We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not what I'd call great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay House Restaurant & Bar

The Bay House Restaurant & Bar
Trade Winds Hotel | Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
268-462-1223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 82 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dine alfresco on a lovely terrace with breathtaking views of Dickenson Bay, surrounded by the scents of tropical flowers at the Bay House Restaurant & Bar. Known as Antigua’s best kept dining secret we are renowned for our superb, fresh, tasty local and international cuisine, our friendly staff and immaculate service which has earned us a recommended status on TripAdvisor. Recognized as one of Antigua’s “top-tables” we offer an informal elegant fine dining experience with carefully selected dishes featuring local and international cuisine. A favorite amongst locals and international business travelers and leading chefs and restauranters.
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good but not what I'd call great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Nicely located on a patio, with no real views but it was quiet. Very good scallop appetizer. My seafood sampler, supposedly a specialty, was anice piece of fish, two small shrimp and half of an over-grilled lobster. Dried out, some garlic butter could've saved it but it was served plain.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for your review of your dining experience at Bay House Restaurant. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your dining experience and we hope on your next visit you do dine with us again.

See you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, NY, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, open-air fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I ate here on our first night in Antigua. It was very close to our condo at Dickenson Bay Cottages. We are early diners and had the place to ourselves for about an hour. The wait staff was very friendly and took some time to chat with us. It was too dark to see the view unfortunately. We both enjoyed our dinner choices. I had the blackened mahi, which was crisp and tastey. It was served with a mix of some roasted vegetables which were quite good. I would have liked more fish on my plate since it was so good. My husband had the mixed grilled seafood. The lobster in this dish was superb. Overall this was an enjoyable dining experience.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review of your dining experience at our Bay House Restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you both enjoyed your dinner choices and that our customer service was great.

We do hope you stay in Antigua was relaxing and we look forward to seeing you again soon...Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, courteous and efficient service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I took a party of 10 for lunch to celebrate her birthday, having pre-booked a long table, which was laid up and in exactly the requested spot on arrival. Having been many times on previous visits to Antigua we knew the view of Dickenson Bay is spectacular. We were courteously received, our varied orders for drink and food taken efficiently, and then extremely well served without further queries as to who had order what. Everyone was complimentary about their individual dishes, and a mini birthday cake arrived unexpectedly at the end of the meal.
Service and food quality much improved compared to our previous times at The Bay House. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for your very kind and positive review of your experience and for choosing Bay House Restaurant to celebrate your special occasion. Your kinds words about our food, service and staff is well received by Our Team with many thank yous.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon...Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Cheerful bar staff, engaging waitresses, vast menu with lots of local produce. Restaurant terrace a delight.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for your positive review of your experience at our restaurant. Our goal is to always ensure that each guest experience is unique, personalized and relaxing.

We do hope to see you again soon...Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A very special place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had our "last night in Antigua" meal at the Bay House and we couldn't have chosen better. The restaurant sits above the northern end of Dickenson Bay and has fantastic views over the sea and the island. The food was excellent, and the atmosphere special and romantic. Great service, a good wine list and a surprisingly reasonable price tag. Worth a walk up the hill or the price of a local taxi to get here. I recommend the mixed fish grill - lobster, prawn and local fish all cooked to perfection,

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and for choosing the Bay House Restaurant and we are thrilled to hear that your last night in Antigua culminated with a great meal, atmosphere and service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay House Restaurant & Bar also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to The Bay House Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay House Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.