We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks promised never appeared” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miguel's Holiday Adventure

Miguel's Holiday Adventure
P.O Box 2054, St. John's 00000, Antigua
268-460-9978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Attractions in St. John's
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Drinks promised never appeared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

For the price, the trip to Prickly Pear Isalnd wasn't worth the money.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    8
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was our second visit and the Best by far. Miguel and his family are wonderful hosts.
The snorkeling is GREAT, the food is AWESOME!! Keep up the Awesome job, we will be back, and this time I wont forget the magazine!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Boat out of Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We booked this excursion weeks in advance and were so excited about it. We had an email confirmation that instructed us to take a taxi to Hodges Bay which is a place that is in the middle of no where and all closed up. There is just a hut there on the side of the road. We arrived there early (after a $15 taxi ride). Our taxi driver phoned the number on the sign to inquire what time we should be picked up and was told their boat was broken and the tour would not be taking place. If our taxi driver had not called we would have been stranded on the side of the road with our young daughter for who knows how long! The least that Miguel's could have done was to attempt to call us to tell us it was cancelled!! We were SO disappointed!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Totally unreliable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

After reading all the favorable reviews about Miguel's Holiday Adventure in St. Johns,Antigua, we (8 of us-married couples 51 to 68) booked Miguel's for a day of sailing, snorkeling, and hanging out on Prickly Pear Island off the the coast of Antigua. Our last e-mail from Miguel instructed us to: "Just get a taxi to our pick up point at Hodges Bay Club for 10 am and we will return you at 3 pm." After a $36 taxi ride to Hodges Bay Club, we discovered: 1) that Hodges Bay Club was closed and surrounded by a chain link fence; 2) that its pier was so damaged that there was no docking; 3) that according to the locals Miguel's boat was no longer operable.
Needles to say, Miguel never showed up.
Therefore, another $36 taxi ride back to our ship in St. Johns.
A simple phone call, or e-mail to us would have alerted us to the problem. We have never heard a word--and don't expect to.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Miguel was a no show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I contacted Miguel 2 weeks ahead of time to schedule a trip to Prickly Pear Island. I received an email confirmation that he would pick us up at Hodges Bay at 10am. We taxied to the pickup place and waited until 11am. No Miguel. There was a caretaker there at the very dilapidated and closed hotel who called Miguel for us. Miguel decided he didn't have enough people to make the trip but did not inform us. Getting a taxi back to the pier was a problem because Hodges Bay is pretty remote and off the beaten path. We wasted our day and expensive taxi fare both ways. I had read the other good reviews and was surprised that we were treated like this. I feel that reimbursement for the taxi would be at least some compensation for our lost day on Antigua.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Holiday Adventure also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Miguel's Holiday Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miguel's Holiday Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.