We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darkwood Beach

Darkwood Beach
Antigua
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 61 Attractions in Antigua
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An excellent beach for snorkelling and beachcombing.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stunning Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stopped off at this beach after doing a 4 x 4 journey through the interior of Antigua, the beach was stunning with white sand and palm trees with a beautiful blue sea lapping on the beach. We had drinks from the bar which also served food at a reasonable price it had restrooms which were clean. There were umbrellas and chairs to rent but we didn't bother. We just sat on towels and enjoyed the view of the beach and sea and in the distance the island of Montserrat steaming away. The water got deep quite quickly so maybe not the best for children but for us and the other 20 or so people there it was heaven.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“relaxed beach with snack bar, calm waters, & montserrat in the distance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I visit Darkwood every time I go to Antigua, which is often. I like it because it's easy to access, never crowded, has some of the calmest waters, a view of Montserrat (usually), chairs to rent, bathrooms, and a small but tasty snack bar.

Located just past Jolly Harbor, Darkwood is easy to spot as there is a big Darkwood Beach sign on the left and the snack shop on the right. You just pull over and park.

Beach chairs are available to rent for US$5 or EC$13 (October 2012 prices). The menu varies but usually includes fishburgers, cheeseburgers, the ubiquitous chicken and rice, lobster salad, and some local dishes. It’s not fancy but it always tastes good. Prices are about average for local lunch spots—for food maybe E$15-25 topping out at 50 for lobster—and they accept US or EC of course, as do virtually all places in Antigua. We always take a few drinks with us to the beach but make a point of also patronizing the locals.

On this trip there was a tiny massage hut onsite. Prices were reasonable and she had some other special offers that were actually pretty good deals. No pressure at all though. I don’t do beach massages and we were leaving before the special events, and she was very nice when we politely declined.

The water is almost always lovely and warm. Sometimes the shelling is good, especially on the left side. Snorkeling is, eh. There are some rocks to the right that sometimes have fishies to see. I always advise taking fins and a mask along, if for no other reason than to check for jellyfish or stingrays in the water. (Jelly fish are more common in August-October, but just the moon jellyfish which are harmless if maybe a little painful.) Saw one jelly this trip. No stingrays. I’ve actually never seen a ray there but know they exist in the region.

On many days you can see Montserrat from the beach, and on really good days you can also catch St. Kitts and Nevis in the distance.

In general Darkwood is just a great all-purpose beach if you want simple pleasures and basic creature comforts, but don’t need water sports or crowds.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent a few hours swimming on Turners Beach earlier, and definitely enjoyed the experience, but all of the restaurants were closed for the off season. After the swim and our earlier hike in the rain forest, food was a definite necessity. We stopped at Darkwood beach, and found it lovely with the added benefit of an open restaurant.

The food was grand (seriously, the conch curry was delightful), and the beach itself was like something out of a Corona commercial, without, I should mention, the Corona; they only have Wadadli. There were a few people hanging out on chaise lounges either under shelter or on the beach, but all in all it was a quiet lunch in a beautiful setting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent several day on the beach here.
We were staying at Tranquility Bay and the bus to Darkwood was simple. We caught the number 22 at the top of the road and it dropped you right at the beach. On the return journey we never waited more than 2 mins for a bus and they stopped where ever you asked them to.
There's a really nice beach cafe that serves fresh cooked local food and hires a sunbeds for $6 US a day.There's a small reef along the beach from the cafe. Some days you could see quite a lot of fish, but the water was quite rough most days so vision was restricted.
Most days we were the only 2 on the beach all day.
Well worth a visit..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Despite the Hurricaines Darkwood remains the Best Beach on Antigua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

In 1987 we spent our Honeymoon in Antigua , and while here came across a Secluded Tropical Beach that we had to ourselves for an afternoon , the sort you dream about - Darkwood Beach !

We returned recently to Celebrate our Silver Wedding and just had to go back there . We hired a car and drove to that part of the Island , rounded the Bluff on the road map that leads onto Darkwood , and Deborah said " This isnt it " .

Indeed it wasn't the beach we remembered from 1987 , a series of Hurricaines have seen to that , many of those tall palm trees that made it so, special have long gone .

So were we disappointed ? Only for a minute , once we walked onto the White Sand beach and saw the Clear turquoise blue water , we quickly came to the conclusion it was still had much to offer , so much so that we stayed for most of the day ,and once again left with special memories .The sight of Monseratt and its volcano in the near distance adds to the attraction of the place !

It has changed , there other people on the beach for most of the time we were there and there is much more development around the beach .

Darkwood Beach remains , in our opinion anyway , a very special beach , a must visit place when you are in Antigua .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darkwood Beach also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Saint Phillip Parish, Antigua
 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 

Been to Darkwood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darkwood Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.