We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Caribbean Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Jumby Bay

Save Saved
You added Rosewood Jumby Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rosewood Jumby Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in St. John's
new york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Caribbean Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our review is long overdue. Service is impeccable. Food - excellent. Thank you to Seon, Jenny, Jasmine, Melinda and Darren. Your personalities and professionalism show through. We shall be back. Our experience -- you treated us like family and also gave us our space. We were in the new beachfront suites - gorgeous. What a wonderful holiday!!!! The spa is an oasis. For romantics, it is. White night (barbecue) is so romantic and elegant. Thank you again and again. Everyone should stay here. Your property is the best. Jumby Bay provides you with much more than you pay. Loved it!

Room Tip: New Beachfront Suites Only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    41
    8
    16
    11
See reviews for
56
175
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

No other resort has a better staff. Every person smiles, is interested in you, and is thoroughly professional. They all love working at Jumby Bay and they make each guest feel special.
It is so safe you do not need keys to your room. A private launch takes you to this 300 acre
landscaped island. The accommodations are tasteful with top of the line appointments.
It is probably the best small resort in the Americas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Prior to booking our honeymoon, we had researched pretty much every hotel in the Caribbean... but the reviews on here sealed the deal. We were slightly worried that we had built up our expectations so high that Jumby surely couldn't meet them. Quite the opposite... it blew them away! Jumby Bay is perfect in EVERY possible way - there are hundreds of white-sand picture-postcard resorts out there but Jumby is different - every member of staff goes out of their way to make you feel so special from the moment you step into the airport until the moment you leave. Melinda is exceptional and welcomes you with fantastic energy and warmth.The beach staff - Jenny, Omar, Franka, Patel etc - were not only incredibly attentive but so personable and great fun, supplying us with delicious bespoke cocktails to our tastes and even throwing a spontaneous small beach party for us all for a fellow guest’s birthday. We already miss Jenny and her wonderful infectious hearty laugh and will come back to hear that alone! When Jenny noticed my husband (whom she affectionately called 'The Doc' within 5 minutes of meeting him) had sunburn after a long day on the beach she made sure fresh aloe was picked and sent to the villa that evening. It's these little touches that set Jumby apart and make every penny worthwhile. The food at the Estate House was the best (hot chocolate fondant with a melting middle was to die for). Beach massage at the spa (by Sharon) was blissful. They were building some new villas by the rondavel rooms but the construction wasn't noisy. Go for a beach suite though if you can. We met some wonderful people, both staff and guests, and we will certainly be back! Don't hesitate for a moment, just book it. But beware, once you've been, nowhere will live up to it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East House
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I wrote a full review following our first visit, so this is just an update. We wondered if we would be bored as it was our 3rd visit, but we probably loved Jumby Bay more than ever. It is a beautiful resort and every member of staff simply can't do enough to ensure that your stay is everything that you want it to be. For example, heading off to the watersports centre I said that I'd come to do my daily windsurf. Everything was laid out on the beach waiting for me, including the correct sized life jacket - where else would that happen?! The food in the Estate restaurant had been changed, and we really enjoyed it this time, whereas it was probably a slight negative before. In summary, the weather is superb, we have now been in February, April and November, the beach is exceptional, lovely white sand and lots of space. It is not a place for snorkelling or night life, but if you are looking for outstanding quality and tip top service then this is the place. Beats Sandy Lane hands down.

Room Tip: We have now stayed in a courtyard suite and a pool suite. The location of the pool suites is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I go away once a year without our kids. We've been doing this for 11 years. We have been to many islands and Jumby Bay was the best one yet! As soon as you leave the airport you are greeted by a Jumby Bay Staff member and whisked away in a private car to the Jumby bay ferry dock. The dock has covered seating and magazines while you wait. The view is also beautiful. After a 7 min boat ride to the island we were immediately greeted by Melinda and staff. So friendly and nice.....we were at ease right away! We were given a drink, brief tour and taken directly to our room. We made our dinner reservations at our room. We arrived on a Thurs and enjoyed the Sunset cruise(Only on Thurs). Great meeting other guests, drinking cocktails and appetizers while watching an amazing sunset. We highly recommend the Estate House Restaurant. The atmosphere and decor is amazing as well as the food and service. Seon is an awesome bartender and makes the best Expresso Martini! We rode our bikes all over the island including right up to our standard spot on the beach everyday. We had awesome service on the beach as well(Franka thank you!) The Infinity pool was awesome and the staff at the pool restaurant is excellent! Overall, we cannot ay enough good things about Jumby Bay! They just go over the top and make sure your every need and comfort is met. Oh, don't forget to bring white clothing for White Night(Sunday Night Beach BBQ) I would like to give special thanks to the staff, they really make this place special! Thank you......Darren, Amanda, Franka, Seon, Melinda, Melissa Kimberly & Carol! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best beach vacation ever...and I have been to a lot of beaches.

Most beautiful crescent shaped beach I have seen. Better than Little Dix. The water is as pretty as Bora Bora....and a lot closer to the USA.

Best trained staff of any resort I have visited. Each employee really does seem to care that you are there.

It's expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Pay more and opt for the Courtyard suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second time to Antiqua, but this was the BEST. First time was Carlisle Bay which is nice but Jumby Bay blows it away! The rooms facing the beach are beautiful, i miss the outdoor shower! The beach is stunning, white sand, calm waters, and if you go...save the starfish that sometimes get brought up on the beach from the tide, throw them back in!! The food i thought was fine. Breakfast was great, no complaints from me for lunch...the fish tacos are killer! and being from NY im hesitant to order pizza...i put a twist on it chorizo sausage, it was great! The estate house for dinner IS STUNNING and Claudio the chef is amazing, Dinner was fantastic every night at the estate house. THe Verandah for dinner doesnt compare, its good but plain. The employees are FANTASTIC....beach bar...jeannie, omar, franca are the best, they made my birthday extremely enjoyable, we had a blast on the beach! But everyone there is great. Definately put this on your bucket list...awesome !!!!

Room Tip: from what i hear they are all nice....we had beachside...great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosewood Jumby Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Jumby Bay

Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel
Jumby Bay a Rosewood Hotel
Jumby Bay
Jumby Bay Antigua
Rosewood Jumby Bay Antigua/Saint John Parish
Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Jumby Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Rosewood Jumby Bay casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Rosewood Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Rosewood Jumby Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Jumby Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.