We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambia Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anguilla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambia Boutique Hotel
South Hill, AI2640, Anguilla (Formerly Ambia Bed & Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$175 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 8 Anguilla B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Anguilla in early March and chose Ambia based on its reviews -- we were not disappointed. The proprietors are friendly, extremely accommodating, and a great source of information on the island (best rum punch, cheap crayfish, live music, etc). The accommodations were nicely decorated, comfortable and well kept. The rooms, like small villas, have their own balcony with a table and chairs overlooking Sandy Ground (great sunsets). We spent most of the day going from beach to beach, returning around 4 or 5pm to shower and change for dinner, often sitting outside with other guests to share a cocktail. We plan to return to Anguilla and Ambia and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

First of all, we are a well travelled French Canadian couple in our late 40's who was looking for a quiet getaway. Stayed 2x2 nights at Ambia prior to and after our cruise that departed from St-Maarten in Feb 2013. Initially looked at staying in st. Martin but could not find anything we liked. Once we realized that taking the ferry to Anguilla was so easy (you can take more expensive private ferries from airport or cheaper public ferry from Marigot), we decided to look for hotels in Anguilla. Anguilla is a fairly expensive place with high end resorts such Cuisinart, Viceroy and Cap Juluca charging over $1000/night. Looked at the B&B choices and saw the positive reviews on Ambia and contacted them via email. Booking was simple. They came and picked us up at the ferry and had a rental car waiting at the hotel the following morning (which we would then drop off at ferry, very convenient). Although not on the beach, location is very central with any beach no more than a 10-15 minute drive (you definitely want to rent a car $40/day plus one time $20 charge for driving permit, driving on left is not a problem as there is little traffic unlike St.Martin) The property is recent having been built 4 years ago. Rooms (only 4) are good size, contemporary in style and very comfortable with great views overlooking Sandy Ground. There is a large common living room with flat screen TV (only one room has TV) telephone with free long distance calls to North America and DVD player. There is a small infinity plunge pool and the resort has free wifi. Magda, Lorne and Sandra are always available for info on best beaches ( Shoal Bay East, Rendez Vous Bay, Cove Bay, Crocus Bay, Meads Bay are all great) restaurants and things to do. Breakfasts are excellent with essentially anything you want from fruits, yogurt, eggs, bacon, cereal and amazing french toast. There is a nice restaurant right next to the property (Tasty's) and there are several other good ones in Sandy Ground (a 5 mins drive) such as Dolce Vita and Sand Bar (great tapas selection). The island is know for its great beach shacks (Blanchards, Da Vida, Dunes Preserve). If you're looking for a nice quiet place on a great island with great beaches, great food at a decent price, then Ambia is for you. You can also rent the whole resort as a villa

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Ambia as part of our honeymoon Magda and Lorne made us feel right at home and even met us at the wharf.
The property itself is great the rooms are spacious and airy with great views and funky bathrooms.
Would love to make it back one day!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Thanks again Sandra Lorne and Magda, your friendliness, attentiveness and service added to the really top quality accommodation, fantastic beach island and the "locals' that we have encountered on any other trips, made this a wonderfully relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda C, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hey Mark, thank you guys so much for choosing Ambia and we would be happy to welcome you back any time in the future .
Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

There are many kind things said of Magda in previous reviews, but it's hard to believe Ambia could run any better than when Lorne and Sandra are in charge. With Magda away from the island during our stay, they served as incredible hosts. Whatever Sandra makes for breakfast, you should eat. Wherever Lorne recommends to go for beach or dinner, you should go. "Above and beyond" doesn't begin to cut it. On two consecutive days, Lorne took time out of his day to drive us to the beach (and pick us up!); Anguilla would be wise to make him the official, whole-island ambassador. Ambia itself was a welcome change from the ordinary hotel circuit. Every bit of the property is stylishly built, and the perch atop the hill, overlooking Sandy Ground, beats beachfront any day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda C, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you guys it makes the whole team of Ambia proud to get great reviews and we hope you will return to Ambia in the near future,
Lorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just had a week in Anguilla and stayed at Ambia. The location and views were great and the staff was fabulous. Magda and Lon met us at the airport with a rental car and took us back to the guest house. They were so helpful and had lots of wonderful advice for our holiday activities. Lots of local knowledge enhanced our stay tremendously. They provided us with an awesome breakfast, snorkeling gear, coolers and anything we needed. An awesome relaxed environment and we will definitely be back to stay at Ambia. Doug and Kristen and family. Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: we loved the room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Ambia for a week this December and it was perfect. This was our 4th stay at Ambia, and it was as ideal as our first visit... which often isn't the case. Magda, Lorne, Sandra are the consummate hosts who are not only accommodating but enjoyable to spend time with. They helped arrange rentals, meals/ferry reservations and any other needs.

Ambia is so unique that even with other guests, you always have plenty of privacy and it is nice to meet others from around the world. Breakfasts, which always included fresh fruit and breads, are made to order and are top shelf!

The perfect destination!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda C, Manager at Ambia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hey Yvonne and Larry, thank you so much and we will be waiting for you next year...along with Barbara and Ruby
MAGDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambia Boutique Hotel

Address: South Hill, AI2640, Anguilla (Formerly Ambia Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Anguilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a harmony of contemporary Asian and Caribbean flavors, Ambia offers guests the charm of a bed-and-breakfast, the luxury of a hotel, and the comforts of home. Ambia is centrally located in Anguilla, with spectacular views overlooking Sandy Ground, and the island’s 33 magnificent white-sand beaches are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ambia Boutique Hotel Anguilla, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ambia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list