We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a bad meal here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay House Restaurant & Bar

The Bay House Restaurant & Bar
Trade Winds Hotel | Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
268-462-1223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 83 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dine alfresco on a lovely terrace with breathtaking views of Dickenson Bay, surrounded by the scents of tropical flowers at the Bay House Restaurant & Bar. Known as Antigua’s best kept dining secret we are renowned for our superb, fresh, tasty local and international cuisine, our friendly staff and immaculate service which has earned us a recommended status on TripAdvisor. Recognized as one of Antigua’s “top-tables” we offer an informal elegant fine dining experience with carefully selected dishes featuring local and international cuisine. A favorite amongst locals and international business travelers and leading chefs and restauranters.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we stayed 7 days and ate all our evening meals here. They would have limited availability of some items, but not that big of a deal. we always found something to our liking and there were 6 of us staying here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review on your dining experience at Bay House Restaurant. It pleases us to hear that everything you order from our menu was to your liking. We recently unveiled a new dinner menu and look forward to you visiting with us again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    46
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had the blackened fish burger and it was juicy and delicious. My wife had the western burger and it was just right. The open views were breath-taking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and excellent recommendation of your dining experience at our Bay House Restaurant. We are very please that you and your wife enjoyed your meals, service and views.

Thank you for choosing Bay House, see you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely view, delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On our seven day trip to Antigua we visited the Bay House twice for breakfast. The location, high above Dickenson's Bay is stunning and a great way to start the day. There is a lovely breakfast menu including pancakes, traditional Antigua foods, french toast etc. One highlight is to watch the lovely banana quit birds swooping into the feeders to snack on their sugary treat. Service is excellent and the wait staff are very friendly and helpful. On our next visit to Antigua we will definitely be back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and excellent recommendation of your breakfast experience at our Bay House Restaurant.

We very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals and our menu choices. Many thanks for your wonderful comments about our staff and views and our pals the Banana Quits they are a delight ;-).

Thank you for choosing Bay House, and we look forward to seeing you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view, friendly service and good food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a lovely lunch at the Bay House. The open covered dining area is very attractive and cool and the view over Dickenson Bay is wonderful! The lunch menu is a little different than in the evening - still a very good selection but a little less sophisticated. The Butternut Squash soups was delicious! The service was friendly and efficient. All in all a lovely relaxed, peaceful spot for a loooong lunch (-: I think we could easily have ended up staying all the way until dinner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and excellent recommendation of our Bay House Restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service received, many thanks for your kinds words.

Thank you for choosing Bay House Restaurant, see you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern irealnd
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best view in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Although we only had drinks at the restaurant, the staff were extremely friendly. We turned up at 'happy hour' (5-7pm) by chance. The situation is magnificent on the heights above Dickenson Bay and with a view out to Nevis and St Kitt's. Fantastic place at sunset. The menu looked good and prices were better than at Coconut Grove by the beach at Dickenson Bay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and excellent recommendation of our Bay House Restaurant. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the view and sunset.

We hope to see you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay House Restaurant & Bar also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to The Bay House Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.