We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turners Beach Restaurant

Turners Beach Restaurant
Turners Beach | Johnson's Point, St. John's, Antigua
+1 268-462-9133
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 83 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: beach bar
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beach is nice. Wide sand and the water is pretty. More waves at this beach. The restaurant was just okay. It was busy when we were there and the service was non existent. Lots of seafood on their menu. Turner's beach is nothing compared to Valley Church beach - go to the NEST!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    20
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great food with a view to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Enough said other than service can be a bit slow by our 'western' standards but we soon got used to that and actually the less frantic atmosphere made for a much more relaxing holiday

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glanville t, Owner at Turners Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
dear minxie 007

It is a joy to hear that you had a relaxing holiday in Antigua and Barbuda it tickles me pink that
what apparently stood out was that your experience was a relaxing one,and that our establishment played its part in that positive experience.

we are also happy to hear that English harbour and Horatio Nelsons Dockyard with its verdant 18th century history was so appealing to your husband.
I am in possession of all the English families who settled the island from 1632 and just in the event you are interested in who those families were were and played a part in that history,i would not mind researching it for you when next you visit Antigua and of course Turners beach

You are important to us and thank you again for your patronage. just as the 18th century left us with so much to reflect upon ,we look forward with great expectation to continued visits in the 21st century and beyond from you and all the friends that you will share your recent experience of these islands in the sun where we call home
yours
yours
yours
It was a pleasure for us to have had you as a guest on our island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Pitstop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stopped in for lunch. Great burgers and service. Good value. It's right on the beach, has a car park, restrooms and showers. We'll be coming again to try the fish and ribs which look fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food so good the locals eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We went to this fine restaurant 4 times during our 2 week trip to Antigua. Often saw locals dressed up as this was their spot for grilled snapper or a Father's Day lunch. Melly who runs the place is great very thoughtful and welcoming. You can arrange a snorkel boat to take you to the reef just 10 minutes away which we did with 2 other people. It skips the "half day snorkel boat ride and swim with 150 of your fellow passengers" routine. Food was ver good and often will sell out the favorites during the later part of the day. Can snorkel on left of the beach with numerous fish to see and no garbage in the water.
Matt " Brian"

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a wonderful place to dine out. Being on the beach gives this restaurant the most ideal location. The food is excellent and the service is first class. I had the pan fried fish, it was done to perfection and the portion was ideal. The prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glanville t, Owner at Turners Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
milwaukie we wish to thank you for not only visiting the restaurant,but also for taking the time to express your views about your experience.We can only improve in this new dispensation as we march forward into the 21st century with all its rapid changes twists and turns,i will ensure the staff is made aware of your feelings with regards the service they provided to you as a customer,with a view to ensuring that they go forward in the knowledge that the satisfaction of the customer needs is job 1 ,thank you for choosing turners as a place that you should spend your hard earned savings,we will try our best to provide the type of service that you as a customer rightfully deserve.

glanville t
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turners Beach Restaurant also viewed

Crab Hill, Saint Mary's
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Turners Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turners Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.