We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Sandy Ground Village, Anguilla
264-497-8668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 110 restaurants in Anguilla
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found this restaurant also through TA, and were also quite happy with the meal. The restaurant is a small quaint open aired building right on the beach in Sandy Ground. We enjoyed the sound of the waves and great live yet soft music. As far as the food, we tried the gnocchi, lasagna, snapper, and tiramisu. All of it was wonderful. The gnocchi was soft and succulent as it almost seemed to melt in our mouths. The lasagna was one of the best I've ever had, and the snapper was done to perfection. The overall dining experience was nice way to end the perfect vacation. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    121
    37
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield CT
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Really, very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only found this thru TA, and we were happy we made the trip from Meads Bay. We had a delicious lunch, a delightful seafood risotto, mussels, a salad with high end buffalo mozzarella and excellent tomatoes. A nice mix of locals and tourists too. I would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Though it couldn't get better--we were wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We always look forward to dining at Dolce Vita and have never been disappointed. Dined there twice a week for 3 weeks this trip and loved every bite! I'm the "pesto queen" and Christopher's pesto sauce is so light, never heavy, like some. I had it several times with crayfish or seafood, wonderful! DH is more diverse in his choices and I always manage to grab a "taste". This trip he had the Lasagna, which is so light and different than any we've ever had. We enjoyed the snapper, gnocchi in red sauce (light as a feather), spinach ravioli, and the most amazing seafood Risotto ever! Friday nights Sproka entertains and, who knew, that in addition to being a gracious and attentive host/owner, Abbi can sing! He joined Sproka for a song to serenade us all! This place never disappoints and is always our last evenings dinner to take memories home with us. Our only disappointment is that we didn't get there for lunch to sample the pizza. Next year! Go, enjoy the wonderful food, attentive service by Abbi, Sandra, and the girls and the beach side ambiance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a lovely Italian restaurant. I would give this a 5 star in the US but I can't get over the notion that when in Rome, or in this case, not..........I just think in there is no other food in the world as wonderful as the local options so I have a hard time eating Italian in Anguilla. The owner is warm and friendly, the view is terrific and the food is wonderful. This is a nice break, if you need one (I do not), from the East Indie food served in a lot of places. Our food did have a local twist in the sense of the types of fish used- I'll grant that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dolice Vita”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This restaurant is just terrible. I cannot believe all the positive ratings it has received. In our 12 years of dining in Anguilla this is the worst experiece we ever encountered. My wife and I had dinner there March 5, 2013 and could not get out of there fast enough. If you like snooty service (when they show up), waiting for drinks (after requesting our wine numerous times) and waiting 25 minutes for our bill, by all means go there. This is not to mention the food is just awful. I had Salmon that was over done (not to mention they were out of black olives that was part of the ingredients). How can Italian Rest run out of black olives? However, to hide the fish they cover everything in a nasty red sauce. In fact, all meals are covered with this sauce to hide the poor taste. Please save your money and spend it on one of the other well deserving restaurants on the island. Don t be fooled by the beach front setting. However, they do get a nice price for this slop. Do yourself a favor and cross Dolice Vita off your dining list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

Anguilla, Caribbean
Anguilla, Caribbean
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.