We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Local Flavour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Drive

Fig Tree Drive
Central Antigua, Antigua
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 68 attractions in Antigua
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving, Hiking
Attraction Details
Lorgues, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Full of Local Flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Apart from the general lack of any road directions in Antigua (or, more accurately, road signs upon which all writing has faded to the slightest shadow), once found Fig Tree Drive is worth tracking down. It meanders through Antigua's rainforest, and through some of it's more vibrant communities.
I addition to this, there is the Fig Tree Studio Art Gallery, highlighting, amongst others, Sallie Harker. A wonderful selection of highly seductive local/regional art. Not to be missed! Then there are the street vendors ready to prepare you the most amazing (and I mean AMAZING) fruit plates, from local mango, banana and black pineapple. We had to turn around and go back for second helpings!
There are also local hiking tours and a Zip-wire ride through the canopy, before you get down to the amazing beaches of the west coast.
Hire a car and add this to your list!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fig.....bananas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Apparently it's named after the fig banana. We found this out after we drove through a few times. We spent a lot of time looking for figs. But there are tons of things to see. Mango trees. Cows. Goats. Locals.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you are in a car...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

You might as well drive along Fig Tree Drive. We travelled all around Antigua and absolutely loved the island but for us Antigua is all about the beaches and friendly people.

Fig Tree Drive is a pleasant road to drive along but nothing more, don't expect anything spectacular to grab your attention.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Meh.... If your there have a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

If you have been anywhere in the Caribbean then this won't impress you much. We took this route back to St. John's after a day on darkwood and turners beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“tropical rain forest at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

as you drive thru make sure to look on the sides and see the wildlife and the veggitation we saw some baby pigs running around and stoped at a local fruit stand for a great fruit salad

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig Tree Drive also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 
Saint Phillip Parish, Antigua
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Fig Tree Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Tree Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fig Tree Drive to your Saves list