goes out of their way to make you feel so special from the moment you step into the airport until the moment you leave. Melinda is exceptional and welcomes you with fantastic energy and warmth.The beach staff - Jenny, Omar, Franka, Patel etc - were not only incredibly attentive but so personable and great fun, supplying us with delicious bespoke cocktails to our tastes and even throwing a spontaneous small beach party for us all for a fellow guest’s birthday. We already miss Jenny and her wonderful infectious hearty laugh and will come back to hear that alone! When Jenny noticed my husband (whom she affectionately called 'The Doc' within 5 minutes of meeting him) had sunburn after a long day on the beach she made sure fresh aloe was picked and sent to the villa that evening. It's these little touches that set Jumby apart and make every penny worthwhile. The food at the Estate House was the best (hot chocolate fondant with a melting middle was to die for). Beach massage at the spa (by Sharon) was blissful. They were building some new villas by the rondavel rooms but the construction wasn't noisy. Go for a beach suite though if you can. We met some wonderful people, both staff and guests, and we will certainly be back! Don't hesitate for a moment, just book it. But beware, once you've been, nowhere will live up to it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East House
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I wrote a full review following our first visit, so this is just an update. We wondered if we would be bored as it was our 3rd visit, but we probably loved Jumby Bay more than ever. It is a beautiful resort and every member of staff simply can't do enough to ensure that your stay is everything that you want it to be. For example, heading off to the watersports centre I said that I'd come to do my daily windsurf. Everything was laid out on the beach waiting for me, including the correct sized life jacket - where else would that happen?! The food in the Estate restaurant had been changed, and we really enjoyed it this time, whereas it was probably a slight negative before. In summary, the weather is superb, we have now been in February, April and November, the beach is exceptional, lovely white sand and lots of space. It is not a place for snorkelling or night life, but if you are looking for outstanding quality and tip top service then this is the place. Beats Sandy Lane hands down.

Room Tip: We have now stayed in a courtyard suite and a pool suite. The location of the pool suites is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.