We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for the am and for lunch to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mary's Bakery
Albert Lake Drive, The Quarter, The Valley, Anguilla
264-497-2318
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 46 Restaurants in The Valley
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bakeries
Description: Small bakery also making sandwiches & roti to go or stay, and bush tea.
Restaurant details
Description: Small bakery also making sandwiches & roti to go or stay, and bush tea.
Mercer Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great spot for the am and for lunch to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Solid local spot to load up on fresh bread, sandwiches and some pastries. The prices are SUPER reasonable and everything is always fresh. This is definitely not a tourist spot. In the mornings, it is packed with locals loading up on daily rations and/or a sandwich later for lunch. We stopped by here to grab sandwiches on the way to the beach (choice of cheese, tuna, chicken, beef or salted fish) for around $2/each. Excellent value (particularly for Anguilla). The bread is good. The pastries weren't much to write home about. This was part of our daily rotation and I was quite pleased with the value and the local vibe here. Stop by here before you head to SBE.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Get There Early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Mary's is a local take out bakery in the Valley (the photo above is not Mary's Bakery). It has the best roti, but also fresh bread, tuna sandwiches and other lunch items. It is a great, inexpensive place where you can buy many items for takeout. They sell out quickly, so try to get there by 11am.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Roti's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stopped by a few times and picked Roti's to have for lunch on the beach. One of the best Roti's we have had, it was hit and miss on a few days with some occasions sold out and on other days they weren't making them so grab one if they have some that day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Love Mary's roti!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

On past visits we discovered Mary's roti, which in my opinion is one of the best on the island. This year in addition to several stops for rotis we also tried some of the sandwiches, which are really cheap and seem to be a favorite among the local clientel. Baked goods are also good, although not up to par with our favorite French bakery.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Bakery also viewed

The Valley, Anguilla
 
Island Harbour, Anguilla
 

Been to Mary's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.