We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class Service All The Way........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LambLion Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added LambLion Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
LambLion Holiday Apartments
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Freemans Main Rd, Belleview Estate, St. John's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“1st Class Service All The Way........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

We stayed at lamblion for a long weekend and did not want to leave, very comfortable great for a couple or a small family. Very clean and well furnished. AC was excellent for hot Antigua weather. Would for sure return. Lionel and his wife really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable also very easy to rent a car from them so you can get around the island easy!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I have to start by saying that this Inn is amazing. It is tucked away down a dirt road which is extremely SAFE and extremely quiet. The rooms are very modern, include a kitchen/dining/living area, bathroom, and bedroom.

Your hosts are the epitome of kindness. They will pick you up and take you to the airport, and even offer to stop at the local grocery store on the way to the apartment.

They will loan you a cell phone that you only have to top up with minutes to call out. They will loan you a laptop (they are also the official Dell service techs on the island!). They have free wi-fi. The kitchen is stocked with utensils, coffee maker, pots, pans, ice cube trays, etc. The permanent residents of the apartments are friendly and quiet. I truly loved my stay here!

Unfortunately, I am from the States, and have never driven on the "wrong" side of the road. My only complaint, which should in NO WAY reflect on the Inn, is the location for folks that can't/don't want to drive.

Driving on Antigua is dodgy in the best circumstances, and you should NEVER try to drive on the left side of the road for the first time in Antigua. The tight roads, erratic drivers, lack of lights and signals, etc. make it a bad first choice for learning to drive on the left.

The Inn is located in the middle of the island, which is great for those that want a central location to call headquarters, as long as you drive.

It is difficult to get a cab for the first time, as it is hard for them to find you. You have to walk up a fairly steep hill to the main road, and then walk down to the gas station. It is about 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile. You will need to tell the driver that you will meet them on All saint's road next to the gas station with the "Penny Machine".

If you use the same cab driver, you can direct them back to the apartments (they may or may not be willing to drive down the dirt road), then you can use the same driver for the rest of your trip.

Alternately, you can make the same walk and use public transit, which is fairly frequent and easy to use if you are not in a hurry.

The only other caveat I have is for people that don;t travel to Europe or extensively to the Caribbean. The rooms are air conditioned, but only in the bedroom. The kitchen, living room, etc, have fans but no air.

There are bugs. This is the Caribbean. It is humid, and there are bugs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Its for persons who wants total relaxation in an extremely quiet environment

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York, U.S.A.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

My wife, my two children and I were so comforatble while staying at Lamblion Guest Apartments in Antigua. We could have chosen one of the many other guest house apartments or hotels in Antigua, but we went with our instincts and I am so glad we did. The rooms were well kept. The appliances worked perfectly. The A/C made it feel as if I was staying in one of the 4 or 5 star hotels not only in Antigua but even in the U.S.A. The location was great. We did'nt want to be too close to the St. Johns City Area because we wanted a quiet place to stay. It's location was so central which made it easy to get around Antigua and also to major tourist sites such as Nelson's Dockyard in English Harbor, Devil's Bridge just outside Wilikies and even within a 15 minutes drive to St. Johns city. We were within a few minutes of some of Antigua's best beaches. What made our stay so memorable was the way in which the staff was so professional, friendly and accomodating. My wife and I are already looking forward to our next trip to this beautiful island because we already know where we'll be staying.

  • Liked — The professional and friendly way in which the staff operated
  • Disliked — We were so comforatble that I can't think of any
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We contacted the owners via email and telephone and they were always prompt in replies to any of our concerns.

Mrs Walker met us at the airport and gave us a mini tour on the way to the guest house, where I was shown our apartment, much to my approval. At Lamblion, it was also so convenient for my boyfriend to arrange a permit to drive in Antigua and rent a car on site.

The accomodations were well above average and the owners thought of everything for the comfort of their guests. We did not have to hunt for wares or cutlery.

It was at Lamblion that our toddler learnt to climb that one step up to the bedroom or back down to the kitchen/living room area. Mrs Walker was right - the baby did learn how to do it on her own.

The surroundings were quiet except for the apartment guests next to ours, but not distractingly so.

The location is in the centre of the island and a good walk over some inclines to the main road. Lamlion itself does not have much of a view being in the centre of the island but it isn't cluttered by houses or hotels or annoyances.

They also have Internet access and laptops for use as well as cell phones. A nice touch for a guest house.

Mr Walker, an affable guy along with his always-smiling wife, make hospitality seem so effortless! Chatting with them was always a pleasure and their advice was good.

We loved the personal touch that Lamblion offered, down to the complimentry bottle of non-alcaholic wine (for me).

  • Liked — The service, the comfort and the owners
  • Disliked — Had brief water problems.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Our stay at LambLion was very enjoyable...We were picked up at the airport(late) taken to our apt. , taken grocery shopping for breakfast essentials the next morning...provided with a car rental as part of the package. Our apt. was self contained, ac, free internet access, the works! We were even given use of a laptop at no extra charge. Our hosts were at all times professional, and we felt at the end of our week, regret, to leave all that pampering behind. The island of Antigua was fabulous too :)
Anthony & Debbie ...Trinidad & Tobago.
ps...our host also dropped us off at the airport.

  • Liked — self contained, one night free, car rental included, transport to/from airport
  • Disliked — Only one tv ie no tv in bedroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

I have just returned from a week at the lamblion guest apartment The owners are very freindly and made me feel like i was at home, I have never experienced such friendly service before. The website for this accommodation does it no justice, i was worried that the price was too cheap and the place would be a shambles, so therefore only reserved one night. The accommodation was excellent and we in fact stayed for 7 days.

On arrival we were given a free complimentary bottle of champage and was able to purchase small grocery items due to arrivng late at night. The owners also let us use a laptop which had unlimted internet access and a mobile phone these were given to us free of charge.

As the accommodation is not in the heart of St Johns we also rented a car from the owners who were able to provide me with an international driving license for a fee of £10 which is valid for 3 months. Lamblion is in the middle of the island so you can get to most parts by car within 20 mins. It is not in a tourist area and a few of the apartments are rented to students and working locals. Which is great,as for me there is nothing worst than being surrounded by tourist on holiday. There is a bus service which takes you to town and of course you can aleays get a taxi.

As we was there for the sailing week which was not planned there was alot to do on the island many beach parties and free events.

We stayed next door to the owners which was fine as it was me and a friend I woud suggest a couple to opt for a different apartment as the walls are quiet thin. We requested two single beds which were very comfortable. The apartments are fully furnished and have whirlpool fridges, cooker and basic cooking untensils. The living room and kithcen is combined in to one but there is plenty of room. The living room has a sofa bed which can sleep 2 people. The Bedroom has cable tv ,alarm radio with built in wardrobes and chester draws. The bathroom has a nice shower which is very spacious. I only realised there was a wash room at the back of our apartments on the day we left where we was able to wash our clothes. Tokens can be purchased from the owners at a very cheap price.

We decided to eat local to get the real feel of the St Lucians I would reccommend spliffs which has lovely food for lunch and barbeques in the evening form 7pm. The price is very good we paid apx £4 for our lunch meals which included fresh fish, rice, saiad and a drink Roti King also have good rotis and Joes in town do good breakfast ( but you need to get there early as it sells out fast) lunch and dinner if your get your food in a take away box you can eat in store and it saves you money .

We paid £300 for the week for 2 adults which included a car and airport pick up and drop off.

Overall I would say this is probably the best guest house I have stayed at and I am extremely fussy! Perhaps not the most convenient if all you want to be mixing with tourist, but if you want to mix with locals and want great clean reasonably priced accomoodation then Lamblion is ideal.

  • Liked — Felt like home
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LambLion Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LambLion Holiday Apartments

Address: Freemans Main Rd, Belleview Estate, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — LambLion Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LambLion Holiday Apartments offer exclusive one or two bedroom self-accommodations in an exquisite country-setting hospitality, for your temporary accommodation. Our Holiday Apartments offer a delightful home-stay atmosphere, serving guests wanting to experience the authentic Antiguan/Barbudan culture. Our bedrooms are air-conditioned with queen size beds, clothes closets and dressers. The kitchens are fully equipped, and include fridges, cookers, and microwave ovens. We accommodate guests with different physical, hearing, or visual abilities. We treat our guests like members of the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your LambLion Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LambLion Holiday Apartments Antigua/Saint John Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LambLion Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.